We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Courteous friendly staff who ensured that the holiday went as smooth as possible.

From teaching us a few words in Portuguese to making sure my son had enough to eat to showing us where the best local shopping areas, they could not do more to help us.

Was amazing that in a hotel of such big size, the hotel staff knew my son's and my name after a few hours and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Chryshanthi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for posting your positive review.

We're delighted you and your son had an enjoyable stay and happy we were able to assist you with your queries. Your positive comments will be shared with all our team and am certain will encourage us all to continue striving for complete guest satisfaction and creating memorable experiences to all those staying with us.
Hope to welcome you and your family back soon !

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited 8-15 April staying in room 431. Lovely room, had e-mailed hotel before we arrived asking for a walk-in shower, thank you very much Melia, bathroom had a bath as well and toiletries even the toilet roll was folded into a point every day, . Wi-Fi in room worked perfectly. Tea & coffee replenished every day. Wasn't kept awake by other guests at night thankfully. Didn't use the TV as the only channels in English were BBC entertainment and CNN. Stayed B&B and the breakfasts were very good, be assured you will not go hungry. Outside pool was heated and was used from 7 o'clock every morning. Thank you to the hotel and the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to deliver on our brand standards. Insofar as the TV channels are concerned, we're currently working on the addition of some more English channels including BBC News etc. so hopefully when you next return these will be up and running.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at the Melia Madeira Mare Hotel.

We were a group of four and not one person could give this hotel or its staff any negative comments. The rooms are excellent, the staff go out of their way to make your stay a very happy one, Fatima in particular in the restaurant is a great asset to the hotel, nothing at all was too much trouble for her and she actually remembered what each of us drank with breakfast each morning and they were all different !

The hotel is situated in a really good spot with a lovely walk into Funchal or a short bus ride from outside the hotel.

Cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough, they made our stay in Funchal an extra memorable one and we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ours was a side seaview which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest
We're delighted to receive your positive review on Tripadvisor and thank you kindly for taking time to post your experience.
Appreciate your mentioning our staff too and in particular Fatima who will be most thankful and its comments like these that encourage all of us to continue striving to create memorable experiences to guests staying with us during their visits to our lovely island.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Only 5 years old so hotel and facilities are in good condition including gym and in and outdoor pools. Wifi router under the desk in the room leads to great speed etc.

However...perhaps we just caught the hotel at the beginning of the season but it does not understand service for what it bills itself as a 5 star hotel. No happy greeting at check in. And the evening meal saw staff moving tables and chairs like furniture movers as we tried to eat. Oh and by the way it is a self service buffet though there is a al a carte room that was not frequented by folks. We had booked half board but ate out 3 nights as the food although nicely presented was a little bland for us. No wine list shown either.

Fatima was great but other staff seemed subdued and we were blown away by the service in the Pesticos restaurant across the road. The morning breakfast (buffet) was ok especially the omelettes made to order but there is something weird about serving coffee. You aren't allowed a jug of your own so you wait ages to get served and have to ask for a refill. I am usually dying for a coffee when I sit for breakfast so this was frustrating.

The hotel were good about letting us have our room til 4 so grateful for that. I would come back to Madeira but I think I would stay somewhere else with a bit more soul and service about it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret that not all our services met with your expectations and apologize for the inconsistencies experienced.

We will be sure to pass on your kind mention to Fatima.

We value your comments which acts as a fundamental tool in our efforts in enhancing our services towards achieving complete guest satisfaction.

Do hope you will reconsider staying with us upon your next visit to our lovely island.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Do not pay too much heed to negative reviews on this hotel, as I did. We were pleasantly surprised by the standards here, considering the price, which many fail to take into consideration.
The front of house were very helpful & welcoming, even though there was no welcome drink.
We do not get a welcome drink at either the Hilton or Ramada in our country.
More importantly the hotel looks impressive & is extremely clean, everywhere.
Our room was one of the best we have stayed in, with lots of space, especially in the bathroom.
The fridge was free & on request, was cleared of mini bar drinks, so we could use it for our own.
The safe was free, the kettle also & coffee & teas were refilled daily, as were all the toiletries.One of the main factors was that the room was quiet, as requested. Thank you Cristina!
The breakfast was extremely good & I am fussy A good variety of.freshly prepared fruit of, & some tinned, as well as a choice of whole fruit, superb choice of fresh breads, cooked meats, hot dishes, cheeses, cakes & pastries etc, etc.You could not go hungry.
We went B&B, so I can't comment on the Evening meal. There were lots of good restaurants locally on the Lido & in Funchal & a large Supermarket, with very reasonable prices, on the new top road, just up some steps, opposite the Porto Mare hotel next to the Melia.
Lots of shops also at the Forum, about a 15 min walk away.
If I was to be really picky, I would say that the evening entertainment could have been better.
The beds were rather firm & I would have loved Weetabix or even porridge as a cereal choice, but these are extremely minor points, more suggestions really.
The only detail that did surprise me was the hotel sign as we drove up. It is in a very prominent position & there were letters missing. If I was the Manager, it would be a priority to sort this out, as it does not give the hotel the 5 star look, but looks rather shabby, which is certainly not true.
We will most definately go back to this beautiful island & our hotel of choice, would be the Melia Madeira Mare. Always remember to consider how much you actually paid for your hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good & seem to have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank choosey738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr choosey738

We appreciate your taking time to share your feedback on tripadvisor and to highlight your very positive comments.

We're naturally delighted we were able to exceed your expectations and happy to have contributed towards a memorable holiday experience for you.

It is through our guests' valuable information received that we are able to consistently build on and enhance the superb customer experience we constantly strive to provide.

Your suggestions have also been duly noted and taken into consideration at senior level.

With regard to the signage, regretfully specific technical parts for same had to be replaced and as the original supplier is located outside of the island, there has been an unpredicted delay as parts are being awaited, however we hope to have same up and back to normal soon.

We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Meliá Mare late March for a week and had a great experience. Location is good (20-25min walk from city center) and there are lots of restaurants and a nice beach walk close to the hotel.
Reception,cleaning,portier and other (all) sevice functions was excellent and we also recived very good help with re-booking golftimes, booking great restaurants and other help.

Inside pool was very warm and hottub was perfect after golfrounds. We strongly recommend to book a room with seaview!

Breakfast was great too with a large varitety. We tried dinner buffé one night and this was the only dissapointment since the food was average ( we did not try a la carte resturant wich i assume is better). Since eating out is very cheap in Madeira its recommended to just have breakfast and try many of the good restaurants in funchal.

To sum it up our stay at Meliá was excellent and we would definitely recommend the hotel and stay at a Melia hotel again ourselves.

/Martin & Micaela

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Martin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear 1Martin2014

Many thanks for taking time to share your review.

We're delighted we were able to contribute towards a positive holiday experience for you during your recent visit to Madeira Island and appreciate your your kind feedback relative to our services function staff members.

We regret that our Buffet dinner did not entirely meet with your expectations and that you did not make time to experiment dinner in our a la Carte Restaurant.

We, nevertheless thank you for your preference and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is situated very close to the center of Funchal, with a good connection to the city and... what is more important, to the ocean. We were accommodated in the super front ocean view room no. 903 and the room was almost perfect. There were some very minor things that should be improved, but they are really not significant. The only thing that should be slightly improved by the management of the hotel are breakfasts. They were not bad, however I expected much much more fruits as products typical for Madeira. Madeira is famous of its fruits that can be found everywhere, e.g. at Mercado dos Lavradores in Funchal, therefore the tables during the breakfast should be full of them. And the variety of fruits at Melia was rather limited and, what was unacceptable for me, there were can fruits there. Please, do not serve people can fruits in Madeira! But these are details. In general the hotel is really nice and I recommend it to everyone. Nice staff, especially at the reception desk and the restaurant, clean and well equipped rooms with an amazing view. Do you need anything else?:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Robertos1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr.Robertos1977

Thank you kindly for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and that we were able to create a memorable holiday experience for you at Meliá Madeira Mare.

We do indeed feel privileged to be located right on the oceanfront and have perfect sea views as you say - which can be enjoyed to the full from the front ocean view rooms!.

Your feedback is appreciated and your remarks have been duly noted in regard to the fruits issue during breakfast.

Thank you too for mentioning both our Reception and Restaurant staff who I am certain will be most appreicative of same.

Hope to welcome you back to sometime in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £78 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing