We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Hotel Escola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Escola
Ranked #6 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel in November 2012 with my wife and 2 friends. The hotel was superb in every respect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless. The food was I believe untouchable in quantity, and quality, especially the suggestions for the evening meal which was three courses, coffee, and drinks included for 14.50 Euros. The service was excellent. What I didn't know was the hotel is attached to a catering school whose students learn their skills and use them in this Hotel under the supervision of Instuctors you would never know. I would say that this is the best hotel I have stayed in and I have been in hotels all around the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view with balconies. I didn,t use the pool or sauna but saw them cleaned daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We've just come back from Funchal where we were staying in this nice mini-hotel. Very helpful and polite staff, tasty breakfast (though it was always the same, which can be named as the only but absolutely not that awful "shortcoming" in my opinion:-)); clean and rather spacious rooms, and it was also nice to dip into a swimming pool in hot afternoons.
Though the hotel was a bit away from the center, it didn't bother us too much cause we rented a car for the most of the time there. On the contrary, we enjoyed the calm district at the distance from the noisy Estada Monumental.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barsukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week in late May this year. I found it as a very pleasant place for stay and I would be happy to come back. There were no disadvantages or weak points for me in the hotel but tastes differ, and this place is ideal for somebody who do not need a loud nightlife but in a few steps. The main words for this place are: quiet, clean, friendly, comfortable.
The main features are:
- rooms: light, comfortable, well equipped, with great view to flank of hills and ocean. In you stay in spring there is a big blooming violet tree in front of the balconies, it looks beautiful against the background of ocean. Towels are changed daily.
- service: excellent, helpful, obliging english speaking staff at the reception and in restaurant, some maids are not english speaking but they are very polite.
- location: in Sao Martinho which seems to be a little bit away from the central parts of Funchal. If you take a car in the airport, and it's your first trip to Madeira, you will surely need navigator to reach the place. A walk to Parque Santa Catarina (near the quay) takes 30-40 minutes, a drive take 5 minute. There are only two or three local bars and small restaurants near the hotel but being on your way to Funchal (Estrada Monumental) you find a huge variety of different restaurants and bars in different styles: Italian, Indian, Chinese and local cuisine.
- meal: breakfast are served in the hotel, and include different cheese plate, omelette, meat (ham, sausages), yoghurts, pastry, croissants, seasonal fruits, coffee and tea, milk, juices etc. The range of meal is quite the same but you have a good choice and the quality is perfect. Lunches and dinners are served too for extra charge, but I did not like them here, and they were quite expensive.
- wi-fi is available only in public areas, the quality is good but you need to leave your room to surf the net or communicate via skype. For me it was not a problem because the hotel is not too big and overcrowded.
- outdoor amenities: small pool and some place to get tan. The water was chlorinated. But it takes 25-30 minutes to drive to Porto Moniz (to the opposite side of the island) to swim in the ocean water pool. So it's not a problem.
Summary: the hotel is a nice place for unhurried travelers, who esteem comfort and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria_923838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just come back from a weeks holiday, bed and breakfast. We also ate in the restaraunt in the evening. This hotel is very clean, and comfortable.The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. Their English is also good. The breakfast will certaily set you up for the day. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The same can be said for the gardens and lounge areas. The beds and towels are changed daily. I would recommend this as a good base to travel out from. It is a fair walk from the center of Funchal, so would recommend taking the bus. There is a stop at the bottom of the hill. The area is much quieter than the town only a few local bars and restraunts. Our first visit to Madeira has been very pleasant, hope to be back to explore more of the island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 745Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. It was exceptionally clean, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was large with a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea and sunset. The beds were comfortable, towels changes daily, bathrobes and daily room service. The breakfast was delightful. The pool and gardens were well manicured. Although a little away from the centre of Funchal and typically for Madeira located up a steep hill you are close to public transport and can walk to good bars and restaurants. There are only 20 rooms in the hotel do the service feels very personal. For three times the price you will not find a better hotel in Madeira.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mrsb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 weeks half board holiday at this hotel. On arrival we were immediately struck by the high command of English enjoyed by all the staff.Without exception they were warm & friendly, with nothing too much trouble.
The rooms were well equipped & serviced to a high standard daily. On the food front the quality was variable,depending on which chef was on duty. It varied from excellent to fair.
Despite this the waiting staff were superb & looked after our every need. Breakfast was quite adequate although not very varied.Boiled eggs seemed to be a real problem for the chef to get right so in the end we gave up on them.
There was a serious lack of residents for most of our 2 weeks stay which was a pity, as the facilities with the outdoor pool & Sauna are good.
We had a lovely sea view room & the hotel is situated high above the Western suburbs of Funchal. We used the local bus to go to town,whose terminus is 5 minutes away down the hill & this proved very reliable & competitive. We took advantage of the multi-jourey tickets offered by the bus company. A very happy first visit to Madeira. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms are sea view. Request one! Go for B & B and order Dinner when you want it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolianexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just returned from a week in this hotel. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Had a couple of problems with the room but fixed immediately. Food is very good, the breakfast will set you up for the day. Beds and towels changed daily.

A couple of the staff deserve a mention Sonia and Sylvia in reception ( shame they don't give the staff name badges so we could complement more staff, especially the waitresses).

No fault of the hotel or staff but the hotel location for this time of year is not wonderful. They are about 15 minutes bus ride from Funchal, but there only a couple of bars and nothing else within easy walking distance of the hotel. If you are looking for a very quiet time then this is the place. I am sure in the height of season being outside Funchal would be great but in January the location was just a little too quiet, but this does not detract from a very good hotel.

Couple of tips for Funchal. Get the hop on hop off bus to get and idea of where you are and what to see. Good value at 12 euros, we were allowed to use it for two days instead of just one. See the botanical gardens well worth the cable fare and walking. Look out the three course set menus in restaurants near the English Church really good food for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be a sea view so no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dardoowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#23 of 88 in Funchal
596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escola

Address: Praca A.C.I.F. Camara Comercio e Industria da Madeira 9000 246 | Sao Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: £43 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escola 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Escola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Escola Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing