We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”
Review of Moon Hill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Hill Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was the best hostel I've every stayed in my life!
Me and a friend stayed in the shared dorm for 1 night (Saturday to Sunday). Everything in the hostel is brand new including furniture. The place is open for business for 3 months and they are doing everything with excellence! Everything is very clean. Rooms have AC. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is different depending on what room you got (Dorm or Suite) yet great. The attached bar at night is a must see. The restaurant has great food (better then most places downtown) and is not expensive. There is also a full kitchen available if you want to cook it yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rionbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Moon Hill Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Moon Hill Hostel is an absolute delight. I had no idea what to expect due to lack of reviews, but this was becuase it only opened a couple of months ago. Very clean, lovely stafff (especially Pedro) and excellent facilities. This is the best value in Sintra, which is quite expensive for Portugal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked a four bed dorm, the first smile came when I saw that I didn't need to leave the room to use toilet/shower which, by the way were very, very clean. My bed was nice and comfy and the room was very quiet. Breakfast was not like at the usual hostel, this lovely lady served it as if it was a restaurant. All shared areas were super clean and great music was played at all times in a very moderate volume. Staff are friendly and helpfull, they knew who I was the moment I walked through the door. Its location is a plus too, just 5 mins walk from the train station and 10 mins from the bus stop to go all different attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This boutique hostel can almost match a 3 or 4 star hotel. The rooms are crisp and the downstairs lobby / living room is just great. Restaurant serves very tasty food, and not expensive. The staff was wonderful, i left my phone charger in the room and they mailde it to me in my next destination!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MartenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Amazing new hostel- had only opened 2weeks. Everything brand new and beautifully decorated. Great kitchen and communal lounge. Very friendly staff. Food in restaurant was amazing- we went back both nights we were there. We stayed in 4 bed dorm but only us there. Definitely recommend this place for a chilled stay in Sintra.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mclemon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent one night at Moon Hill in Sintra while I was backpacking through Portugal. Staff is extremely kind, polite and ready to help and the place is ideal for solo travellers: cool interiors and brand new furniture, a fully-equipped common kitchen, cosy rooms (I stayed in a four-bed one) and each bed has a spacious personal safe where you can leave your luggage while you go out. Definitely worth its price.

Room Tip: For about 16 euros you can get a place in a four-bed room with shared bathrooms but if you just add...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bors_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Me and my wife had a great stay at Moon Hill. When entering this boutique hostel, we immediately felt that it was much more than that, with all the details that were presented to us. The decoration is both intelligent and modern, looking like it pretends to tell a story.
We stayed at a dorm with private bathroom as all the double rooms were booked. The beds were comfortable, the room was spacious and it did have a very nice view to wonderful Sintra.
The staff was helpful throughout our stay.
A high quality breakfast was included and served at the “Meia Tigela” restaurant, where we also had dinner. Meia Tigela served delicious gourmet food with a good price/quality relationship.
Lastly, the location of the hostel is just about perfect as it’s placed at a very quiet area with the center of Sintra being reachable in a 2 or 3 minutes walk.
I fully recommend Moon Hill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
294 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#5 of 32 in Sintra
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Hill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill Hostel

Address: Rua Guilherme Gomes Fernandes 17, Sintra 2710-721, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: £30 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moon Hill Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the tours, the adventure, the sports or the beach are over, you'll find the Moon Hill, the hostel created to be a continuation of your Sintra experience. In an environment inspired by the tradition of the region, a modern look was added to provide the exchange of experiences, socializing, comfort and simplicity that will find as unforgettable as the rest of your trip. The Moon Hill will be your home, when you're away from it. Come and meet us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Moon Hill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing