We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place hiding in the alley”
Review of Restaurante Pendoa

Restaurante Pendoa
Ranked #19 of 271 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small place hiding in the alley”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I didn't realize it's so popular in Sintra when I arrived there. It's a very small place hiding in the alley with half cafe and half souvenir shop.The cafe is running by 3 local women.Simple and tasty local dishes r provided, and the service is fine as well.value for money.

Helpful?
Thank 宇荠 蒋
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    151
    34
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“..and this is our kitchen.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stayed at casa pendoa and they recommended this place. you will not find this place in the sintra postcard because it's hidden from the tourist herd behind the imposingly nice restaurants facing the square. BUT the tour guides sneak here to eat. good food, good price, no ambiance not pretentious at all. if you like fish and like to experience a portuguese food. i said experience because because for me it is. we came back again the next day for lunch. funny but true.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pnyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro District, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been in Sintra several times during the past few years and have always ended up in this homely little out of the way cafe. The food is freshly cooked and along with excellent service and prices, it makes Pendoa a perfect place for lunch. If you want to eat with a view of the palace you will pay twice as much. Your choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pendôa Restaurant, don't bother looking elsewhere in Sintra!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From warm and competent Amelia, the proprietress, to the superb food (you have to try their bacalhau com nata) this charming ex-souvenir store now a tiny restaurant was one of the reasons the four of us returned to Sintra for a second day late September 2013. Pendôa was recommended on day one by the owner of a nearby delicatessen as the only restaurant he could recommend in Sintra, and the food was so good we made a point of going back afterwards to thank him for his suggestion. The food is absolutely delicious, especially the cod dishes as well as the roast pork I ordered. You will ignore the very slow service - all food is prepared and cooked lovingly after you order - and bare table atmosphere if you order a glass of chilled Planalto white, nibble on the exquisite cod balls, and soak up the friendly atmosphere as locals and tourists come and go. Expect to pay around €20 all-in per person as the total for food and drinks (this was our average per head for four people after two visits), much less than in the touristy, smarter-looking restaurants that throng Sintra's thoroughfares and side streets. But we recommend Amelia's PENDÔA first and foremost for the quality of its food, exceptional!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant in Sintra”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We casually found this restaurant and we were a bit skeptical to go in, but the nice owner convinced us. Once in, you don't really know if it's a restaurant, a souvenir shop or a Portuguese "tasca". All of these thoughts are distractions for the best thing about this place, which is the food. Real home-made, delicious Portuguese food, at a very affordable price. Oh,
did I mention that the owner is very friendly and helpful?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank poroplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Pendoa also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante Pendoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing