We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
268
116
20
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
116
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking holiday small hotel half board play golf short stay indoor pool short drive nearby village peaceful location local bar lovely hotel porto mare enjoyable stay easy access breakfast and dinner sunday market skewers
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

The hotel is lovely but really you need a car if you want to investigate the area more. It is a little remote and the village is very small, although does have a good Sunday Market which attracts people from other areas. Golf Club 10 minutes walk away, and nice for lunch or just a coffee. The Lagoon is a man made reservoir and not really worth bothering about!! Indoor pool, nice day sight seeing and food good. Staff helpful, but make sure that they do order the taxi.- ours ws allegedly ordered but did not turn up, luckily we aloud plenty of time to reach the airport, so another taxi was ordered which turned up fine

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house - more atmoshere
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sammie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia D, Gestor de Front Office at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay.
We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations.
Best regards,
Marília Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Very nice, small and clean hotel. Hotel room could be renowated, but everyting worked well, except the hairdryer that was the end of it's lifecycle. Bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool and sauna were great. Breakfast and dinner very good. Acces to golf course near and a buggy comes and picks you up to the club.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Rullax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia D, Gestor de Front Office at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Your opinion is very important to us. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, here or at another Portobay hotel
Marilia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

It may be that we visited at an unfortunate time but there were quite a lot of ways in which things just did not work as smoothly as you'd expect. Maybe they were short of front-of-house staff. Staff were friendly and (mostly) seemed to be working efficiently. But tables and drinks were left uncleared for hours; too few tables were set for breakfast; service was so slow at dinner so we left without coffees. Most staff did seem to care but I wondered if the few who didn't were simply too stressed. Also, they charge for locks for room safes, which seems very picky. Having said that there were many positives

The hotel is small, reasonably characterful and peaceful: clean and tidy. The pool area is tidy and usable. Dinner was tasty, nicely presented with generous portions. Some interesting local cuisine. We were on a half-board basis but could choose off the whole (extensive) menu and have 'credit' for half-board dishes:a good and effective system. Breakfast was an international-style buffet. Not as extensive as you might find at a bigger hotel but entirely adequate - and freshly cooked eggs is a bonus. Extras such as drinks were reasonably priced

Would we go back? I guess so, hoping this was just an 'off' time

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 301lisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia D, Gestor de Front Office at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay.
We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations.
Best regards,
Marília Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

PortoBay Hotel is just outside the village of Santo da Serra, which is at an altitude of 660 metres. Have this in mind if you visit early in the year as the weather conditions can be very different from Funchal. We had hired a car and with the helpful instructions from a lady at Rondavente were soon climbing the steep but easy road to the hotel.
The hotel is very attractive with a modern extension behind the original lodge.
The accommodation was very comfortable, and warm, which was needed in the wet weather.
We had not gone for the golf course which is easily accessed from the hotel. We had gone to be closer to rustic Madeira & easy access to the east side of the island. So we had a lovely day walking on the Sao Lawrence peninsula & driving north to Porta da Crux. The following day we waited until a storm had blown over and went into the village for the Sunday market. Considering the weather there were many locals buying provisions and a lively atmosphere. We then walked through a lovely municipal park which was showing the impact of the storm. There are some lovely trees & even some deer etc. in generous sized pens.
We ate twice at the hotel and thought reasonable & good value for money. The hotel was quite busy as a group were staying at the hotel. With the miserable weather it gave it a warm feel.
We found the staff helpful.
We did not require porterage but there are quite steep steps into the hotel & no doormen appeared to be available.
It was what we wanted & expected- a quiet, character hotel away from the usual tourist bustle of Funchal.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinsills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia D, Gestor de Front Office at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation. Thank you for sharing your experience. We were very happy to hear that you made the most of your holiday.
See you soon!
Marília Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This is a fantastic boutique hotel in a very peaceful location with excellent facilities and superb service and cuisine. It was our first but certainly not our last visit. We stayed in the Ballesteros Room after being upgraded which is magnificent

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FlameWestMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia D, Gestor de Front Office at PortoBay Serra Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Marília Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews