We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and value”
other travellers have booked this property
Studio Bedroom and balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio Bedroom and balcony
Studio Balcony sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Studio Bedroom and balcony
Studio
Balcony sea view
Pool
Decoration Detail
Private Bathroom
Kitchenet
Studio
Balcony View
Pool
Front of property
Decoration Detail
Living Room
Living room
Flowers of Madeira Island
Fireworks in Funchal
Loby
Patio
Golf
Diving in Madeira Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Steph M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and value ”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Vila Toca is in a fantastic location, a stone throw away from the hotel zone in which you would pay near 3x the price. A short walk to Funchal centre one way and a short walk to the lido the other way.

We got the aeroporto bus straight after our flight from directly outside the terminal this was very cheap (€8) and easy, the bus stops less than 5 minutes away from the hotel.
The road is extremely steep on the way to the hotel- and i wouldn’t recommend it to the elderly or anyone who would struggle going uphill. I do believe you can catch a bus into the centre from outside the hotel instead though

I was extremely impressed by Vila Toca, the facilities are brilliant, the bed was large and comfy, and a huge shower. The room all came with a lovely sea view balcony. When arriving, you will find the key in the apartment door, we just left it the same way when leaving again.
A lot of reviews have said about the road noise however because of we was expecting to be a lot worse then what it really was, you are very close to the capital and the hotel is on a main road. Considering this the road noise really wasn’t that bad, we could barely hear anything when the doors were closed. Other reviews have also mentioned Aircon, it is common for Madeira hotels not to have aircon, instead we had a fan which worked perfectly well, and kept this on during the hot nights.
We did have a small problem with ants, however, it is a self-catering apartment and the temperatures are high and humid so around food or drink this cannot be helped, we simply kept an eye and kept any food or drink tied up in bags.

The little pool outside was brilliant, good size to just cool down and relax.

Overall, Vila Toca is extremely good value, would very highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for the stay and review !

Best Regards,

Bruno Sousa
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertwE7...
1 review
“Ants”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were disappointed with our stay at Villa Toca. Our room was on the ground floor with a view of the back wall of the swimming pool, no balcony or sea view. The main problem was an infestation of ants. They marched across the wall of our room, over the crockery, cooker, work surface and into the microwave. We asked to be moved (we were there for 15 days) but apparently this wasn't possible. Although there was a high turnover of guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Hello Robert, Thank you for your stay and review. The studio that you did reserved is the standard studio without balcony with sea view. This room as access to the patio, and in fact there was some ants in the flowers that we know identify and are now in treatment (we appologise for that !). We could not move you because we were completely full since February/2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLid...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I was very lucky I found and booked Vila Toca in Funchal. I booked directly with Bruno and this worked out very well for me. The communication with him was excellent as I emailed him back and forth with lots of questions and he always replied and was very patient. I booked two balcony sea view rooms, one for 8 nights and another for my cousin for 3 nights. The location is perfect for visiting the island, very close to cafes and supermarkets. The cleaning is impeccable. The facilities are also of a good standard, everything worked. You can walk to the forum madeira shopping mall in about 40 minutes, it is a lovely walk as you have the view of the sea on your left. You can walk down to the old town in about 20 minutes. There are lots of places nearby where you can book on to an island tour and for advice on visiting the island. Thank you Bruno, I was very happy with my stay and would highly recommend Vila Toca to others. Great value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you very much Milie ! I am glad you enjoy your stay at Vila Toca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem Place”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just stayed at the Vila Toca in Funchal . The studio's are very clean and maintained to a very high standard . The maid (sorry I forgot her name ) keeps the room's and the whole Vila spotless . Huge very comfy bed , good size shower and a decent balcony .
The property is up a short but steepish hill and is close to a good range of restaurant's . The old town is about 10 minute walk away .
We came here for a walking holiday and the Vila Toca was the perfect base for us . Well done Vila Toca .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapun
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife was hospitalised in Funchal and I needed accommodation close to the island's hospital. Little did I know when I found Vila Tor what a gem I had found.
The unit was ideal for what I needed, a larger than normal hotel room with kitchenette and balcony overlooking the pool.
Maria, who looks after the property, was wonderful. She helped me out and when my wife was discharged from hospital did all the washing and folded it beautifully.
The room was spotlessly clean.
There are supermarkets, bakeries and restaurants only ten minutes walk from the apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Friendly welcome. Good location, about 15 minutes walk to the centre. Spacious room with a huge, comfortable bed, balcony, small kitchen and stylish bathroom.Room not cleaned each day. Not a problem for a short stay but maybe an issue for a longer stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“super clean, great location and balcony just right”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

the apartment is Ideal. It is a very new and very clean. Kitchenette just right. Balcony and view great. Perfect apartment for two. Definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;