We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value budget hotel”
Review of Residencial Parque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residencial Parque
Ranked #64 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just returned from a four day walking holiday with my son. Having read other reviews before we travelled, we pretty much knew what to expect so we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel exceeded our expectations. Other reviewers state that the hotel is a bit "tired". Whilst we were there, there was some renovation going on; the landings on the third and second floor are having the rather threadbare carpets covered with laminated wooden flooring. Our room (number 24) had already received the same treatment and it appeared that the walls had recently received a new coat of paint.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast as described elsewhere - a couple of bread rolls, processed cheese, butter and jam with coffee/tea and orange juice. Pretty basic stuff but enough to get you through the morning.#

The hotel is in a quiet area just opposite a small public garden area frequented by old chaps playing cards for rocks!. Just down the road is the Farmers' Market and, on the opposite side of the street, the large "Anadia" supermarket, where you can stock up with provisions, including the interestingly named "Bastardos" wine!

Our room was cleaned daily, whilst we were out walking.

The rooms on the first three floors have a covered balcony, providing somewhere to sit out in the evening and watch the world (and the cable cars) go by. When we went up to Monte on the cable car, we could see that the balconies in the rooms on the top floor are not covered. As it rained heavily for a lot of the time we were there, we were grateful to have a covered balcony!

I would have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a cheap holiday and is not expecting five star accommodation for three star prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pete1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for one week in late July 2013. We chose this hotel because of it's cheap price, week in a double room wasn't even 200 euros. Compared to the price, the hotel experience was excellent - but of course this isn't a luxury hotel. Anyway it was very good for our needs.

The price included breakfast, which included coffee, juice and bread with butter, marmalade and cheese.

The hotel has free wi-fi (works in the lobby and the restaurant, didn't work in our room except for the balcony...). At least our room (on the second floor) didn't have air conditioning, and it was a smoking room (although I asked for a non-smoking one).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks,end May 2013. Airport bus (7.50 euros return) to stop 3; cross road then narrow, pleasant public garden and you have reached the hotel in 3-4minutes. Unlike some other cheaper hotels in Funchal, there were only a few steps up from the street, and a lift inside.
Some noise from traffic, only audible with windows open, but no shutters may be a problem in heat. Very quiet area otherwise, but short walk into Old Town (with the greatest selection of restaurants, the bus station and the cable car to Monte).
All previous reviews are accurate, so don't need much repeating. Room small and tired, but very clean. The balcony made the lack of space no problem. Adequate storage space. Bathroom (basin, wc, bidet and shower) was reasonably sized, but again tired. Constant hot water, but we never mastered the mixer tap so our showers ran really hot or really cold - maybe just us, though. Bed linen and towels regularly changed. Bathroom fixtures and fittings needed replacing.
Breakfast as described by other reviewers, but for the price, any breakfast at all is surprising, and this was served in a clean and pleasant area which doubled as a bar in the evenings (and sold drinks really cheaply). Sometimes we bought fruit and other supplements to the breakfast from the supermarket the night before (no fridge in the room) and were fine for our stay. Whilst we stayed, the bar was hardly used by guests or locals.
The free wi-fi was useful, especially checking bus services, entry times/fees etc. (I was most unimpressed by the Tourist Information Office in Funchal, and we did our own research.)
If, like we did, you want a clean base in a really good position, and you have realistic expectations in view of the very reasonable price, I would certainly recommend Residencial Parque Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank UkAnnalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

IT is a cheap, good accomodation for budget travellers.The owners are very good people,
the rooms are simple but good.The rooms at 4°floor have a balconny. All rooms have a nice vieuw over de mountains.There is often a rainbow above the mountains.
There is a small garden in front of hotel and busy road about 100 meters from the hotel.the stop aerobus airport is very near
The elevator makes some noise.The breakfast is very simple 2 bread,a triangle chesse and jam,but for the cheap price is OK.

Room Tip: the rooms 4° floor have balconny, everywhere you hear the elevator but rooms 31,32 are a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gojibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel and I would like to say that the location is excellent, with a pleasant staff, confortable rooms and the breakfast is ok. I really think this is an excellent value for money. I surely recommend this hotel for those who wants to stay in the city centre and save some money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

All previous reviews on this hotel are correct from the negative to the positive. But for us we found the hotel worked despite being tired etc and extremely pleasant staff who were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast is always rolls juice jam and cheese with some ham.Tea or coffee But its so close to everything from cable car to s/mkt and buses a must to use to get around the island on a budget. Recommend the Rodeste bus 113 that takes up the whole day to Porto Morinz. Opan bakery chain is clean and good value for cakes and coffee. If you are on a budget start with this hotel and then compare what is on offer re location etc. The bus companies can confuse but nearly all start on the promenade road The sea side of the road buses head east On the other side by the shops etc they head west. More stops near cable car cabin. Jardim Botanical gdns was a disapointment but may improve with weather etc Pelheiro gardens very good. Bus 36 100 metres from hotel up the hill as is the aerobus stop If using the aero bus make sure you keep a look out as driver might pass you by!!!

Room Tip: our room was no 33 has a balcony with table and 2 chairs overlooks a busy dual carriage way but nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.7 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#85 of 88 in Funchal
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Zarco
Residencial Zarco
#83 of 88 in Funchal
58 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ribeira Brava
102 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#50 of 88 in Funchal
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Parque

Address: Rua Campo da Barca 15, Funchal, Madeira 9060-040, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residencial Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Parque Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing