We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
kildare
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for a break”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for a week. THe room was large with loads of space. The room had a seaview with table and chairs on the balcony. There was complimentary tea and coffee. The buffet breakfast was out of this world. With choices to suit everyone. There was a choice to have breakfast on the terrace or inside. There were a number of areas for people to sunbathe. The pool was clean and more than an enough sunbeds for everyone. And sunbeds were available anytime through the day. There were also sufficient poolside towels. We dined at the evening buffet one night price which included a bottle of wine. It was very good and again with a great selection of foods. The hotel was kept immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It is very quiet and if you are after a full on night of partying this is not the hotel for you. Alternatively if you want quietness ,good food and service then go no further. The hotel does lay on entertainment at night but so few attend it must be embarrasiung for the performers who do their best.
We would stay here again. There is a walk to the next village Camera de Lobos which will work up an appetite.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annlKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities and hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    572
    169
    39
    14
See reviews for
255
1,163
46
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing week at the Melia Madeira Mare. It really was a beautiful hotel, everything from the rooms to the gorgeous fragrance infused reception - where you would then be greeted by the friendliest of staff.
I went with a friend after we got a great deal from Travelzoo and I have to say we weren't disappointed.
Our bedroom was lovely, pool area never over populated and all within striking distance of the Atlantic crashing against the rocks below!
I do think the food choice was slightly limited and I would not have considered it 5* but it was lovely all the same. My friend and I ate out a few evenings at a wine bar which is just over the road from the hotel, where we were looked after by a wonderful waiter called Orlando! There is also another great restaurant called Il Basilico, which serves delicious food.

Overall, I would certainly recommend the hotel, particularly to couples searching for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charl2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Many thanks for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated and serve to assist us in our constant efforts to meet with our guest expectations. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham - North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

I seem to be out on a limb here compared to other reviewers but this is my view!
Great modern hotel with fantastic spacious bedrooms and great bathrooms including bath and shower and twin his n hers sinks
Location is out of Funchal but still a nice 30 minute walk in the evenings - also a 15 minute walk to the new forum shopping centre in the other direction. staff excellent - friendly and very helpful both on the reception and waiters/bar staff etc.
Where the hotel falls down in my opinion are the dining arrarrangements/food and entertainment. One man playing a keyboard every night is poor for a 5 star hotel especially as most entertainment tends to centre on the hotels anyway and if you don't want to travel to Funchal in the evening then your choice is limited. Would have been great to stay in the hotel some evenings for different/better entertainment.
Food and dining arrangements I also have an issue with - food varied but quality also varied - same hot choices for breakfast every day - buffet service has the feel of a staff canteen - I'm not saying It's terrible just not what I expected from a 5 star hotel - was told of other guests who ate out in the evening despite being on half board - I know how they felt! Been in other 4 and 5 star hotels that include an element of waiter service and generally some themed dining evenings - no themes here except more of the same I.e. the whole thing tends to get boring and repetative after a few days.
Overall the hotel is good and with better entertainment and dining could be outstanding but in my opinion doesnt currently deserve the very high ratings it receives for the reasons I have given.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikethebikeWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously enhance and improve our service delivery.

We regret that not all of our services met with your expectations during your recent stay with us and can assure you that your comments are being addressed.

We trust this has not deterred you from returning to our lovely island and to our Resort and hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from a week's hols at this hotel which was fantastic. Hotel was lovely, food brilliant with extensive choice, staff lovely - really could not fault it. Went with travelzoo and such a bargain - will definitely be returning!

Thankyou so much for a lovely holiday

Cathy Scott

Room Tip: Sea view side room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathySBasildonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review.. we're pleased our services and facilities met with your approval and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Couple (61 / 57)


Have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Melia Madeira Hotel & wish to add a review of the experience for those, who like ourselves still like to browse before buying.
The holiday almost never happened. My wife, several weeks beforehand, suffered a fall with resulting severe ligament / ankle damage, but from the medical advice received that she should be fit & well enough to go we decided not to cancel. As time lapsed, the prospect loomed of a poolside week "chillax".
First experience was getting there - flying with Jet-2. Silver star award J-2!! A call to their office a week before flying regarding my wife's limited mobility - led to speedy w/chair provision upon check-in, to be whisked away for emplane at Manchester & deplane in Madeira. Gold Star award would have been due, had the return trip been anything like as efficient - but perhaps Madeira personnel lack a little there.

To the hotel Melia Madeira Mare! - We contemplated hiring a w/chair in the resort so that perhaps some excursion trips could be done. At check-in - I enquired whether they knew of a supplier of w/chairs for hire. The desk receptionist politely smiled, then immediately left me to go into the back office (to my cynical thinking, at best, to make further enquiries of other hotel staff, before the polite - sorry - no information) - but no - out she promptly came pushing one of the hotel's own w/chairs and with that smile again, said "complementary" use with no restrictions on its use. Wow! - they deserve BIG brownie points for that!! Almost lost my cynical head there!! -but wait! Next question - as is probably common at all check-in's and where many hotels get their add-ons!. Is there a room safe available? & how much? There's that smile again! - yes room safe is available - and that too is complimentary! - Wow! 2 for 2!
OK - room 411 allocated - we entered and I now saw the smile was on my wife's face!! - a real stickler for cleanliness, good room planning & amenities. Immediate approval. I can now relax now - smile is on my face!!! Balcony had nice ocean side view - exactly as paid for, but next time think asking for 417 & upwards would be almost as good as the full "ocean" view - but hey! - guess I being too picky now!
So, mobility restored somewhat - forced poolside stay averted, valuables etc safely stowed & home for the next week has my wife's approval - where's the bar?. Ouch! £4 (500mls) - lucky Euro 2012 on - 40% discount during football! - & didn't we all enjoy the extra time! - - funny how that stopped when Spain beat Portugal.
Daily room cleaning, clean towels and evening bed "turning-down" with chocolates left - much appreciated
Hotel is only 3-years old - the last time I was in Madeira - its location was a banana plantation - so I guess the overall condition is in keeping with its relatively young age. The place was spotless, amenities good & the staff always friendly & courteous. Saw many trainees working hard for the coveted black staff shirt.
Poolside experience was good. All locations for sunbeds & Parasols are on a par. The hotel did not appear very full - so no problems experienced in getting the lie-back requirements - but might be a little daunting at full peak periods.
Stayed half-board. Breakfast provided many options. Evening dinner - think fair to say have had better dinner choices elsewhere, but overall - food was not dissapointing.
However, it was at meal-times that we had our only negative experiences.
Firmly believe in people's choice - and do not condemn smokers for that choice - but when my choice for smoke free enviroment is taken away - then I do object. The weather was hot - so outside terrace dining was the order for a very many guests. Too many times over the week - to settle down to eat on the terrace - only to have guests sit at closeby tables "lighting up" - or having finished their meals - then "light-up" with no consideration to other guest. So infuriating, yet simply resolved by the hotel if they care to designate "Smoking - non-smoking" terrace areas. Restores choice!!

I guess the best concluding comment to make - is that the Melai Madeira Mare hotel is certainly a re-visit category hotel. (Hopefully by then the smoking issue will be resolved & another excellent stay can be had).

Prospective guests!! - dont dally! - book and enjoy!"

Room Tip: 4th floor & upwards & higher odd numbers - gets the better side-ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you ever so much for your in depth and lengthy review posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
Firstly we do sincerely hope your spouse is feeling much better and well on her way to a full recovery !
We're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate both your positive comments as well as the constructive criticism which serve to assist us in further enhancing our services with a view to achieving complete guest satisfaction.
We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the very near future !.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My friend and I have just returned from 1 week HB courtesy of a great Travelzoo deal. The hotel is less than 4 years old and really gives a 5* holiday as per the brochure (which isn't always what you get!). Rooms were spacious and modern; the beds and pillows very comfortable and the food was buffet-style and excellent. The island is lovely and you can get about using the Hop-on/off open-top buses for 12 euros for 2 days travel.

Room Tip: Seaview better in rooms overlooking pool rather than the side road where you CAN see the sea but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously enhance on our service delivery and we're delighted that we met with your expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went here last year, booked partial sea view, room tiny and overlooked and hotel next door had building work going on. But we checked out a suite and paid £300 to upgrade for 10 nights. Suite was amazing, lounge kitchen, bedroom and bathroom - perfect.

Hotel was immaculately clean and the treatment rooms were my favourite. I had 2 massages and they were brilliant.

Don't normally eat in or around hotel, but would recommend the snack bar and the tappas place over the road, honestly they were great and I have silly high standards for food.

Supermarket on the road above is great (the restaurants up there didn't have good reviews).

Best meal by far EVER on holiday is the Castle - book early, and you will not be disappointed. £35 for 3 courses and as much wine as you can drink, and fabulous views. Perfect setting and great food (bettter than most London /manchester restaurants)

Overall great hotel, good location, but upgrade to a suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Experience & Marketing Executive at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review relative to your stay with us last year during the unfortunate period in which renovations were taking place in the adjacent hotel property.
We appreciate your feedback and comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade facilities. Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future!
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 86 in Funchal
2,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing