We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Tapas menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marisqueira Tropicana

Marisqueira Tropicana
Reserve with
Marisqueira Tropicana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 598 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the hearth of Funchal old town, is recognized by the freshness of the fish and seafood beautifully made and for its friendly service.
York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice Tapas menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were attracted by the menu which included 3 set Tapas menus and we wanted something a little different from the rather samey stuff on offer from the other restaurants in the vicinity. We had the meat tapas and the seafood tapas menus and shared them between us. Some items we liked better than others but the on the whole very much enjoyed the seafood, slightly less the meaty options. Tried a bottle of white wine, very acceptable, plus shared a desert. Overall happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    76
    28
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

we tried other tourist menu options at other local restaurants in the old town and all were good but restaurant tropicana was terrible - all we can say is dont eat here - pay a few more euros and you will get a far better meal in the old town. The worst meal of our holiday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dadminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice food at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This restaurant in the old part of Funchal doesn't look of much, and only one chinese waiter speaks reasonably well English, but 10.90 Euro for a very nice 3 course set menu - including an excellent fish soup, a choise of the "national dishes": the deep sea Espada fish, or the Espetada meat on the stick, and a nice fresh fruit dessert - definitely makes it worth a visit. We came back twice in a week :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing despite good mussels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The mussels starter was excellent. Lovely unusual sauce. Sadly the main and other starter we had were disappointingly bland and the fish unexciting despite its close proximity to the fish market.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamplemoussepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good as anywhere to eat in Funchal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our first trip to Funchal for 8 years. Not a lot has changed except that there are more big hotels, more restaurants and the existing ones from 8 years ago have more tables. This one is in the old town and has plenty of competition. The food is good, the service is good and the staff friendly. No complaints.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott_19460828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marisqueira Tropicana also viewed

 

Been to Marisqueira Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing