We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to enjoy the sun and nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

perfect honeymoon for us. 10 days spent in a flowers paradise. The island has all the conditions for enjoying your holiday:sun, mountains, beach, friendly people. The motorway in the island is perfect and the old road has magnific views. Conections to villages are well done by bus or if you want you cand rent a car (but is expensive).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank adriandinu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose this hotel as we were looking for a place with indoor swimming pool where children are allowed to enter. And in that aspect hotel delivered well.
Hotel is clean and modern, room quality is fine except for the view from the room which we got that was not great (see the room tip). Food was good, nothing to complain about.
Hotel is in good location, walking distance to Funchal city centre and surrounded by shops, bars and car rentals. In front of it there is a promenade where you can walk. The problem may be for those who want to swim in the sea as i do not remember seeing any beach in the neighbourhood but i think that's the overall Madeira issue.
Summarizing - good memories which would be even better if we had better room.

Room Tip: Be careful with a sea view rooms and ask for the room in the front part of the hotel. Our sea view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank czesiuradek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice hotel located in Funchal. Quality service offering help and assistance 24 hrs/day, clean rooms, swimming pools inside and outside the hotel, tasty food. Wifi in the lobby as well as in the rooms. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marcin394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Melia Madeira for one week and was slightly disappointed. The Island itself is lovely and there are things to do, however I would highlight that as a young couple we did feel that the island itself is suited more to older couples.

The Melia hotel was always clean and tidy but didn't have a 'resort' feel to it. The staff were mostly good although I would have expected more from a 5* hotel. Hugo, the pool assistant was very friendly and attentive. Most of the waiters were friendly however a few were not.

We felt the food was not of a 5* rating. Yes, there is lots of choice at breakfast, which we would expect at a 5* hotel but taste wise, there could be improvements.

The entertainment was ok but as a whole the evenings were lacking atmosphere and most acts played to a hand full of people.

The room was cleaned everyday and the maids were friendly. The room itself was well presented but had the feel of a city centre location and not a resort. It is effectively a hotel with a pool.

We haven't written this review to complain or critique every aspect of the hotel as there are also many positives. We just left with an overall feeling of slight disappointment and were not too sad to be leaving.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. Sad to hear we did not entirely meet with your satisfaction and that you felt slightly disappointed on the whole.

We appreciate your constructive criticism and respect your opinion.

Our customer remarks and comments are discussed internally as part of our ongoing efforts in attaining guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your positive mention of Hugo and our apologies for the inconsistency in friendly service attendance in the restaurant outlets.

We do hope, nonetheless, that you will reconsider visiting our island and Meliá Madeira Mare.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Firstly let me say that my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Madeira. It's a beautiful island with plenty to do and see.

We booked the Melia Mare having read some of the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor, but unfortunately for the most part, we do not agree with what's been said.

The hotel is decorated nicely but it all feels a little bland and cold, and the decoration and facilities are in no way consistent with what I would call a resort.

There is only one manned bar throughout the day - the poolside bar - where service was incredibly slow and staff barely courteous, though the pool attendant Hugo Peres was incredibly helpful and incredibly hard working.

We were of the understanding through our half board package with a tour operator that our breakfast and dinner were included in the cost. What the tour operator failed to mention was that at dinner this did not include drinks. Whilst this is not the fault of the hotel, it should be noted that the hotel did not provide a drinks menu for dinner, instead you simply receive a bill to sign at the end of the meal advising of the cost of your drinks. However, tea and coffee were free at breakfast - why this would be the case and yet you have to pay for water at dinner is beyond me. Having to pay for drinks at dinner cost us an extra 100 Euros that we had not budgeted for.

In addition, dinner did not start until 19:30 which to my mind is incredibly late for those looking to go out in the evening. I should note that for the most part the food was pretty good, although not exceptional. Service was average, though there was a young trainee who was the most attentive and friendly.

Working in tandem with the late dinner start time was the rather early start time of the evening "entertainment". The entertainment started at 20:30 meaning that for the first hour of their performance the guests were still having dinner, meaning that they were performing to nobody. The acts were too loud and for the most part not particularly good (unless you call pre-recorded 80's music with questionable singing over the top good). The acts normally finished at 23:00 to approximately 8 people watching. Serious improvement is needed on the timings of the hotels evening events.

On the plus side, the hotel was clean, comfortable, well located and has a decent pool area, though not a pool area consistent with a resort. Madeira is famed for its beautiful plants and gardens, and yet for some reason this hotel has opted for concrete, slates and wicker chairs, which made the hotel feel somewhat clinical, albeit not unpleasant. The hotel was not particularly full and this combined with its relatively bland décor led to a real lack of atmosphere.

If we were to visit Madeira again unfortunately I don't think it would be to the Melia Mare. It serves its purpose as a decent place to rest your head, but a 5 star resort this is not.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the road, these would be too noisy as buses and lorries are constantly flying d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Firstly we're happy you enjoyed our beautiful island and your trip as a whole.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're sorry regarding the regrettable lapse in communication between the Tour Operator and yourself relative to drinks on half board basis and thank you for your drawing our attention relative to the drinks menu issue.

The restaurant normally opens at 19h00, however, during the summer months we find that the majority of our guests prefer to have dinner a little later as they normally arrive later from daytime outings/trips, excursions and/or other activities.

However, your feedback is most appreciated and of vital importance to us in our efforts in enhancing on the provision of quality services and standards - something which we are constantly working on with a view to creating memorable stays and experiences for our guests.

Our hotel is a Brand hotel and renowned to be more in line with a zen and chill out type of property with relaxation areas and provision of an unobtrusive service.

We're sorry we did not entirely meet with your expectations and thank you for your constructive criticism, which I can assure you has been discussed internally.

We do hope you will reconsider staying with us upon your next return visit.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really good experience. Good breakfast, clean, comfortable and quiet rooms. The view from the rooms is wonderful.
We ate a couple of time at the pool's bar and it was ok. The staff is really friendly and helpful, but from our opinion the best guy in the staff is Hugo Filipe who entertained us every evening with a new cocktail at the hotel's bar and his recipes have never disappointed us.
If we'll have the chance we will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your review! We're delighted we were able to create a good experience during your stay and that you enjoyed our fabulous sea views ! .. We are indeed privileged in our oceanfront location.

Hugo Filipe shall be most appreciative of your mentioning him especially and that you enjoyed his cocktails ! All comments are shared internally and passed onto staff as this serves as motivation to continue to provide our guests with enjoyable and memorable stays.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next decide on visiting Madeira Island.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What great staff and beautiful hotel!!
I stayed here a few years ago and just loved it!! The views were gorgeous and such a relaxing place to stay.
The food in both restaurants was great!!
If I ever have the luck to get back to Madera I would always go back to this hotel

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your great review on Tripadvisor. Appreciate your loyalty and delighted you had a most relaxing stay with us and that our services and facilities continue to meet with your satisfaction.

We do sincerely hope you will return to Madeira in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back to Meliá Madeira Mare!

With kind regards and Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £85 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing