We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRUE 5 STAR RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel - just outside of downtown Funchal - was amazing. Its 5-Star rating was completely justified based on its indoor and outdoor pools, its restaurant (where we had an included buffet breakfast each day), its well-appointed rooms and balconies and its proximity to dining, shopping and local transportation. The indoor pool was the one of the most luxurious and lavish we have ever seen plus that water was nice and warm. The outdoor pool had plenty of cushioned lounges and umbrellas and overlooked the fabulous “walking promenade” that stretches along the Atlantic Ocean in this part of the island. Couple this with the fact that there were four excellent restaurants right across the street from the hotel and you couldn’t ask for more. The hop-on and hop-off “Yellow Bus” plus regular local buses stopped just one block away or behind the hotel, as well. It was a perfect hotel to “kick back” in especially with the water views from a spacious balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We're delighted and smiling upon reading your kind and positive review on Tripadvisor and are glad you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We are indeed fortunate to enjoy a priviledged location with beautiful sea views.

Your positive comments will be shared with all our team and am certain will encourage us all to continue striving for complete guest satisfaction and creating memorable experiences to all those staying with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
There are newer reviews for Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned after spending 8nights at the Melia..we had a wonderful stay the hotel was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.we love to eat out and try different restaurants so we only had breakfast at the Melia,which was great.So much choice.The local area is lovely with plenty of shops & great shops & restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Angela Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is of importance to us and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay and experience with us.
Look forward to welcoming back sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had lovely time in Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa. We stayed in a sea view apartment. It was quiet. Beds extremely comfortable. Lovely and helpful people working there. We would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank Krzysztof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and faciities met with your expectations. Your kind comments relative to our staff are much appreciated and will be shared internally with all.
Do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After experiencing a 5 star hotel in Turkey, I was slightly disappointed with Melia standards. Although the staff are very nice, it was noticeable the lack waiters at especially at night time at the main bar. You have to chase them in order to be served. The room standards are very basic for a 5 star Hotel. Nevertheless, both swimming pools (indoors and outdoors) are kept immaculate. You have also free Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel facilities. The Hotel location is amazing as you will find restaurants, bars and supermarket at a walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faustino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and your preference in our Resort.

We sincerely regret not all our services and facilities met with your satisfaction and thank you for your constructive criticism.

Your feedback is of fundamental importance to us in our constant efforts in meeting with our Brand standards and complete guest satisfaction.

Your comments have been shared internally and can assure you shall also be actioned upon.

We do hope to welcome you back again to Madeira and to Meliá Madeira Mare.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We travelled here in mid April on a Thomson package on a half board basis. We had an east-facing room, with a partial sea view, which meant we got the sun from mid morning to early afternoon. West facing would probably be a better option, to catch the sun later in the day. The rooms themselves are fresh and spotlessly clean with a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was spacious with two basins and a separate toilet area. We enjoyed our meals, both breakfast and the buffet-style dinner. There were always plenty of choices at both meals, everything freshly cooked. The salad bar and dessert choice were particular highlights. We found the staff both charming and helpful. The hotel had plenty of outside areas in which to sunbathe and relax, and it was always easy to find a spot to ourselves. The hotel itself is in a good area, with plenty of eating places nearby, and there are lots of buses passing by if you don't fancy the walk into Funchal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKTouristScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your preference in our Resort and for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted with your kind and positive comments and happy we were able to deliver on our brand standards and create a memorable experience for you.

Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our first trip to Madeira and the city of Funchal. The hotel was a 41/2 star in my opinion but had a very nice restaurant that was buffet style dinner and free breakfast. Indoor heated pool and hot tub on 1st floor and outside heated pool which was very nice too. Poolside drink service and snacks, umbrellas and comfortable loungers. Having to pass in cards for our towels was a bit of a pain especially for the indoor pool as you ha to go to anger level to get towels and return them to get your cards back. Hotel was nice and clean although hallways were dark and mood lighted with low led lighting. Bar was nice with nightly live music and daily Zumba lessons. Or rom was ocean view with private deck and nice amenities. Tins of restaurants within 5 minute walk. TIP....going to and from airport take the Aerobus as it cost 5 euro versus the 42 we paid for cab. Over all very nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view a bit more expensive but worth it in my opinion
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your review.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Also happy to hear you enjoyed our entertainment.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good location near restaurants, bus stop & super markets. Modern, clean hotel Nice extras like dressing gowns, big wet room style shower, free wi fi. Lovely breakfast, good coffee, great fresh bread.... egg chef made yummy omelettes. Though we had a nice room with ocean view (327), the sun is so high (April) that it never shone on to our balcony so we asked for a move and the staff were very open to move us to same value of room at no extra cost, but basically only rooms on the left side would get sun for a while in the morning . This looked to us to be the same for all the hotels in the area....given the position , balcony styles and height of the sun most of the day. So we bought (at a reduced additional fee)an upgrade for our last 5 days . Room (1003) same position but on top floor with large balcony and got sun most of the day. This just made our stay extra special as we could then sunbathe and relax in our own space. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Kerry Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the upgrade room type with large balcony.

Undoubtedly our master suites are very special and unique with magnificent ocean views - worth that little extra.

Delighted you enjoyed our overall services and facilities and hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £87 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing