We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely traditional Madeira restaurant”
Review of O Jango

O Jango
Ranked #216 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely traditional Madeira restaurant”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had a delicious meal with family. Service was excellent . Restaurant situated on a busy and lively street.recommend the octopus dish.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    211
    147
    65
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worst Meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was the worst meal we had in Funchal, my husband complained about his meal of pork as he said it was like leather, he sent the dish back he received no apology or a replacement meal and was charged in full needless to say did not visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good restaurant with fresh fish. We tried the espada fish and it was very well cooked,served with potatoes and vegetables.friendly staff and good wine.

Helpful?
2 Thank swacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never again”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The food was horrible, not tasty and not well cooked. The service is slow and the place is narrow and noisy. It is more expensive than other restaurant in Funchal and the food is worst
Don't go there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lurossi210286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Superb garlic bread”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had lunch here and were wowed by the best garlic bread we have ever tasted. It was served on the round traditional Madeiran bread and was delicious. We followed this with the traditional hanging skewered meat . I had chicken, my husband had the fillet beef and the portions were huge and tasty. For lunch one skewer between us would have been fine. It was served with chips and a selection of veg. The veg was not great but the rest of the meal was brilliant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Jango also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Jango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing