We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for a week in April, we had a nice stay and are really pleased with the stay. The room was good, with a balcony facing a parking and with sea view, lovely evening sun so we could use the balcony until the sun went down. The breakfast was very good and the service great. The front desk were very helpful with all our questions and helped us with renting a car. The pool indoor and outdoor was very nice with a bar at the outdoor pool.

The only thing thing that could have been better was the pillows, that we didn't like.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRagnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor.
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your satisfaction.

We value your feedback which enables us to enhance and improve on our service standards.

Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Melia in August 2014; having previously stayed at the CS Madeira Atlantic (now rebranded as the Vidamar Resort) the hotel had a tough act to follow but it did not disappoint in any way, shape or form.

We'd booked a standard room but on arrival we found that we had been upgraded to a sea-view room as it was our anniversary. Not only did we receive a complimentary upgrade, but we were treated to a bottle of champagne sent up to our room by hotel management. Our room was very well appointed; tasteful decor, huge bed (firm but comfortable), large bathroom, flat screen TV, mini-bar, safe and a fast (free) Wi-Fi connection.

In terms of facilities; the hotel wants for nothing, the free-form outdoor pool and sun lounger area are both excellent, though they do tend to get busy throughout the day. We found ourselves going for an early breakfast (eat on the terrace, nothing like breakfast in the open air) so we could get onto a decent couple of loungers. The hotel bars are great value with a huge range of drinks and the hotel serves excellent meals throughout the day. Breakfast and lunch were fabulous with a good range of dishes, though we didn't have an evening meal at the hotel as we have a set of favourite restaurants in Funchal that we like to visit. The evening dining experience did look very appetising and I would suggest it as a convenient option for those not wanting to eat locally.

The Malo Clinic Spa is amazing; a great range of treatments with the usual facilities one would expect of a five star resort (though these do attract an additional cost). We opted for a sports massage followed by afternoon tea, which included access to the Jacuzzi and steam room. The indoor pool and gym were free for guests to use; the former being well equipped with a range of weights and cardio machines.

The location is great, sat in the middle of the lido and a short walk from some great bars and restaurants. The hotel is served by a taxi rank pretty much on its doorstep so if you fancy a trip into the town centre then you're only a five minute ride away. Buses are also frequent, with the Yellow Bus Tours operating a hop-on-hop-off day pass.

I should also mention the very high standard of service at the hotel; all of the staff we met during our stay were very helpful, friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone, even when we asked the concierge to achieve the impossible and get us a last minute table at the Resaurante Do Forte (everyone needs to go there at least once - and you get picked up from your hotel in classic car). It’s this willingness of the staff to go the extra mile that speaks volumes.

Overall the Melia Madeira Mare is a brilliant hotel, a mixture of contemporary architecture and decor, alongside impeccable service from a team of people who seem very proud of their hotel. Staff with confidence in their brand? Now, that's a very rare thing indeed.

One final point; we booked with Jet2 Holidays, saved a fortune on the package compared to the larger tour operators and had great flights (Jet2 standard legroom was the most I've ever had on a charter flight).

I could wax lyrical about the hotel and Funchal all night; it's wonderful place to visit and I'm happy to answer any questions that anyone else may have - feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Always book a sea-view room; some side-view rooms face out onto a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mr Paul H

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your very detailed and positive review.

We're all smiling widely on this end; its reviews such as these that motivate us all in further creating memorable experiences for guests staying with us.

Your feedback is a very vital tool in our constant efforts in attaining complete guest satisfaction and we're glad we were able to deliver on our brand service standards.

Madeira is indeed a special place to visit not only for the island's beautiful and breathtaking natural beauty - with sea and mountain in close proximity and a mild year round climate, but for the peace, safety and security the destination offers - which all combine to make a very relaxing holiday.

Thank you for your preference and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon !

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 21st - 25th April. Our room was clean and spacious, and we had a good view of the sea from room 318. The beds are rather hard however we did get used to it, we requested extra pillows and these were delivered quickly. We never had any issue with getting sun beds and the staff were quick to provide mattresses for the sun beds.
It was my birthday and the hotel delivered some cake to the room which was a lovely thought.
There is a indoor and outdoor pool, gym and jacuzzi which is free for guests to use, the only disappointment was that the jacuzzi didn't appear to be working properly.
The hotel is ideally situated for you to sightsea easily, we took taxis and used the tuc tucs to get around which we thought were very reasonable.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was excellent, a large variety of food to choose from and plenty of places to sit.
We had a late flight and the hotel were unable to allow us to have a late checkout which would have allowed us to make the most of our last day, this was a little disappointing as the hotel was not at full capacity.
All in all we had a lovely stay and I would recommend and use this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to give you a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suejenn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your kind comments.
We appreciate your choosing our Resort to spend your birthday and wish you lots of health and happiness always!.

We're glad you enjoyed your short break with us and sorry we were not able to provide you with a late check-out - as you can understand these are always subject to availability and whether your room was booked for that day.

The jacuzzi issue essentially has to do with the adjustment control knob - which some guests are not too familiar with and hence seems to be out of order when in fact its not turned on correctly. We're looking at installing another type of system to facilitate the use.

We hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

this is a very good hotel. the rooms are a good size. we had a 'side' ocean view. before going, I had thought this might be where you crane your neck round the balcony to catch a glimpse of the sea, but actually we could both site on the balcony and enjoy the view.
the breakfast buffet is excellent - a really good variety of food, hot and cold, continental and 'english'. some surprises on the breakfast buffet such as baked apple and sparkling wine! (we didn't try the wine as we were walking most days and it would not have been a good way to start!). the service is very good- all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

we didn't try the evening buffet as there was no menu on display and I'm a vegetarian so I imagined choice would be limited.

we were pleasantly surprised that the outdoor pool was very quiet when we wanted to use it. it's a very large pool and a comfortable temperature. often we were the only ones in it at the end of the day (5-6pm).

in the publicity we had been led to expect spa facilities such as a sauna and steam room, which is one of the reasons we booked the hotel, so were very disappointed to find out that access to these facilities was e22 per person per day. this seems a little extortionate! we would have paid e10 each but more than that is excessive, especially as every other hotel I've ever stayed at (not in Madeira) offers the sauna etc for free (incl in room price).

the location is ok - the area is nice, full of other hotels and restaurants, and right by the sea. however it's 3km from the centre of funchal so if you want a base to walk from or to discover the island from, it's not ideal. we ended up getting he bus to the centre and the bus out again. the buses are very cheap but very slow. it took 2 hrs to get to Baia d'Abra at the end of the island, which was well worth the trip as it's a magnificent spot with spectacular views, but we spent longer on the bus than we did on the walk!

Room Tip: if you go for a 'side' ocean view, ask for the west side as that is where the sun is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted your enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your satisfaction. Just about all our rooms have sea views albeit the side ones have side ocean views and as you so rightly stated, the sea can be viewed from the balcony in these room types.

Our daily dinner menus always include and cater for our vegetarian guests.

We're sorry you were not aware of the entry fee to our aqua spa facilities. The aqua sensations and relaxation areas in the spa are free to use upon booking any one of the spa treatments available. Glad you enjoyed the sightseeing by bus.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Courteous friendly staff who ensured that the holiday went as smooth as possible.

From teaching us a few words in Portuguese to making sure my son had enough to eat to showing us where the best local shopping areas, they could not do more to help us.

Was amazing that in a hotel of such big size, the hotel staff knew my son's and my name after a few hours and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Chryshanthi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for posting your positive review.

We're delighted you and your son had an enjoyable stay and happy we were able to assist you with your queries. Your positive comments will be shared with all our team and am certain will encourage us all to continue striving for complete guest satisfaction and creating memorable experiences to all those staying with us.
Hope to welcome you and your family back soon !

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited 8-15 April staying in room 431. Lovely room, had e-mailed hotel before we arrived asking for a walk-in shower, thank you very much Melia, bathroom had a bath as well and toiletries even the toilet roll was folded into a point every day, . Wi-Fi in room worked perfectly. Tea & coffee replenished every day. Wasn't kept awake by other guests at night thankfully. Didn't use the TV as the only channels in English were BBC entertainment and CNN. Stayed B&B and the breakfasts were very good, be assured you will not go hungry. Outside pool was heated and was used from 7 o'clock every morning. Thank you to the hotel and the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to deliver on our brand standards. Insofar as the TV channels are concerned, we're currently working on the addition of some more English channels including BBC News etc. so hopefully when you next return these will be up and running.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at the Melia Madeira Mare Hotel.

We were a group of four and not one person could give this hotel or its staff any negative comments. The rooms are excellent, the staff go out of their way to make your stay a very happy one, Fatima in particular in the restaurant is a great asset to the hotel, nothing at all was too much trouble for her and she actually remembered what each of us drank with breakfast each morning and they were all different !

The hotel is situated in a really good spot with a lovely walk into Funchal or a short bus ride from outside the hotel.

Cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough, they made our stay in Funchal an extra memorable one and we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Ours was a side seaview which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest
We're delighted to receive your positive review on Tripadvisor and thank you kindly for taking time to post your experience.
Appreciate your mentioning our staff too and in particular Fatima who will be most thankful and its comments like these that encourage all of us to continue striving to create memorable experiences to guests staying with us during their visits to our lovely island.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £84 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing