We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
wales
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“lovely island”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

this was a cheapish deal from travelzoo and it was so worth the money. Breakfast is brilliant dinner ok to good . The hotel is lovely clean and pretty. Not the ritz but a very good 4 out of five

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    554
    165
    36
    13
See reviews for
240
1,128
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berks.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Booked this hotel through a 'deal' offered by Travelzoo. It is branded as a 5 star, but I would call it at best a 3 star superior.

We were on a half board basis, and had a breakfast and evening meal buffet each day. The food was average, every evening meal consisted of a bland meat dish or a bland fish dish - it did seem that the chef ran out of ideas towards the end of each week.

Breakfast was slightly better, I can recommend the omelettes! The Madeiran fare offered each morning was certainly good to see.

I noticed an earlier reviewer was able to swap their evening meal for lunch, and I must add that this option was not offered to us during our stay. If you are on a half board basis, I would make enquiries with reception.

The hotel was I believe supposed to have entertainment each night - there didn't appear to be too much variety! We arrived on a wednesday, and so saw a very good Madeiran folk group that night, then we were provided with a Parrott show on the thursday night and then each subsequent night the only 'entertainment' was the resident duo MMM. Ok, maybe for one night, but 5 nights was stretching it!!

I would also warn anyone about the rather bad Health and Safety aspects of the Hotel. All the units in our room (bedside table, desks, chairs etc) had extremely sharp corners. My husband cut his leg very badly on our first night, fortunately reception provided a first aid box - however it was not a great start to our holiday. There is also no bath mat provided, so beware of very sharp edges on the units inside the bathroom.

Our experience of the staff was fine, particuarly those on the Reception desk who were always pleasant and helpful.

The beds were ok, but I found the pillows to be extremely soft - ending up with neck ache for most of the holiday.

Unlikely that I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emsie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Great hotel but spoilt by awful food and poor service in restaurant dirty plates left on tables and difficult to get tea and coffee refills

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is lovely and it's far better than most of the 5 star hotels in this area, we have just come back from Maderia and Maderia is beautiful and a very lovely place to visit. The hotel is one of the best and you will not be dissapointed with the hotel, the service is brilliant and it's the little touches like the free turn down bed service with treats and how well they clean your room ...the only thing I would say is the hotel breakfast it not amazing but it is ok and the evening meals could have been better rather than just buffet every night. If your a young couple as we are 25-30 then you may find the much older couples who stay dress very smart while dinning , The in door pool is amazing you must try it, no one seems to use it but it is a must !!!! we both fell ill while we were away but not sure where we picked up the bug from cannot say really. All in all this hotel will not let you down and if your west facing room is not even a sea view one do not worry you will have a great view...the italian restaurant at the bottom of the hill from the hotel is lovely as well ....honest review hope this helps

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bisheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomshill
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Looked to have a relaxing break in june but ended up with building works ongoing in the adjacent hotel.The hotel is not 5 star ,food is poor ,entertainment is poor and there is no atmosphere.The staff are pleasant but a little bit laxed .On the plus side the weather was good and they have a fantastic bus service .Not impressed with the holiday or the tour operator

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avlindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed for 1 week which we felt was long enough. The hotel "on the whole" was very nice, our room was fantastic, thanks to an upgrade, overlooked the pool and had seaview. Rooms are very modern, bathroom was the nicest i've seen in a hotel. Cleaners did a great job and generally the hotel was very clean.
We stayed on a halfboard basis but wished we hadn't. The breakfast was faultless, everything you would want, BUT evening meals were very dull and tasteless, this was echoed amoungst some of the other guests that we spoke to, one of which was a vegetarian and her choice was minimal. I would definately recommend bed and breakfast as there are many good restaurants close by. (if you enjoy a good curry, the Bombay Palace nearby is excellent). Half way through the week, we found out you could swap your evening meal for lunch instead which was far superior.My only other complaint about the restaurant was that the staff struggled to keep on top of clearing away the dirty dishes.
Of course there was the usual problem with towels placed on the sunbeds early in the morning, something I object to strongly but if you can't beat them, join them!. If you want the best beds overlooking the sea, you need to be an earlybird!.
Occassionally there was live music in the bar which we ended up complaining about because it was too loud and actually drove people away due to not being able to hear eachother speak.
Unfortunately, when we were there, the hotel next door was being refurbished and the noise was terrible by the pool, so bring your Ipods!.
Strong word of advice about the local taxi drivers : they rip the tourists off!, we had an altercation with one taxi driver who agreed to take us back to the hotel from the Old town for a cost of 6 euros, he initially wanted 10 but we haggled, as we understood this is what you do. When we arrived at the hotel, we gave him a 10 euro note, he gave us the change which turned out to be 2 x 50 cents. to cut a long story short, luckily the Police got involved and the taxi driver was told to give us the correct change. The Policeman told us that they CANNOT haggle and they MUST keep their meters switched on at all times otherwise they are liable to a heavy fine and their licence will be evoked. Unbeknown to us, the meter reading read 5 euros for our trip! Nobody knows this, you will be "had" everywhere you go in a taxi so make sure their meters are ON!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutchnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
258 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for a week in June. The hotel is very attractive in design and our room satisfactory. Unfortunately on our side of the hotel there was a full-on refurbishment of the neighbouring old Tivoli and the noise and disturbance were horrific as this started early morning and went on till around 8 pm with rubble being sent down chutes and general racket. We were unable to sit on our balcony as there was little privacy owing to the many workmen opposite. This noise could also be heard when at the pool. The hotel said they were unaware of the commencement of work?? and we were eventually given a room change on our 4th night after persevering somewhat. Our room on the other side of the hotel was much better but the anticipated move delayed our relaxation and enjoyment of our holiday a little.

Good things about this hotel were: the staff were pleasant and courteous; breakfasts were good, rooms were clean, excellent indoor pool and free internet. An attractive hotel in the hotel zone of Funchal.

Not so good: erratic housekeeping (waited 3 days for robes and slippers) and poor replenishment of toiletries and courtesy tray items (bring your own tea bags if you love tea!); expensive drinks - small water for 3 Euros at dinner! - use the happy hour); meals were buffet (the other hotel restaurant did not seem to be functioning as it was too expensive) and food at dinner was fine but average for a 5-star; no courtesy bus to town; entertainment poor; pressure on sunbeds (a 'towels on beds early 'hotel - this should not be necessary) - the pool attendant was very good but worked a long hard day.

We stay often at 5* hotels and this has not yet reached that standard. We did pay a supplement for a side sea view through Hotelsbooked which is a bit of a con as all rooms at the hotel appear to have a side sea or full sea view. So - one to note!
We have been to Madeira many times before but would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing