We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Monserrate Palace

Monserrate Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.63*
and up
Tram Ride and Visit to Monserrate Palace in Sintra
More Info
US$58.56*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour: Romantic Sintra from Lisbon
More Info
US$111.86*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Small-Group Gourmet Walking Tour plus Sintra and Cascais...
Ranked #4 of 70 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not very far from the historic centre of Sintra is one of the most beautiful architectural and landscape Romantic creations in Portugal: the Park and Palace of Monserrate, unique representatives of 19th century eclecticism.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful gardens and house. A surprising interior, very well-restored and renovated. Well worth the visit, slightly out of town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alisoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    371
    69
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing gardens!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Monseratte Palace is lovely. The music room is breathtaking.

You must give yourself at least three hours to truly appreciate the beauty of the gardens and the Palace itself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Comba Dao, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
818 reviews
684 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Visiting the Palacio de Monserrate”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Palacio de Monserrate.
We have spent a nice afternoon in the "Park of Monserrate".
The "Palacio de Monserrate" is located in the middle of the "Parque de Monseratte" which is located on the outside of the village of "Sintra".
You can leave your car on the outside of the park for free (small parking place), after buying a ticket you enter the park and follow the road who is indicated and from allot of plants you have the explanation and name on signs along the pad.
The park is an enormous place from "Fauna & Flora" were it is nice to walk during summer time, we have visited it during the month of June.
After a nice walk you arrive on the "Palacio de Monserrate", please do not expect a big Palace, you can compare it with a big "House" located in the middle of a nice park.
The Palace himself is worth the visit, this even it does not has furniture on the inside, but you have to see it as an extension from the park, and doing so you will enjoy the visit completely.
Take the whole thing as part of a visit to Sintra & Surroundings, and do not compare this park and palace with the "Castelo da Pena", but anyhow we liked the visit allot.
GPS: N - 38 - 47´- 31" W - 9 - 25´ - 9"

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazon122s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful sight, but no restaurant”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stopped at the tourist information office upon arriving and asked what would be the best approach to see the major sights in one day. The woman advised us to go to the Palacio Real, Monserrate, and Palace and Park of Pena in that order and end our day at the Moorish castle. We loved visiting the palace and grounds of Monserrate, but we planned to eat lunch there and were disappointed to find that there is no restaurant. We went on to the Palacio Pena. No restaurant there either! Finally, we had to settle for truly awful sandwiches at the little kiosk at the Moorish Castle. Sintra's castles and gardens are amazing, but, either eat in town or perhaps bring a picnic lunch!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VAVoyager1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I wander the world
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I truly enjoyed wandering the fern gardens. The Palace is all about pillars and wonderful patterns of leaf and flowers. They have almost complete the renovations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NomadicByNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monserrate Palace also viewed

 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Monserrate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing