We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely time”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just returned rfom this hotel. Lovely place and very well presented. On my first look around in the early afternoon I was mortified to find the outdoor pool was empty. It was being given a makeover and all retiled / or grouted. Sorry not sure which. I was very sad as I love swimming. However the reason I booked here was the fact that they have an indoor pool. Which I have to say was very a pleasant temperature. Then the following morning the water started to fill the new clean pool. that was freezing, I did go in twice.
I also have to mention that I had unfortunately had an accident a week before I travelled and was unable to sleep easily. My dilemma was sorted by Catarina, a lovely young lady working on the front of house on the reception. With more bedding and feeling more comfortable I was much better. I would stay again no hesitation, very easy to find places to eat, and to take a walk and explore. Breakfast was fine and many choices. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink, read a book and relax. My only tip is if you book a side sea view, and like the evening sun then ask for the side over the car park I think. We had the morning sun but wished I had remembered the sunny side. Enjoy it if you decide to go.

Room Tip: In the above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetmeknot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear forgetmeknot21

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us albeit you were not too well when you arrived.

We sincerely hope you're completely recovered and happy we were able to make you feel more comfortable and you were able to rest during your stay. Glad you enjoyed our indoor pool too..!

Thank you too for mentioning Catarina who I am certain will appreciate your kind words. She is a lovely girl and always happy to assist our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely island and to Meliá Madeira Mare.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    554
    165
    36
    13
See reviews for
240
1,128
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful return visit to the Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa.We was very kindly allocated a Superior Ocean View room on arrival and was very pleased with it.These rooms benefit from large balconies which besides having a table and two chairs also have two sun loungers & parasol.

The rooms are very well appointed and are spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel.The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have a walk in rainfall shower plus separate shower head over the bath Twin sinks with a very large mirror.The WC & bidet are separated by a frosted glass wall.Fluffy white cotton towels,face cloth and bathrobes and bath gels etc replenished daily.
Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and replenished daily.There is a large flat screen TV for those telly addicts who feel the need to watch the goggle box.We feel Madeira has more than enough to view without resorting to the TV though.

The outdoor pool had been decommissioned during our stay so that they could refurbish the tiling but this did not affect the enjoyment of our holiday at all.The hotel had made arrangements with the neighbouring hotel so that guests could make use of their pools but the Melia Mare has a fantastic heated indoor pool and hot tub with a spa complex which we made good use of early in the morning before going for breakfast.Sublime.

We was on a bed and breakfast tariff so cannot comment on the evening meals but the breakfasts was very good with enough variety for all tastes and nicely presented and even a couple bottles of alcohol (Espumante) for those who prefer sparkling wine with their bacon.Due to the hotel attracting professional business people as guests besides people on holiday there is a cosmopolitan feel to the restaurant at breakfast which makes for a pleasant change from the usual clique of the British holidaymaker at breakfast moaning about the bacon being undercooked/overcooked,not enough bottles of booze and the weather!

The hotel is situated in a very picturesque position in the lido area and although they have rerouted the main road down past the hotel it does not affect the hotel at all and they have now nearly finished building the new contra flow road system to improve traffic flow.The area is well served by restaurants,supermarkets and a newsagents just round the corner for those wanting a paper etc.It is a pleasant stroll into Funchal from the hotel and the old quarter of Funchal is an absolute treat to meander around soaking up the atmosphere of the locals and the quaint little shops ,bars etc.and no litter! It was carnival week while we was there which was very spectacular.

The staff are very obliging and hospitable without exception.We can highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing comfortable holiday base on the beautiful island of Madeira but maybe not suitable for those who like booze with their bacon,watching TV and reading the Racing Mail and Football results.Blackpool maybe a more suitable resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTDrBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear MrsTDrBob

Firstly thank you for your loyalty and preference in our Resort and for posting your detailed and positive feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was a fairly last minute holiday, booked in an attempt to escape the rain in Britain, so perhaps our hotel research wasn't quite as thorough as normal. However Melia hotels are usually a consistent quality product and we have enjoyed holidays in Melia hotels before. First impressions were really good: a large room and spacious bathroom which had two sinks, a dual shower head, a bath that couldn't be used as the plug wouldn't seal, and plenty of toiletry and towel space. The window looking into the room from the bath was rather bizarre and I struggle to imagine how anyone could have designed the room thinking that was a good idea!

The room had a side sea view, and was really designed for a short stay business trip or conference delegate, rather than a couple on a fortnights holiday. We really didn't need the two desks that we had in the room - the furniture was stylish though chunky, and we would have appreciated a little more drawer space. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and we slept well. We swam in the pool and used the gym, and enjoyed our daily breakfast.

So how could the management of this hotel enhanced our stay? They could have made the room feel less cluttered by taking out one of the desks. They could make their balconies non-smoking and enforced the non-smoking policy in the hotel (Just walk around the corridors and you will smell the culprits) They could restore BBC news which has vanished from their listings. (Believe me, CNN is absolutely no substitute). They could provide a small collapsible clothes drier on the balcony, as they have at the Porto Mare. They could replace their pool towels which are looking well past their best. They could chain the single English newspaper to reception to stop the selfish idiots from walking away with it and not returning it. (We watched one morning as a couple appeared on the poolside carrying that days paper that they had taken from reception. They then took the previous day's paper out of their bag and threw it in the bin, clearly they had had it overnight. After they read the paper, they kept it on their sunbeds for the rest of the morning, left it there whilst they had lunch and it remained with them for the rest of their time on the poolside. Many of the other residents just wanted a quick look at the paper, check the sports news and return it to the reception. Due to the selfishness of a handful of individuals others were denied this facility, and that was a shame)

Without exception the hotel staff were lovely - cleaners, reception, breakfast room, poolside - everyone we came into contact with was charming, polite and helpful. This is a good hotel, but could be better if attention was given to some small details.

So my tips if you are thinking of staying at this hotel would be:
1. The hospitality tray in the room contains good quality products. Tea drinkers are well catered for. Coffee drinkers might consider taking better coffee or buying milk from the local supermarket.
2. The soap and shower gel provided are fine. The shampoo isn't so good - take your own.
3. The library on the 2nd floor contains plenty of English books to swop with and keep you entertained.

The unannounced repairs to the hotel pool gave us entry to the Porto Mare hotel next door. We thought that it looked a much nicer pool and garden area and should we return to Madeira in the future we would investigate staying at that hotel instead.

Room Tip: Reject rooms by the lifts or the noisy ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks your taking time to post your very detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We regret that not all our facilities met up with your expectations and appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

In regard to the BBC News channel, this is presently being attended to and will be available for our guests very soon.

We're also aware of the newspaper issue and the control of same shall be reviewed internally to avoid the unfortunate abuse.

Insofar as the pool maintenance issue is concerned, we regret this was done with short notice, however, we had to take this step to ensure guest safety and comfort. (Information on the pending repairs to the pool was displayed at the reception desk and in all the elevators prior to the works taking place)

Your kind remarks relative to our team is much appreciated and will shall be shared internally with all.

We do hope you will reconsider returning to our resort when you're next over on holiday in Madeira.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I visited Madeira in the last week of February, we stayed at the Melia Madeira Mare hotel, I must say that I enjoyed this visit immensely! The staff were thoughtful and attentive and the view is lovely overlooking the Atlantic ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Simmone Amoy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor; we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.
Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a week at MM returning yesterday. We have been there three times now and continue to rate it very highly. The rooms are spacious and we had a great side view of the sea from our balcony. The right hand side of the hotel gives ample sunshine from around midday until 7.00pm. The room was clean and bright although no access to BBC news was a disappointment.
Breakfast once again was up to scratch although we detected a slower and almost limited level of table service for coffee and or tea. Similarly the supply of sparkling wine to accompany breakfast seemed limited and often ran out before the bulk of residents had arrived. These minor quibbles could be a sign of the times as the hotel did seem quieter than on previous visits at a similar time of year. The outdoor pool was out of action due to much needed refurbishment but the temperature was not quite warm enough for outdoor bathing and the inside pool was a reasonable alternative for the keen swimmers.
No happy hour in the bar this year and one moan at the selfish British holiday maker who seemed to snaffle the hotel's Copy of the Daily Mail each morning and never returned for others to enjoy. Suggested to reception that they impose a 30 minute maximum time with room card as a deposit to curtail such selfish behaviour.
All in all an enjoyable week once more and we will certain consider this hotel again but we did detect a slipping of standards/services this year. Still a bargain however.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UK50scouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your preference and loyalty in our Resort and for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret that some of our services and facilities did not meet with your expectations and apologize for the inconsistency.

We're presently attending to the BBC News channel and same should be available soon for our guests.

We shall also be discussing the Reception desk newspaper control with a view to avoid the unfortunate abuse by some guests.

Insofar as Happy Hour is concerned, please note this has not been dismissed at all and continues daily; the information is displayed in the weekly program and public TV channel in the lobby outside the elevators; we're sorry you did not enquire during your stay therein.

Your feedback is important to us and a vital took in our daily efforts in attaining complete guest satisfaction; hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As part of a package holiday we arrived to receive the great news that our room had been upgraded and we enjoyed a luxurious sea view room for our ten night stay.
All staff were friendly and helpful without being overpowering and booked a hire car on our behalf.
The breakfast spread of choices was excellent and the whole hotel was sparklingly clean and without fault. Bedroom refreshing service was exceptional.
Unfortunately the weather inhibited the use of the outdoor pool that was drained for maintenance on our last day - obviously the best time to carry out those works!
We would highly recommend this hotel and said so in the hotels own customer satisfaction survey.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to share your positive and very kind review.

We're all delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities and your room upgrade; we're fortunate to have beautiful sea views of the Atlantic.

Thank you too for making mention of our staff; your feedback is fundamental to us in our daily efforts in working towards achieving complete guest satisfaction and are happy to know we were able to create a memorable stay for you.

We hope to welcome you back again to our lovely island and to Meliá Madeira Mare. Pity you did not stay a little longer to enjoy our fabulous carnival festivities which took place this weekend.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Price of room was excellent for such a luxurious hotel; room was very clean and comfortable, had an outdoor and even an heated indoor swimming pool which was great.

Receptionists were very friendly and approachable; helped to solve many problems, especially with booking of tours.

Buffet breakfast was very yummy with a wide variety of food available for selection. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank darylhjm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for your review on Tripadvisor.

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create a memorable experience at Meliá Madeira Mare.

Your feedback will be shared with all internally and I am certain our Reception colleagues will appreciate your special mention too!
Also glad you enjoyed our Buffet breakfast!

Do hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the not too distant future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing