We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortoBay Serra Golf
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Madeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here during our walking trip on Madeira. It was such a treat arriving back after a full day to a warm welcome. Wonderful, comfortable room and the most helpful staff. When we first arrived we had a problem with the towel rail ni the bathroom. Our room was switched with no fuss or bother, typical of the atmosphere and attitude of the staff, who were faultless. Excellent food and service in the restaurant, and afternoon tea, yum.

The pool was great with the built in whirlpool spa area very welcome for tired legs!

When you are visiting Madeira stay at this hotel, you won't regret it, we don't.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had such a pleasant stay at Santo da Serra. Also rewarding to know that my team had such a positive impact on your holidays and thank you for sharing this with tripadvisor audience.

I t will be a pleasure to welcome you back,

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had 3 days at this small hotel. We were made most welcome by the friendly staff. The food was excellent and plentiful. We do not play golf, but found plenty to do and see. Free wi- fi in bedrooms. All areas of hotel were spotless, and plenty of easy chairs to relax in. The indoor pool looked very inviting, although we did not use it. Reception staff explained local bus timetable which we used to visit Machico.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kentseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Excellent small hotel!” review and for choosing the Porto Bay Serra Golf to your Santo da Serra holiday experience.

Happy that you have enjoyed the different facilities and the services we do have available in our property.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spent 3 nights here as part of a walking holiday around Madeira - excellent food, very helpful staff and lovely rooms to boot. Would stay there again as a centre for more walking in the area. The town itself is quiet but take care walking on the roads as not many pavements

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Lovely relaxing and comfortable place “ review posted on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra golf hotel


It will be a great pleasure to welcome you for a future stay with us,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great place with friendly and always helpfull staff ! Very good food, rich breakfest, reasonable dinner. Spacious room with a view to beautiful green garden, very pleasant morning wake up by singing birds. There is connecting door between two rooms not enough protecting the noise coming from neighbor. That's the reason why we don't rate the hotel with five dots.
Petr & Dasha from Prague

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the post on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel and happy to know that overall you have enjoyed the experience at Santo.

I wil promise good attention on the point raised.

It will be a great pleasure to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Family with one and half year old child. Although not being able to profit the hiking possibilities, due to a very young child, I recognize the good location for this kind of sport. Also great location for golf enthusiasts. Small size hotel (like we like), confortable, with evident taste on ambiance, indoor swiming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank XPTOPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor you holiday experience at Porto Bay Serra Golf and happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us

It will be for sure rewarding to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After the change in management I was back with wife and kids. The addition of the indoor swimming pool and sauna are a big plus, and the renewed gym and relax room were also a good surprise. Rooms kept their comfort with new tv and dvd, excelent for the kids. there's also an ipod dock station.
Dinner at Avó Micas Restaurant was good as always and breakfast is fantastic. Didn't miss the 5'O clock tea, which kept the delicious scones and home made jams. the one downside was the living room which lost a bit of comfort as extra Restaurant tables were put there. also a big plus wifi all over the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf. I am happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience.
About the living room please take good note that the tables were there as we were nearly fully booked during some days and we were needing some more seats for dinner.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future to Santo da Serra

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of March. The hotel is everything others have reported, large comfortable bedrooms with modern fittings in a new extension. Nice indoor swimming pool. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast with the full range one would expect. If I have one small criticism it is that the evening meals, although perfectly good and wholesome, lack an element of sophistication in their preparation one would expect in a four star hotel. There's a lack of subtlety of flavour and presentation, we found them rather bland. However overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmblingRambler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf. We will promise good attention on the food issue.

Anything you might need for a future visit to our property I will be most pleased to assist you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
384 reviews
23 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
420 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Casa Velha do Palheiro
#20 of 88 in Funchal
503 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quinta do Furao
Quinta do Furao
#1 of 3 in Santana
533 reviews
13.8 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Serra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PortoBay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby!! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym ... in the heart of nature!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing