We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at the Melia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great week at the Melia!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Melia between 30th May - 6th June.

The hotel is situated just above sea level, on the Estrada Monumental in the popular resort of Lido, which has plenty of bars and restaurants near by.

We arrived at 11am and was greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who advised that our room was ready. A helpful porter took our cases away so we could continue onto the room without our baggage after our flight.

Room:

The room (422) was a side view room which has a decent view of the ocean, and was overlooking a car park on a very steep hill - which was quite good for people watching from the balcony!
It was tastefully decorated and had a huge bed, flat screen TV, Mini Bar, a comfy chair with table, a Safe, Tea and Coffee making facility, a bathroom which consisted of a Bath with show over, 2 sinks and a toilet with bidet.

The clever part of the bathroom was that the toilet and bidet was separated by frosted glass, and the bathroom had an internal window in so if you were having a bath you could see the TV. There was also a speaker in the bathroom so you could hear the TV. Quite useful to have the music channel on whilst having a shower! The only let down was that the shower wasn't very powerful!

The balcony was pleasant and clean with a table and two chairs.

The Rooms were cleaned everyday - and you could also have your linen changed when you wanted, all you had to do was leave a card on the bed.

Air conditioning was also a bonus, and it was a very efficient system too!

The TV channels arent the best for English speakers. There is only BBC Entertainment and BBC World News. Thats all you get.

Amenities:

The hotel had 2 heated pools. One indoor and one outdoor. They also had a Spa on site, along with 3 bars. A bar in reception, A bar near the restaurant with stage and a Pool bar outside. There was also a TV room which we didn't use.

The outdoor pool area was spotless. The loungers had a removable layer on them - some of these looked tired but it was a problem as you could just remove them! I used the outdoor pool every day, and it was pleasantly warm. They do regular readings of the temperature of the water and also the chlorine levels. The temperature of the pool was often between 21-23c.

We didn't use any of the bars as we were out every night - we didn't even use the pool bar as prices could be a bit steep - so we preferred to get our water from the supermarket over the road.

The pool area has a stunning view over the Atlantic. It was quite easy to bathe all day gazing out to see - not realising the time!

The hotel also has a restaurant for evening meals, but we didn't try this.

The hotel also boats free Wifi. We found this to be fantastic! You could pick it up throughout the hotel and in the rooms. It was fast enough for us to stream UK television on our laptop in our room which was a bonus!

The safe is also free to use - just how it should be!

Breakfast:

We stayed at the hotel on a B&B Basis. The restaurant opened at 0730 and closed at 1030. On our first morning we were late going down for breakfast and sat at around 0945, and most of the food was gone, and what was let was cold! The chefs were nowhere to be seen and there was nobody on the omelette station, however, the rest of the week we went down to breakfast around 0900 and it was good. The custard tarts are amazing when they have them in. I will say however that some of the hot food items weren't that hot, and the sausages are not great.

Also it was annoying how you couldn't help yourself to Tea and Coffee - its done by the waiters!

Overall though it was a good breakfast.

Overall:

Overall it was a decent hotel and is probably about right for the money we paid. The staff are all very friendly, the Breakfasts are good and the rooms are to a high standard.

The hotel is in the middle of a fantastic area with shops, bars and restaurants which we made the most of daily! Its also a fantastic base for walks into Funchal (30 mins).

Would I visit Madeira again - Yes!
Would I stay at the Melia again? Most definitely!!

Room Tip: Try and request a front sea view. Alternatively the side view ones will either have the sun in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for sharing your wonderful and very detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.

We pride ourselves in friendly and personalized service which have a great impact on our guest’s experience.

With most of our rooms having beautiful ocean views and each room with its own balcony ensures that you have an unforgettable experience.

Your feedback is vital to us in our efforts in attaining complete guest satisfaction and your remarks will be shared with all internally.

We are delighted that we were able to create Meliá moments for you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    543
    162
    30
    12
See reviews for
238
1,104
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel - just outside of downtown Funchal - was amazing. Its 5-Star rating was completely justified based on its indoor and outdoor pools, its restaurant (where we had an included buffet breakfast each day), its well-appointed rooms and balconies and its proximity to dining, shopping and local transportation. The indoor pool was the one of the most luxurious and lavish we have ever seen plus that water was nice and warm. The outdoor pool had plenty of cushioned lounges and umbrellas and overlooked the fabulous “walking promenade” that stretches along the Atlantic Ocean in this part of the island. Couple this with the fact that there were four excellent restaurants right across the street from the hotel and you couldn’t ask for more. The hop-on and hop-off “Yellow Bus” plus regular local buses stopped just one block away or behind the hotel, as well. It was a perfect hotel to “kick back” in especially with the water views from a spacious balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We're delighted and smiling upon reading your kind and positive review on Tripadvisor and are glad you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We are indeed fortunate to enjoy a priviledged location with beautiful sea views.

Your positive comments will be shared with all our team and am certain will encourage us all to continue striving for complete guest satisfaction and creating memorable experiences to all those staying with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned after spending 8nights at the Melia..we had a wonderful stay the hotel was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.we love to eat out and try different restaurants so we only had breakfast at the Melia,which was great.So much choice.The local area is lovely with plenty of shops & great shops & restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank Angela Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is of importance to us and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay and experience with us.
Look forward to welcoming back sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had lovely time in Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa. We stayed in a sea view apartment. It was quiet. Beds extremely comfortable. Lovely and helpful people working there. We would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Krzysztof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and faciities met with your expectations. Your kind comments relative to our staff are much appreciated and will be shared internally with all.
Do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After experiencing a 5 star hotel in Turkey, I was slightly disappointed with Melia standards. Although the staff are very nice, it was noticeable the lack waiters at especially at night time at the main bar. You have to chase them in order to be served. The room standards are very basic for a 5 star Hotel. Nevertheless, both swimming pools (indoors and outdoors) are kept immaculate. You have also free Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel facilities. The Hotel location is amazing as you will find restaurants, bars and supermarket at a walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faustino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and your preference in our Resort.

We sincerely regret not all our services and facilities met with your satisfaction and thank you for your constructive criticism.

Your feedback is of fundamental importance to us in our constant efforts in meeting with our Brand standards and complete guest satisfaction.

Your comments have been shared internally and can assure you shall also be actioned upon.

We do hope to welcome you back again to Madeira and to Meliá Madeira Mare.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We travelled here in mid April on a Thomson package on a half board basis. We had an east-facing room, with a partial sea view, which meant we got the sun from mid morning to early afternoon. West facing would probably be a better option, to catch the sun later in the day. The rooms themselves are fresh and spotlessly clean with a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was spacious with two basins and a separate toilet area. We enjoyed our meals, both breakfast and the buffet-style dinner. There were always plenty of choices at both meals, everything freshly cooked. The salad bar and dessert choice were particular highlights. We found the staff both charming and helpful. The hotel had plenty of outside areas in which to sunbathe and relax, and it was always easy to find a spot to ourselves. The hotel itself is in a good area, with plenty of eating places nearby, and there are lots of buses passing by if you don't fancy the walk into Funchal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKTouristScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your preference in our Resort and for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted with your kind and positive comments and happy we were able to deliver on our brand standards and create a memorable experience for you.

Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our first trip to Madeira and the city of Funchal. The hotel was a 41/2 star in my opinion but had a very nice restaurant that was buffet style dinner and free breakfast. Indoor heated pool and hot tub on 1st floor and outside heated pool which was very nice too. Poolside drink service and snacks, umbrellas and comfortable loungers. Having to pass in cards for our towels was a bit of a pain especially for the indoor pool as you ha to go to anger level to get towels and return them to get your cards back. Hotel was nice and clean although hallways were dark and mood lighted with low led lighting. Bar was nice with nightly live music and daily Zumba lessons. Or rom was ocean view with private deck and nice amenities. Tins of restaurants within 5 minute walk. TIP....going to and from airport take the Aerobus as it cost 5 euro versus the 42 we paid for cab. Over all very nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view a bit more expensive but worth it in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for taking time to post your review.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. Also happy to hear you enjoyed our entertainment.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Melia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing