We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cost effective solution in the centre of funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Mirasol
Ranked #15 of 32 Funchal B&B and Inns
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“cost effective solution in the centre of funchal”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I was in Funchal for a couple of days with my family on our way to Porto Santo. we found this Pensao on the net and decided to try it . It was a happy choice. the hotel is family run, the personnel are very friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, in fact we could walk to the centre for dinner and along the harbour. the rooms are a bit small and basic but very clean.So is the bathroom. The price was very reasonable: we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viviana754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    42
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very good location close to the old town part of Funchal and 3 minute walk to the Avenido do Mar. Very helpfull with booking tours and providing transport to thr airport. The b&b is nothing fancy but i thourougly liked my stay and would come again. Liked the fresh rolls in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I booked this bed & breakfast based on excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor. But was extremely disappointed with the experience. It's like Fawlty Towers without the laughs. I could see that the hosts were trying really hard to be hospitable – they just didn't succeed. The room was tiny, not enough room to swing a kitten. As for the common space: Apart from a few chairs on a landing in the middle of the b&b there is no place to 'hang out' and meet other guests. The breakfast was awful, unless you like instant coffee, juice that has never seen a piece of fruit, sliced bread out of a packet and dried eggs. The b&b is on a busy and noisy road, so my sleep was poor throughout the stay. But probably worst of all: I felt controlled by the hosts, in a claustrophobic kind of way. I am an independent traveler and they wanted to interfere at every turn. Ok ok... it is central, and it is cheap. Yet my advice is: don't go if you have a few more euros to spend for something worthwhile!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulumacvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is an awesome place, friendly service, minutes from downtown. However, if you're renting a car, there is no parking for several blocks, the closest street parking is close but be prepared to wake up to insert a coin before 8 am every day. There is local auto park hopefully they can work out a deal to park there, I wouldn't mind paying extra because the hotel was well worth it and very well priced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bansheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I can't speak too highly of this bed and breakfast. Had been staying for the previous 6 nights in one of the most expensive hotels on the island so was expecting a bit of a `come down'. Our en suite room on the ground floor of a house on a quieter side street oposite the main Pensao was large and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was basic but personally served and more than adequate. The father and son team were kindness itself, even driving us (myself and wife) to the bus stop on the morning of our departure. The location is also brilliant as it is very near restaurants (I recommend Embairador Madeirense on Rua dos Barreiros for atmosphere, value for money and lack of touts outside).as well as close to the town centre, bus station, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Upon arrival to the Pensao Mirasol we were greated warmly by Mr. Horta. Mr. Horta was very helpful with offering us information about the hotel and the Island. He also served a hearty breakfast of eggs, bread, jam and coffee. The hotel was a little outdated but with old world charm. It was located on a busy street without sidwalks but within minutes of many restaurants and the center of town. Our room had a nice balcony, television and a decent sized bathroom. The room was cold at night but there were extra blankets in the closet.
Although a 24 hour pensao, I felt as though I was coming in after curfew in the evenings. We would have a few drinks at night and began to feel a bit guilty for arriving late and waking up the night duty person to open the door and give us our key.
Pensao Mirasol was a great value and I would recommend the Pensao Mirasol to persons looking for a quiet and peaceful visit to Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay in a great location, with a clean, tidy room, friendly and helpful hosts, great value for money, then come to this b&b. Ok it doesn't have a swimming pool, room safe or tea-making facilities but if, like us, you are going to be out and about all day and really just want somewhere to sleep then this is ideal. Breakfast is a little basic and a bit more choice would not go amiss - perhaps croisssants, more cereals, more choice of toppings for toast, sweet and savoury - but we had enough to eat. The Horta family are very friendly and so helpful - if you need any information you only have to ask. We had a small balcony with lovely views of the sea and the mountains. All in all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#59 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#55 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Mirasol

Property: Pensao Residencial Mirasol
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 67, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensao Residencial Mirasol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pensao Residencial Mirasol is a traditional Madeiran guest house set in the Old Town of Funchal and is situated near almost everything. Each room is well furnished and consists of private bathroom, cable television, telephone and balcony with sea and mountain view. Whether you come to Madeira for the spectacular flowers, the famous levada walks or simply to relax strolling around in the sun - the Pensao Residencial Mirasol is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensao Residencial Mirasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Hotel Funchal
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing