We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hotel is very new with good facilities. Good location with several bars and restaurants nearby, frequent bus services or around 7€ taxi ride to centre of Funchal or pleasant 20-25 minute walk. Varied choice at breakfast but quality eg coffee is nothing special. Rooms are attractive and well designed. Some little touches are missing, eg water and towels not provided in gym. Tennis court in Porto Bay next door available at €15 per hour. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Marcusjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Many thanks for your preference in our Resort and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken note of your remarks which will be discussed internally with our team.
We're glad to hear that your overall experience was a good one and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes for 2013!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Melia Madeira Mare is a very good choice for a vacation in Madeira. It is not far from either the city centre or Funchal airport. Rooms are clean and nicely equipped and decorated. Breakfast is varied and quite delicious! Staff are polite and helpful. Not a cheap hotel, but that's not expected of a 5-star, so I think the value for money is perfectly reasonable. Nice swimming pools and sea view. There are several restaurants nearby. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spg-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and positive comments and feedback on Tripadvisor.
We're delighted to read that your all round experience was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Our very best wishes to you for the New Year !
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here for a week just before Christmas and loved it. The Melia is only a few years old, very modern and ideally situated with the back of the hotel facing the sea. We had a side room on the 8th floor facing east with a part view of the sea and great morning sun.
The centre of Funchal is approximately 15-20 minutes walk or 5-10 minutes by bus or car.
The choice of breakfast was amazing, everything you could possibly want, although the fried eggs were a bit rubbery and the bacon overcooked, but to be fair there was free champagne to wash it down!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly one of the bar waiters who was exceptional.
One evening, guests were invited by management to an informal meeting in the bar area with complimentary drinks and snacks to air their thoughts on their stay at the hotel-good or bad.
We mentioned our dislike of UHT milk which all the hotels we've stayed in provide in the rooms with the coffee/tea making facilities.On returning to our room that evening from dinner at a local restaurant, a jug of fresh milk was promptly delivered to our room. We were impressed!
There are shops and restaurant nearby, Tokos restaurant being our favourite, less than 10 minutes walk, so good we ate there twice. We will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FitzGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you ever so much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to do so.
Your comments are most welcome, valued and much appreciated.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
Hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon !
Our very best wishes to you for the New year.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our fourth trip to Madeira and to this hotel lived up to expectations once again. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have come to know quite a few of them and feel they are now friends. It was a lot quieter this time, than our last visit in September, but just what we needed to enable us to relax. A special thank you for the upgrade - as returning guests it was much appreciated and made us feel special. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and looking forward to returning as soon as we can!
The stunning Christmas decorations in Funchal took our breath away. Madeira should be very proud. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to all staff.
Kath and Alex. Wales.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Firstly our sincere thanks to your for your loyalty and for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is truly wonderful to read that you enjoyed your fourth visit to our beautiful island and to Melia Madeira Mare and that your stay was a relaxing one with us. Thank you too for your kind comments regarding our staff members - these will be shared internally amongst all and will certainly serve to further motivate them to continue delivering on our Brand standards.

Yes, we have to agree with you regarding the beautiful Christmas decorations - which add to the very special and unique ambience experienced on the island during the Festive Season as a whole.

Our best wishes to you both for a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit over!.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I have been in a study trip in Madeira and during this trip I stayed in Melia Mare. I saw many hotels, but the rooms in Melia Mare are one of the best on the island. Very nice decoration, spaciouss, a great bathroom and wifi free of charge.
The breakfast was very good and the swiiming pool area very nice. It is located 10-15 minutes walking to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Executive at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future !
Warm regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Just back from a week's half board at this hotel. Agree with some other reviews - this is a modern, clean and up-to-date hotel with all the amenities (great indoor and outdoor pool, gym, etc) but it lacks any atmosphere and charm and its bare walls and huge expanses of marble make it feel sparse and lacking individuality.

It is situated near the Lido which means it's either a long walk into the centre of Funchal, or a short and cheap bus or taxi journey.

The buffet breakfast was very good (though the 80's soft rock sound track and strong strip lighting got annoying). The evening buffet creatively used the left overs from breakfast and, again, the bright strip lighting didn't help to enhance the meal! We went out for four of the seven evenings and found some great places to eat.

That said, the hotel was very clean, the staff were very helpful (especially Fatima in the dining room) and it was close to a taxi rank and the bus stop. Our room was spacious and, providing you closed the balcony door, very quiet even though it overlooked the road.

The nearby bars and restaurants were well priced, though, again, the very bright lighting was evident in many (forget romance!). We hired a car from Hertz for two days (who proved a lot cheaper than other car hire companies) and drove to the volcano (our favourite day out) and around the island. The underground hotel car park was great - and free to use for hotel guests.

Room Tip: We had rooms 515 and 517 ... they faced into the hotel complex and only got the sun for the first fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewForest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your remarks and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our services met with your overall expectations.

Thank you too for your kind words about our staff and Fatima in particular; I will be sure to pass along your most welcome comments.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent two nights here at the end of our holiday. Compared to another hotel a short distance away we had stayed in on another occasion this felt rather noisy, and exposed to the very busy main road. The balcony and pool also overlooked a side road down to the sea which was plagued by endless tourist sightseeing buses. However that said the view over the sea from our balcony was superb, and we were given an amazing suite which was absolutely beautifully appointed and very high quality. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was excellent, with separate bath and rain shower. The breakfasts were somewhat disappointing with some tinned fruit, which was surprising in somewhere like Madeira with bountiful local produce. Overall however it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snargater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for your preference at Meliá Madeira Mare and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We’re delighted you enjoyed your time with us on the whole and thank you for your kind comments.

We’re sorry some of our services did not completely live up to your expectations; your remarks relative to the breakfast have been duly noted and shall be addressed internally.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £80 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing