We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensao Residencial Mirasol
Nearby Hotels
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$292
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
52
47
11
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
47
11
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelpful familymercado dos lavradoresbus stationnice place to stayold towncable caryogurtsmall balconyhortapensionmadeiracarnivalponchaseabathmonte
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked this family-run guesthouse after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we weren't misled. The house was originally owned by a local dignitary, and has a lot of charm, with solid wooden banisters, tall ceilings and a well-proportioned dining-room. The family are all very pleasant, and speak several languages between them. This was handy, because we were with my son, his German girlfriend, and her Polish mother, who spoke no English!
Mrs. Horta does the beautiful fresh flower arrangements, and the room towels were changed frequently. We had asked for a quiet room, which we had, but it was up 2 flights of stairs, and was very small for 2 people with cases! However, there was a little balcony with good views of the mountains, and to the side we could see the bay, and visiting cruise-liners.
There was no hairdryer in the room, or tea/coffee facilities, but considering the price (£35 euros per night for two people) we didn't expect them.
Breakfast was very good: eggs cooked however you want them, cereal, yoghurt, rolls or toast, cheese and jam, and as much tea or coffee as you want.
The rooms across the street where my son etc. stayed were newer and larger, but there is a rather excitable dog next door, which barked whenever anyone went in or out, so as we wanted peace & quiet, I think we were better off in the main building.
The only improvement I can think of would be some heating in the rooms. We were there at the end of Jan/early Feb so it was quite chilly at night, and although there was extra bedding, it was was very heavy! The bathroom was small, but had a loo, bidet & quite a good shower, all very clean.
The house is within easy walking distance of many small restaurants and the interesting cobbled streets of the old town (avoid high heels!). We found a great little bar in the Rua Santa Maria where you could buy vegetables, then sit down & have a Poncha (local drink) or beer & snack very cheaply. For an evening meal, we loved Le Jardin, where they specialise in flambée, or "O Velhinho", where they do the local speciality of scabbard fish with banana, among many other reasonably-oriced dishes.
The Fado restaurants (where they have traditional musicians & singers) are more expensive: we got stung for the wine in one place, so ask the price beforehand if you're on a budget. On the other hand, it's nice to have some entertainment, & the meals were still good value.
We were glad to be staying in the old town, rather than the hotel zone on the other side of the bay, which looked like blocks of flats, with no local features or atmosphere. We could walk to the main promenade, cable car, market & bus stops within 10 minutes so it was very handy.
Mr. Horta's son Umberto even gave our son's party a lift to the airport, and Mr. Horta kindly drove us to the bus stop to catch the Express bus to the airport, as we had heavy luggage.
I would certainly stay there again, but maybe take a hot water bottle if you go in winter!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Own2feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Pensão Mirasol is good if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and visit the center. The owner is very friendly and caring for his clients. The breakfast is ok and included in the price.
The rooms are ok, although old fashion in the furniture. It had a very nice balcony with a great view! One bad point: the bathroom had no water pressure.

If you are a young traveller solo or with your boyfriend/girlfriend I would not recommend this place. It is very oriented for families or older travellers and I personally enjoy more independence in my travels (for example you have to leave the keys at the reception each time you leave, after 7 pm you have to ring the door to come in, etc). Also there is no parking place so if you rent a car you will have some difficulty with that.

Nevertheless if you looking for a familiar place, cheap, clean and next to the center this is certainly a very good option!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mi_coelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This small family hotel is an ideal base for hikers as it's close to different bus stops and the funicular, plus there's a car rental just two houses away. The hotel doesn't have any of the big resort amenities for beach vacation (i.e pool, sea access), but provides a home like feeling due to its smallness and super friendly service. You'll also get advice on hiking trails and transportation or basically anything at all on the island.
The rooms are clean and bright, most of them also have balconies. Our room was on street side and there was some traffic noise, but it wasn't disturbing enough to change the sea view for the more quieter mountain view. Though the latter was spectacular at night!
Breakfast is simple (might get boring after a week), but the bread is always fresh and for dinner the best restaurants in town are just around the corner.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank at0mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

If you want good value accommodation, ensuite rooms and breakfast, this Guest House will provide you with that. If you want transfers from and to the airport included, if you stay for seven days or more, this Guest House will provide you with that. If you want a friendly host, who is more helpful and knowledgable than the local Tourist Office, this Guest House will provide you with that. If you want to be located within five to ten minutes walk from the Old Town restaurants, one of the main bus terminals, the Cable Car station, the Mercado dos Lavradores (Market) and the sea front this Guest House will provide you with that.

We cannot recommend this Guest House highly enough. From the initial email communication, to the departure from the airport we were made to feel part of the family.

Madeira is such a friendly and safe place to travel to and the Horta family topped off our experience and we'll no doubt return.

A few tips:

Watch out for some restaurants supplying and charging for garlic bread you haven't been offered or requested - tasty but not always worth the possible €3.50 extra on the bill!

Don't be put off by restaurants plying for your business - they're always friendly and won't be upset if you suggest you'll eat with them another time.

If you're travelling around the island, don't expect maps claiming to be up to date, to be so - we had a detailed 2009 edition with several (main) roads missing - even though they'd clearly been there for several years!

Use the buses (but get the timetables!), as they're a great and economical way of travelling around the island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorquayPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I realy recommend Penaso Mirasol! I spent 10 days here in October 2009. I rented an apartment with a kitchen, because I was in Madeira with my husband and sister. The apartment was on the ground floor and had a separate entrance. In the first foor were apartaments too whit a separate entrance. Our apartment had two bedrooms with bathroom, living room, kitchen and terraces. Together with my husband we had a double room with double bed and bathroom, and my sister had a double room with single beds (total for 2 persons) with private bathroom but next room. Our rooms had a big closet, commode, and television with international channels (unfortunately without the Polish language). The bathrooms had a bath with curtain, toilet and wash basin, towels (often changed), and additionally our bathroom had a bidet. The living room had a couch and TV. The kitchen was fully equipped-there were: dishes, fridge, dishwasher, toaster and microwave. Directly from the kitchen we could go to the terraces. One was on the ground floor and was equipped with table and chairs, and the second on the floor where we could see the mountains. The apartment was cleaned everyday. There is also no problem with parking because the is a garage whit place for 3 cars.
Penaso Mirasol is located near the center of the old city (Zona Velha), where are many good restaurants and near to the beach complex Barreirinha. A large supermarket is just 5 minutes walk, near Mercado dos Lavradores.
The owners from Penaso Mirasol are very friendly and always available to help. They talk English, like everywhere on the island.
The next time when we will be in Funchal we will book at The Pensao Mirasol for sure!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alejubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews