We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Serra Golf
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
256
111
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
111
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidayserra golfsmall hotelhalf boardplay golfsmall indoor poolshort stayshort drivecentral heatingnearby villagethree nightslow cloudpeaceful locationlovely hotellocal barenjoyable stayeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Small and with lovely rooms and with super service and food. It a perfect place for a honeymoon or a few days of golf or a long walk in the montains around. Especially the 3 hours walk out on the Pico do Furado was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 a superior room and that was large and comfortable. .
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flemming Tage H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “A lovely place”” review about Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel.
It is really rewarding o know that you took such a good impression of our hotel and services provided.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This little boutique hotel in the center of Madeira Island is simply just to love! I was with my boyfriend two weeks at Madeira in August and our thought about this place is just "no more intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira". The staff is extraordinary and the location is stunning, surrounded by forests and mountains. One is made to feel at home- just comfort and rest. Gorgeous rooms, amazing service, beautiful decor, perfect location. The whole hotel is breathtakingly beautiful decorated and atmosphere is really impressed. The restaurant is the top: food and service with an excellent concierge and staff. The breakfast that is served is sublime- pastries, fresh fruit, delicious cheeses and home-baked breads- served in a beautiful setting:)
We will always go back to this hotel when we are back at Madeira!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebellisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “The most intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira” review about PBSG.
It is really rewarding for the team to read your thoughts . I will certainly share it with all of them.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I really loved this very cosy, friendly place.
It is NOT for handicapped people, as there is no elevator and steps up to reception.
Standard rooms are in the annex, two floors. Rooms up to number 209 are best. I had 209, which is the last one so no neighbours on one side. Best room is 301, the Ballesteros room where he stayed. It has a terrace with privacy and sun loungers.
All rooms face greenery so away from street so no noise at all. A bit of inside noise from next room but very little, no real disturbance.
Soft beds and I need that very much. Good TV with even BVN Dutch channel.
Good bathroom with (Dutch) toiletries, made in Italy.
Two seats in front of TV which is mounted on wall, a bit too high for me, but was OK, as for a big TV with many more channels (like Mezzo classical music) one can go down to games room.
Good breakfast, even with champagne, (Portuguese bubbles). Quite wonderful dinner. For 21 Euro halfboard but then ony a choice of a few starters and main, and all deserts.
Good prices of drinks. Just 45 Euro for a full bottle Moet et Chandon tells you how reasonable their prices are.
Great pool, 10 meters with at far end a whirlpool. Press a button and one has a great jacuzzi over whole width of pool at that end. Sauna also.
Small hotel and during day nobody in hotel, so one has the pool, sauna and recreation room nearly always to oneself, me all the time. It is 28 degrees in that pool area, 23 degrees water.
In summer doors open to garden in two sides. Pool has glass roof so feels like being outside.
Really marvelous staff, like Idalina M. and her colleagues.
Breakfast 8 till 10 AM, dinner 7 till 9 PM ,
Hotel is 400 meters from bus and supermarket, quiet location. Bus 77 takes 75 minutes to Funchal.
Hotel one of my top best finds of my life.
Only down side: very very poor and slow internet PC, very frustrating so bring own.
Also I thought the decorations are boring but all in all a hotel to come back too often.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto bay Serra golf and the such a comprehensive description of our property and of your holiday experience.

Glad to know that overall you had such fantastic experience that hopefully will bring you back in the future.
We would be most pleased to welcome you once again,

Have a great 2014,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel at low season and had a perfect experience. The house is small, cosy but still with good service proper for a 4 star hotel with ambitions. The rooms are nice and quiet, the garden is small and beautiful. The pool is also quite nice. Breakfast had a good choice and the service was always helpful and friendly.
The only downside could be that you don't have anything closeby. Restaurants, beaches, and the cities are all a bit f a drive. If you want a nice relaxing stay then it is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_selo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your thoughts about it on tripadvisor.
Pleased to know that overall you had a very positive holiday experience. As you mention this is a lovely spot to spend some relaxing days away of normal city athmospehre but take in consideration that only 10 minutes driving and you can be in Machico with some shops, restaurants and by the sea.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in another opportunity.

Warm regads

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel appears to ooze comfort in an unobtrusive way as soon as one enters. Our modern 'standard' room was luxurious with comfy beds you sink into, soft bathrobes and a high quality finish. There was fast wifi in the rooms ; also a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The view from the balcony was of a tall hedge, not the beautiful garden.

The restaurant and lounge area is in the old part of the hotel and feels like a country house, complete with friendly and attentive service and a varied menu. The quality ( and indeed quantity) of the breakfast buffet was superb.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Denise0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your “Luxurious country house feel” thoughts about it on tripadvisor.

Really happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, its facilites and also the service and food at the restaurant.

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews