We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Golftravel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Serra Golf
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Madeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nice little Hotel with character. Groupe of 11 Amateur Golfer and 2 Professional had a very good Time, enjoyed the tricky and interessted Golfcourses the nice Hotelcharacter and the good service of Hotel and Golfcourse. We will come again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

r Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for your feedback about it shared on tripadvisor.

So rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday golf experience at our hotel and the golf course as well.

It will be a pleasure to welcmoe you on a future visti to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Selected this for the first part of our trip, stayed for four nights everything exceeded our expectations. A small hotel it was like staying in a country house. The room was excellent, expertly cleaned each day and even ready on arrival which was great having left home a 2am in the morning.
Breakfast was superb a great choice and plenty of it in a lovely dining room. We did not eat in the restaurant choosing to go out to the local town, which does require you to take the car, many residents did stay in.
Leisure facilities perfect able to swim each day a real bonus, perfect lounge to sit in and relax.
Great location if you are a golfer,(reduced green fees welcome), well worth visiting the golf for the views if you are not.
We stayed four days had a lovely time but please can the reception lady be more welcoming and guest friendly, a bit of a cold fish.
Great location in the hills perfect for jumping off to visit the other side of the island. Be there at the week end to enjoy the locals market and make sure you drop into Blandy Park.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your “Perfect stay” thoughts about it on tripadvisor.

Really happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, its facilites and also the service. We have taken good note about our recepcionist atitude..

We sincerely hope to welcmoe you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I returned for a second visit to this hotel and loved it just as much as the first time. Really nice food at both breakfast and dinner and the staff are lovely. A small complaint is the use of long life milk at breakfast which was a real shame.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf and for the nice review about it shared on TripAdvisor.

Regarding the milk, please note that we live on a small island and nearly all the milk comes from Portugal mainland so it is a bit difficult to find fresh milk .
In any case the difference between the two types , fresh and long life milk is not much, in fact the second one gives us more guaranties in terms of bacteria risk due to the treatment process and of course it gives an extended shelf life.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira and do not hesitate to contact us in case there’s anything you can do for your next stay.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Small and with lovely rooms and with super service and food. It a perfect place for a honeymoon or a few days of golf or a long walk in the montains around. Especially the 3 hours walk out on the Pico do Furado was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 a superior room and that was large and comfortable. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “A lovely place”” review about Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel.
It is really rewarding o know that you took such a good impression of our hotel and services provided.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This little boutique hotel in the center of Madeira Island is simply just to love! I was with my boyfriend two weeks at Madeira in August and our thought about this place is just "no more intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira". The staff is extraordinary and the location is stunning, surrounded by forests and mountains. One is made to feel at home- just comfort and rest. Gorgeous rooms, amazing service, beautiful decor, perfect location. The whole hotel is breathtakingly beautiful decorated and atmosphere is really impressed. The restaurant is the top: food and service with an excellent concierge and staff. The breakfast that is served is sublime- pastries, fresh fruit, delicious cheeses and home-baked breads- served in a beautiful setting:)
We will always go back to this hotel when we are back at Madeira!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebellisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “The most intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira” review about PBSG.
It is really rewarding for the team to read your thoughts . I will certainly share it with all of them.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I really loved this very cosy, friendly place.
It is NOT for handicapped people, as there is no elevator and steps up to reception.
Standard rooms are in the annex, two floors. Rooms up to number 209 are best. I had 209, which is the last one so no neighbours on one side. Best room is 301, the Ballesteros room where he stayed. It has a terrace with privacy and sun loungers.
All rooms face greenery so away from street so no noise at all. A bit of inside noise from next room but very little, no real disturbance.
Soft beds and I need that very much. Good TV with even BVN Dutch channel.
Good bathroom with (Dutch) toiletries, made in Italy.
Two seats in front of TV which is mounted on wall, a bit too high for me, but was OK, as for a big TV with many more channels (like Mezzo classical music) one can go down to games room.
Good breakfast, even with champagne, (Portuguese bubbles). Quite wonderful dinner. For 21 Euro halfboard but then ony a choice of a few starters and main, and all deserts.
Good prices of drinks. Just 45 Euro for a full bottle Moet et Chandon tells you how reasonable their prices are.
Great pool, 10 meters with at far end a whirlpool. Press a button and one has a great jacuzzi over whole width of pool at that end. Sauna also.
Small hotel and during day nobody in hotel, so one has the pool, sauna and recreation room nearly always to oneself, me all the time. It is 28 degrees in that pool area, 23 degrees water.
In summer doors open to garden in two sides. Pool has glass roof so feels like being outside.
Really marvelous staff, like Idalina M. and her colleagues.
Breakfast 8 till 10 AM, dinner 7 till 9 PM ,
Hotel is 400 meters from bus and supermarket, quiet location. Bus 77 takes 75 minutes to Funchal.
Hotel one of my top best finds of my life.
Only down side: very very poor and slow internet PC, very frustrating so bring own.
Also I thought the decorations are boring but all in all a hotel to come back too often.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto bay Serra golf and the such a comprehensive description of our property and of your holiday experience.

Glad to know that overall you had such fantastic experience that hopefully will bring you back in the future.
We would be most pleased to welcome you once again,

Have a great 2014,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel at low season and had a perfect experience. The house is small, cosy but still with good service proper for a 4 star hotel with ambitions. The rooms are nice and quiet, the garden is small and beautiful. The pool is also quite nice. Breakfast had a good choice and the service was always helpful and friendly.
The only downside could be that you don't have anything closeby. Restaurants, beaches, and the cities are all a bit f a drive. If you want a nice relaxing stay then it is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_selo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your thoughts about it on tripadvisor.
Pleased to know that overall you had a very positive holiday experience. As you mention this is a lovely spot to spend some relaxing days away of normal city athmospehre but take in consideration that only 10 minutes driving and you can be in Machico with some shops, restaurants and by the sea.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in another opportunity.

Warm regads

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
384 reviews
23 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
424 reviews
5.4 mi away
Casa Velha do Palheiro
Casa Velha do Palheiro
#21 of 88 in Funchal
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
487 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quinta do Furao
Quinta do Furao
#1 of 3 in Santana
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Serra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PortoBay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby!! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym ... in the heart of nature!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortoBay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing