We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Back”
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Valle
Ranked #2 of 46 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our 2nd time back...and once again the service, rooms and general atmosphere was excellent.

Set just below the main town there are fantastic views up to the many popular tourist attractions. Very relaxing and tranquil.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms on the decking. Great space and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donovanhallnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Welcome back - yet again! This tells us more than anything that we have done something right, that brought you back! The relaxing atmosphere and the views are waiting for your next visit,

All the best, Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is not easy to find (if you're driving), but its well worth the effort! We had a "superior" room at the back of the property which opened onto a large deck, shared with three other rooms. However, privacy was not an issue and the scenic views were incredible. Our reception was warm and inviting and filled with excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to see.Walking up to the center of town or down to the railway station was not an issue. The room service breakfasts were incredibly good.

Room Tip: The "superior" rooms offer best views and are probably are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello Randy,

Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad that your stay with us was positive, that you liked the room, the breakfast and the place in general. Maybe we will se you again?

Best regards, Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We found this hotel to be friendly and comfortable, in a peaceful and beautiful location. It is set slightly out of Sintra, which involved a considerable climb by foot up the road to the town centre and restaurants, etc, but this didn't bother us too much.
The room was very pleasant, quiet and with good views and a balcony; it had a good en-suite bathroom and small fridge (and a toaster!). Breakfast was delivered to the room at an agreed time, and involved ticking a menu for the next day.
The hotel consists of a group of buildings in a large garden, which had a pool, outside seating and a cute computer shack, with books to lend and other guest's recommendations for visits and restaurants.
We could get wifi in our room (for an ipad) but this involved going out on the balcony first to get a signal! There was no air-conditioning but a fan was supplied on request (not sure this would be enough for really hot nights).
The staff were terrific, friendly and helpful. Daily cleaning was immaculate.
We recommend this hotel as something slightly different from the usual. It is reasonably convenient for the town and proved to be a good base to visit all the sights (we didn't have a car; we used local buses and taxis were not expensive) although the walking was bit heavy for our ageing legs!

Room Tip: Room 5 was best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Olagar,

Thank you for your kind words of Casa do Valle and the service we provide! The toaster is in every room to make sure everyone gets their toast hot as the breakfast is brought to the rooms.

The Wifi situation is soon greatly improved - though we have 4 separate fiber optic lines on the property for wireless internet access, we are indeed sitting on granite and on multilevels due to the mountainous grounds. This causes situations of difficulty in catching the signal for some devices, but once it is found, it normally works well. However, we have already ordered an amplifier for the upper rooms so that the signal is stronger and can be found by all antenas.

Another great feature about being on the mountain is that 98% of the nights here are cool! The afternoon temperatures rarely go over 30º and the night time temperatures, even in the summer, are around 15-18º . So no, we do not have airconditioning -we use more sustainable solutions - when the sun is warm, we close the black-out curtains, and in the upper rooms, also the awning, so that the room does not get too warm. And in the summer, the fans are permanently placed in all the rooms as well.

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a mixed experience staying at Casa do Valle.

To start with the positive:
- The views were amazing from our balcony and the backyard, we very much enjoyed sitting out and taking in the views in the afternoon
- When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young woman, she gave us detailed directions of the city and all the hiking routes which we really appreciated
- Breakfast was tasty and delivered to our door

Cons
- Unfortunately our experience was soured by ants. The first night we were at the B&B I found an ant crawling across my pillow before we went to bed. The next day we found multiple ants crawling on the floor of the room. When I informed the young woman at reception she was extremely apologetic and it seemed they were going to take action to rectify the problem after we left...

Overall Casa do Valle has a beautiful property in Sintra, and if we had not experienced the ant problem in our room our rating would be higher.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller201408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Traveller from Toronto,

Thank you for your lovely review on Casa do Valle. The hiking here is indeed wonderful, and we do have the maps to help you find all the trails and routes! We are happy to be of help so you can enjoy your holidays to the maximum!

Casa do Valle, as you said, has the wonderful views of the mountain, and a very large garden, that is full of fruits at this time. We are at the edge of town - where the city finishes and countryside begins. It is natural that we would also have the less attractive part of the situation - in this case, ants. It is not at all common for us to have ants, or any other insects either - they only come after food if let on site - and usually not even then. We clean the rooms daily, and provide anti-mosquitos in all rooms to make sure that insects do not come in. It was very unusual and unfortunate that you did find a few ants in your room. I am sorry you did have them, and sorry it affected your stay and relaxation.

Best wishes,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Breakfast and evenings on the veranda outside of our room and overlooking the countryside and castles made our stay in Sintra, which could otherwise be noisy and touristy. Views of grapes, sheep and beguiling castles was the stuff of fairytales and must have been the Sintra that Lord Byron described as "Cintra, a glorious Eden." The guest house is a series of small buildings about 2k from the train station. We walked hauling bags, but be forewarned, unless you are up for hills and a little exercise, it's best to drive or take a taxi. Breakfast was delivered to the room for an extra charge. Nothing spectacular but certainly adequate. And, the staff was wonderfully accommodating... The room was somewhat stuffy, the only downside, still Casa do Valle, was a glorious place to take in this beguiling city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElaSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hello to Montana from the sunny Sintra!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Casa do Valle and that you found our service accomodating! The slope across from the valley where the sheep are is in fact a kiwi plantation! Somewhat unusual and in fact looks a lot like grapes.

Just a tiny correction, the distance to the station is a bit under 1km by foot - but, as you mentioned, if you are not used to hilly terraine, the distances do seem longer sometimes!

Also, the fact that the breakfast is brought to your room costs nothing extra. We do not have a restaurant, so we bring the breakfast always to the room.

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I can only confirm what so many others have already written on this site: the views of Sintra from the hotel garden and pool are magnificent. We were very warmly welcomed by Patricia, who showed us all the places to visit on a map and provided good restaurant advice as well. We had a good night of sleep on the very cosy bed and enjoyed a good breakfast, delivered to the room, as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Alexander,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you liked our location and view; and especially happy that you slept well here!

Our staff will be pleased when I tell them that you enjoyed their service, as well.

Best regards,

Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Casa do Valle is a very nice, and well located hotel, with a perfect view, great atmosphere and very friendly staff.
From here we the explored beaches, the (easy to reach but a litlle steep) centre of Sintra, Lisboa and more!
We enjoyed our stay very very much, nothing was wrong!

Room Tip: room at the lowest floor for a good view and a good terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virpideoliveira, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Patrick, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the service friendly! Our views to the palaces and the valley are the kind that you don't grow tired of - all year round they are fantastic!
I tend to agree with you about the activities and relax - there is indeed so much to do in Sintra and its surrounding area, that it is then very nice to relax at Casa do Valle.

Best regards,
Virpi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna N. 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing