We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steak”

Restaurante O Lavrador
Ranked #3 of 271 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Barbecue, Portuguese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: SPECIALTY: LOAF IN STONE (STEAK IN STONE)The Lavrador, stands for simplicity and comfort, a friendly atmosphere but above all welcoming. Decor with traditional motifs to fields this is a space where you can enjoy the most typical dishes of Portuguese cuisine. With a taste of home, this is the perfect place to enjoy traditional tastes.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The speciality of the place, steak on stone, was amazing and for me so far the culinary highlight of the vacations. Very good quality and service.

Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Good Evening,
Jan K

Tanks for your coment!!

Hope see you again on the next trip to Sintra.

Best regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    102
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
“Excellent!! Superb”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent food friendly nice service... one of the best meals we had in Portugal!! It would be a shamed if you have not yet tried this place

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ye0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Good afternon,

Dear Ye0ni

tanks for your review,
we hope see you soon!

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The ambiance and quality are simply the best!!!
Excellent food and payable wines!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
HI,

Bas S

tanks for your review
hope see you again, when come play golf in Portugal

Best Regards

Mario Lavrador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
“Rustic, small town ambience, great food, great service”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were in a business trip and large group(25) , we were going to visit sintra after a half day work, so we booked from the hotel after reading many reviews.it's about 4km from the centre of sintra . When we arrived we was shocked coz its very close and not renovated but from the inside was very traditional and great. It was our best evening in lisbon. Most of us tried o lavrador specialty , delicious meat cooked on hot stone And the home made dessert was to die for!!! Especially my cheese cake done by mario . Every one of us left very happy with the food,service and value. Will be visited in my next trip to portugal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manalsabeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello
Manalsabeh,

tanks for your review here,
we hope surpassed their expectations

best regards,

Mario lavrador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to a day in Sintra!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent the afternoon in Sintra, then hopped in a taxi for the short trip to "O Lavrador" (€6-7), having seen good reviews on Trip Advisor (better than most of the central Sintra offerings). Agree with previous reviews that from the outside you would not necessarily give it a second look, but it is great inside, and the number of locals enjoying a Saturday evening meal attested to this. We arrived prior to opening time (open from 1930 to 2200) so headed to the bar upstairs, and were welcomed by a multilingual local (Rodrigo?) who made us feel at home. We had 6 small beers and bar snacks for €3 (!), before Rodrigo showed us downstairs. We were well looked after by Mario, and we both had the restaurant's special 'steak on stone' (most of the other diners did too) - which was wonderful - flavoursome, well seasoned, and tender beef. The house wine went well, and was excellent value. After about 3 hours, and a bill for only €42 (including starter, dessert and 2 carafes of wine) we headed back to Lisbon more than satisfied. We have eaten in Lisbon's Belcanto during this trip, and although the experiences were very different, and both were great, I think we enjoyed this more!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blameyourelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLavradorRestaurante, Gerente at Restaurante O Lavrador, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Good Evenig,
Blameyourelf,

Hi,
Tanks for you coment,
Hope to have surpassed your expectations, and next time you´ll come to another Trip to visit our magnificent Sintra , come visit us again.
( Hugs from Rodrigo )

hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante O Lavrador also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante O Lavrador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing