We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Sintra”
Review of Moon Hill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Hill Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely modern and well-equipped hostel complete with Mac computers and a Play station, which my kids really appreciated! We had a family room, which consisted of a double bed and two bunk-beds on the ground floor next to the bar and restaurant. This can be a problem if some of the guests decide to talk and drink until 4am, which happened to us on the first night, but after speaking to reception, it never happened again during our 5 night stay. There is a communal kitchen, but you can never be sure if you will find the food you have left there the day before. I suppose this is part and parcel of staying in a hostel but it was the only negative aspect of our stay. Also, it would be nice to have the room cleaned or tidied once or twice as I had to ask for the overflowing bins to be emptied. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and even washed our dirty clothes free of charge as they had not yet had their washing machine installed! The breakfast was sufficient and included in the price of the room, and the restaurant was nice although lacked a child's menu. All in all, a pleasant and enjoyable stay in a beautiful location with views of the Moorish castle and the village of Sintra. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belledebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a sweet gem of a place this is! Brand new hostel that has some of the same ammenities as a hotel. The staff speak multiple languages and were happy to give us a map and some suggestions on where we should go and see.
The room had just what you need bed, towels soap and a great view. If you need or want to watch tv, use a computer or listen to music it was all down stairs. Even an amazing restaurant that I have to say was the best food we had in Sintra, especially for the price. Beware of some of the restaurants in the center of town they charge for everything including a square of butter!
We were so grateful for their hospitality, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McZimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location is extremely convenient,just several minutes' walk from the train and bus station. And the hostel is very clean and comfortable with brand new modern decor. What impressed me most is the helpful handsome staff(or maybe the owner of this hostel) he's smile is really sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lttzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at moon hill for two nights in early July and were very impressed. The hostel is beautifully designed with comfortable rooms and even more comfortable beds. Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast -served in a sit-down restraunt style- is simple and delicious. Location is excellent, a shot walk to the historic centre and with a lovely view of the moorish castle and the national palace. Sintra itself is a stunningly beautiful little town. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikaMcGivern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was the best hostel I've every stayed in my life!
Me and a friend stayed in the shared dorm for 1 night (Saturday to Sunday). Everything in the hostel is brand new including furniture. The place is open for business for 3 months and they are doing everything with excellence! Everything is very clean. Rooms have AC. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is different depending on what room you got (Dorm or Suite) yet great. The attached bar at night is a must see. The restaurant has great food (better then most places downtown) and is not expensive. There is also a full kitchen available if you want to cook it yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rionbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Moon Hill Hostel is an absolute delight. I had no idea what to expect due to lack of reviews, but this was becuase it only opened a couple of months ago. Very clean, lovely stafff (especially Pedro) and excellent facilities. This is the best value in Sintra, which is quite expensive for Portugal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked a four bed dorm, the first smile came when I saw that I didn't need to leave the room to use toilet/shower which, by the way were very, very clean. My bed was nice and comfy and the room was very quiet. Breakfast was not like at the usual hostel, this lovely lady served it as if it was a restaurant. All shared areas were super clean and great music was played at all times in a very moderate volume. Staff are friendly and helpfull, they knew who I was the moment I walked through the door. Its location is a plus too, just 5 mins walk from the train station and 10 mins from the bus stop to go all different attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#7 of 32 in Sintra
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Almaa Sintra Hostel
#4 of 32 in Sintra
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Hill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill Hostel

Address: Rua Guilherme Gomes Fernandes 17, Sintra 2710-721, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: £33 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moon Hill Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the tours, the adventure, the sports or the beach are over, you'll find the Moon Hill, the hostel created to be a continuation of your Sintra experience. In an environment inspired by the tradition of the region, a modern look was added to provide the exchange of experiences, socializing, comfort and simplicity that will find as unforgettable as the rest of your trip. The Moon Hill will be your home, when you're away from it. Come and meet us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Moon Hill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing