We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very touristy.”
Review of Buzio Restaurant

Buzio Restaurant
Reserve with
Buzio Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 312 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated in the center of the quiet village of Praia das Macas, installed a characteristic old house, the Conch offers a space welcoming to a nice meal, having a capacity of 130 people divided into two spaces, an enclosed terrace and an indoor room. . The restaurant also has a car park with about 150 seats, two cellars and two nurseries in order to satisfy the taste of all the specialties are divided between fresh fish and live seafood; to emphasize the variety and quality of both. "Frying the Chief," "Squid to Conch", "various casseroles," "sweaty Lobster," "Steak Victor" and "Chopsticks Duke of Braganza," are some of the specialties the house. Welcome !!
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This place had been recommended to us by portuguese, but as it turned out there were hardly any in the restaurant, mostly russians. I would dare say we have been to better seafood restaurants in the area, but we got the light dinner we were looking for at 20€ each.
Owner is very friendly and speaks several languages. Dining room is quite large and not very "homy".

Thank paulandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzio1959, Gerente de relações com clientes at Buzio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Food was great, service excellent.
Especially liked sword fish. The best I ever head- very tender and flavorful.

Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzio1959, Gerente de relações com clientes at Buzio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much... We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant. It was the worst service restaurant we went to during our 2 weeks of trip in Portugal and Spain.
First of all, we were told to wait maximum 10 min to get the table during Sunday lunch time. I was the first one waiting then 2-3 groups came in and it was obvious that they didn't have reservations but they were Portuguese. We ended up waiting more than 30 min and these Portuguese people who came later than us got seated first which was ridiculous. I asked why they are getting seats first and the restaurant people lied that they had reservations. Since I don't speak Portuguese, people here were giving disadvantage to tourists like us. After we got seated, it took over 20 min till someone take our order. Then another 20-30 min till our food comes out and one of the food they brought was wrong plate. Another 15 min to get bill after we asked and realized that they charged for bread, sardine paste, cheese etc even though we didn't ask for them. In the beginning we even told them that we don't want bread, and they still brought it. We wasted sooo much time here like over 2.5 hours and ended up not making it to Pena palace in Sintra. Our whole day trip felt ruined. Food is decent but the service is just the worst.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ksh00825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzio1959, Gerente de relações com clientes at Buzio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

We apologize that your experience in our restaurant has not gone as we wish, hopefully on a next visit to improve a less good experience.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

I will start by saying that the food is good. Service is very slow. Prices are high and above all, I did not like the continuous adding of water and other stuff in order to charge more. A bottle of water is 3 Euros and they kept feeling our glasses nonstop.
For a dish that costs 18.50 Euro, we ended up paying 8 Euros more for additions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzio1959, Gerente de relações com clientes at Buzio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your rating! We hope to improve your next visit! Even because the less good points of your evaluation are the rules of restaurant management in Portugal! A bottle of 1L of water does not seem too much ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Best quality fish and seafood in Sintra. Very good service, familiar staff and everybody very professional. Great deserts, tarte de maca com leite condensado on the top of the list!

Excellent steak and pica pau as well. Also children are very welcome.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TRVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzio1959, Gerente de relações com clientes at Buzio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you so much for your rating to us!
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buzio Restaurant also viewed

Colares, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Colares, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Praia das Macas, Lisbon District
Azenhas do Mar, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Buzio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing