We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anneli and Henkka from Turku Finland”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We are a couple in out sixties. We participated in a week-long hikingtrip in October, in the beautiful old centre of Sintra and its surroundings. We stayed at Casa do Valle, which is situated near the centre of Sintra. Due to its location and facilities (spacious and comfortable rooms, terraces, swimmingpool and a sauna) it suited our needs perfectly. The staff and hostess Virpi were able to meet all our needs for a week of hiking. Their dogs Pandora and Viiri also befriended us. As we returned to Finland a though kept recurring - this is a place we want to return to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

A warm greeting to both of you from a cool but sunny and beautiful Sintra!
Thank you for your nice review and for choosing to come to Casa do Valle on your hiking trip. We are glad that our services and surroundings were pleasing to you. A thought keeps reocurring to me too - I do think that you should return to Sintra and Casa do Valle!
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Casa do Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent a week at the Casa do Valle in Sintra at the beginning of November 2013 and I will say that this place was perfect. I received a warm wellcome from Patricia and Virpi. Casa do Valle is close to the town. The room was very comfortable with really great views of the castle and place. Patricia and Virpi were exceptionally helpful with good advice about Sintra and walks in the area near the town. It was fantastic to have good breakfast outside at the pool every morning. I will really recommend this place in Sintra.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Reijo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you Reijo! Glad you liked the breakfast and the breakfast arrangement by the pool. Not having a restaurant is always a challenge, and we were happy to serve the breakfast by the pool for you. Even in late October you were lucky with the weather - that is usually the best of times for walking: not too hot and the days are often clear and cool.
I will give your greetings to Patricia!
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent a week at Casa do Valle in late October. As we were on a hiking trip, we appreciated the great location of the hotel, the large room with large cupboard for our clothes and equipment,
beautiful view, good breakfast at the pool and, of course as being Finns, the sauna! Virpi is an excellent hostess and we even had her and her dog Pandora with us on a hike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hello - and thank you for coming to Casa do Valle!

Sintra is indeed a very good place for hiking, the terraine is so varied and you can go to the deep woods one day and high cliffs by the ocean the next day! So gald you enjoyed Casa do Valle and all we had to offer, including the sauna.

It was also my pleasure to join you on some of your hikes, it was a welcomed change to our routines. Both myself and Pandora thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent three days at the Casa do Valle in Sintra at the beginning of our month long holiday in Portugal. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent location - the other reviewers have said it all - it is great . We were there in September and had no problem with the street parking right by the property. The service and facilities are far in excess of what you would normally expect and our only regret was not being able to stay there for longer. We will certainly return when in the area again.

Thank you for a memorable visit to Casa do Valle and Sintra.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Well-travelled96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you! Your review is heartwarming! I truly wish that the rest of your Portugal trip was also pleasant. A month is a long time to travel, and I hope that it was full of pleasant people and excellent food that Portugal is famous for!

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here 3 days in one of the rooms at the bottom of the property, so had a large decking area immediately outside the room with a wonderful view of the Moorish Castle, Pena and Regalio. The pool has exactly the same views.
The evening sun shines directly on to the front of these rooms, so in October it was pleasant to finish the day sitting outside the room. In summer it may be too hot, but there is plenty of choice of sun or shade in the gardens and by the pool. The weather was just warm enough for us to enjoy breakfast outside (shady in the mornings).
The breakfasts had everything we required and priced at 4, 5 or 6 Euros were very reasonable, especially as delivered directly to the room at the time we requested. Bottled water was supplied each day which was very useful.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and ordered a taxi to the station on our departure. It keeping to a timetable do order a taxi in advance as we left it until ready to leave, and then had to wait (no fault of the hotel!). If arriving by taxi check beforehand if you are staying at the top of the property (Valle) or at the bottom (Vista) as it is a lot of steps to carry suitcases down!
Anyone without a car should be aware that it is a steep road back up to the village, but we were glad to work up an appetite for one of the many restaurants. There is an order-in service for meals, and light snacks are served in the rooms, but we did not use either service.
Staying in Sintra without a car, as we did, is no problem as bus services run between all the main sights and some are within easy walking distance. Around the hotel there were plenty of parking spaces for those who did have cars.
We would recommend this place to everyone (those who have problems with steps should avoid the rooms in Vista at the bottom of the property).
We know where we want to stay next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

HI there!

Thank you for choosing Casa do Valle to stay! We are glad that you liked your stay and breakfast service. As we don't have a restaurant, it is a challenge to cater to everyone's tastes, but I think we've gotten it down by now.

You touch again to the point that I find important when choosing an accomodation in Sintra (anywhere, not just Casa do Valle): the transportation and the terraine.

Sintra is a mountain - so the movement is mainly up and down. You don't have to have a car - you did not - and you still got around. It is important to note, though, that if you plan to mostly walk, you must be able to do hills. If not, there are many alternatives, from busses to taxis to horse and carriage etc. But one should be mentally aware that if you choose not to have a rental car, the walking IS up and down - or plan alternative transportation to driving.

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Casa do Valle for my best friends wedding and what a treat! The location is great, just a 10min walk from town. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and so quite, with a breathtaking view from the deck. We had breakfast ordered which came right on time each morning, and we took in the view whilst sipping our hot coffee. The owner Virpi was so helpful in organising Yoga for all of the wedding guests and bride on the day of the wedding which was so relaxing. We will happily stay here again and recommend this location to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello - and thank you fro your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You experienced Sintra in many ways - the gorgeous sunshine and the magical misty days; in the solitude of the morning and company of friends as well!

The yoga is something we started this year, and certainly will start again in the spring as soon as weather allows in the garden! It jsut fits right in with Casa do Valle's spirit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I can't recommend this place high enough to anyone visiting Sintra or Portugal - Casa do Valle and its wonderful staff are a reason in itself to go to Sintra. The grounds and views are beautiful, the staff could not have been more hospitable or welcoming, and the rooms are clean, safe, spacious and light. I stayed at Casa do Valle for a friend's wedding for just under 1 week. We had reserved the majority of the rooms and we were all blown away with the helpfulness, friendliness and level of high organisation that greeted us from the second we arrived. The staff were extremely enerous in their time and resources to all of us, even when we requested assistance out of hours or with things that would normally not be expected from usual accomodation. By the end of our stay it felt like leaving old friends. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you! We were so happy to welcome you, help organize things for you and make you feel well here with us! It is so good to travel with friends, and you were here for a very special occasion - so twice as nice, We can also not wait to have you come back - Do! The rooms, staff and the views await you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: £61 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing