We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Better than ever"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just arrived home after stopping at the Melia Mare for the 2nd time.My wife & i stayed for 7 nights & could not fault the hotel in anyway.We have stopped in all the 5* hotels in Funchal apart from Reids & find this hotel offers the best of everything.Excellent large bedrooms,with all modern facilities.We only stayed h/b but the breakfast were superb,catering for every taste.The service from staff was very efficient,special mention to Alberto in the restaurant for his very professional & polite manner & Deborah our room maid who kept it clean & tidy.Fantastic location,great sea views from our balcony.
Will be looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

I stayed at this super hotel with my husband and father-in-law. I had researched many of the hotels in Madeira after my father-in-law decided that, out of all other destinations, he wanted to visit the island, so my choice was crucial. We knew exactly what Madeira had to offer to different age groups. Our aim was to give my father in law a holiday to remember and I believe that we certainly achieved this in the very best way possible. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the reception staff were exceptionally attentive, including allowing us to change our rooms to ones that had a better sea view. The bedrooms were well appointed, with robes and slippers, free internet access and a safe, and were extremely comfortable. My only gripe was that tea, coffee and milk was not always replenished. We bought some (alcoholic) drinks from the local supermarket and kept them in the mini fridge in the room, that worked out cheaper than the bar prices.
Breakfast was plentiful, with choices of fruit, bread, cereals, cheese, meats, cooked food and drinks (from tea to sparkling wine), Although the choices did not vary greatly from day to day, you could apply your own variations each day and in such quantity that you didn‘t need to eat again until evening. The staff were young and very willing to help and serve, speaking English far better then our attempts at Portuguese.
We had paid for a flexi-dine option giving us half board for half of our stay, so we enjoyed themed buffets and some table-d’hote options. There was always far more food and choice than you could eat, whether you chose a healthy salad/veg option or not. Friday evening was BBQ night when residents were invited to meet the manager and his staff. The chef also took the opportunity to mingle with guests. Our evenings were very pleasant with the manager and his deputies being very sociable talking to all guests. The restaurant and bar staff were wonderful and it would be unfair to name individuals as they were all fantastic and it was evident that all enjoyed their jobs.
We used the outdoor pool most days and the indoor pool occasionally when the weather was overcast. There was never a rush for the plentiful sun-beds, and the pool bar staff were fantastic, in keeping with other staff in the hotel, with the world cup proving a common denominator for all staff and guests. We had booked a package holiday but we (my husband and I) intend to revisit the hotel very soon and use it as a base to see more of the island. We recommend the hotel and its facilities to all prospective visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I travelled to Madeira and stayed at Melia Madeira Mare with my husband and my mother to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious. The breakfast was delicious and included champagne! We had our breakfast everyday on the terrace overlooking the pool and ocean. Also, the hotel staff was very helpful and suggested restaurants in town. They also arranged a pickup service to restaurants in nearby Camara dos Lobos. They were also very helpful in arranging a rental car and also ferry tickets to Porto Santo. I would most certainly return to Melia Madeira Mare.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby12355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Firstly if you have the opportunity to stay at this hotel, then take it, you will not be disappointed.

The staff at reception are very polite, friendly and courteous. I think they must speak at least 10 languages between them, so do not worry if your not of Portuguese tongue.

Rooms are spot on. Plasma TV's, his and hers sinks, robes, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and even a free, yes free, safe for your bits n bobs. Also around 6.30pm every evening you'll have the pleasure in meeting the lovely Debora, who will visit your room for the complimentary turn down service and free chocolate.

The food at breakfast is plentiful, with a vast buffet selection to suit all. No complaints from us whatsoever, (as we only stay 5*), so ignore other peoples whining...! We stayed half board which included evening meals. During our visit the hotel upgraded the buffet menu to Al A Carte for free for 3 nights of our stay which was delightful. (Pictures will be included).

The restaurant staff cant do enough for you, be it at breakfast or dinner they are always willing to make your meal times a pleasure. To mention a few names we have Filipe the restaurant Manager, Luisa, Nelia and Nuno, servicing the guests and Amandieu the Head Chef. Plus lots of other ready and willing staff.

During the day time there will be no fighting for sunbeds or worrying about dirty towels as clean ones are available at the poolside 24/7. A lot of the guests like to go on daily walks around the levadas or go visiting the botanical gardens, so there are always sun beds available. The sun beds are covered with a sponge matteress each day so comfort is guaranteed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig-Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

If you travel to funchal i recommend staying in Mélia Madeira Mare. They have a nice view to the beach, good location and friendly employees, also the breakfeast is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACatarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We booked this hotel as it was a 5 star rated hotel.

Before I talk about the hotel I want to give people some advice about Madeira as an Island that I wish we had known or at least looked into before hand. It's an extremely quiet island with next to no night life, we went in June and which is one of the "blanket months" which has a thick cloud over the whole island about 90% of the time, if you are a sun worshipper this is not the place for you! there are no sandy beaches. The first thing we noted about the island was the general age of other tourists which was all retirement + age. Having said that if you like more cooler weather with out so much sun and are eldery then Madeira is the place for you : )

Back to the hotel, it was very clean and rooms were nice. Breakfast was very average buffet which constantly ran out of items of food so each morning you would get most food but would then have to track down a staff member to ask can I get some... the staff were pleaseant but very forgetful, this became annoying after a while. Also thebuffet food was not labelled so you had to lift the lid on everything to see what was what, the food was also luke warm.

Dinner was confusing when we arrived, staff walked past us as we stood in the middle of the restaurant, it stated two restaurants but it was basically a choice of a la carte or buffet but both seated in the same area so while paying a la carte prices the people next to us were getting up and down every two mins for buffet food, not so relaxing.
We opted for the buffet but like the breakfast, items ran out like rolls, I got soup but had to wait ten mins to get a roll! We really like eating out but the food was very disappointing.
We retired to our room after being a little deflated to watch a film, the films were 12 euro, but buying them became difficult as the process was not in english, when we eventually did buy them there was subtitles and a problem with sound, reception were unable to help and said they would cancel the movie which as it turns out was still on our bill which I refused to pay for.
I also wanted to note the air conditioning in the room is poor, on one night I had to sit out on the balcony as it was cooler than the room. I mentioned this at reception they did resolve the problem but temperatures were not as they should be for a proper air con system
My girlfriend got her hair blow dried in the spa/salon she was left waiting 45 mins, the cost was low 15 euro plus products she was told which ended up as 28 euro, I'm not sure how shampoo and conditioner can work out at 13 euro? Massages were very over priced.

I'm not sure how hotels are rated in Madeira but in comparison to Ireland and UK this was no where near a 5 star. The prices were high for the quality.

To sum up the hotel it was clean staff were pleasant, food was disappointing, if you are expecting five star you will be disappointed. I question if the people writing reviews of this hotel are in fact patrons of the hotel and if so have they ever actually stayed in a 5 star.

Regarding the island, if you like the sun enjoy dressing up and going for really good meals and some night life this is not the island for you. We are in our late 20's early 30's but found it to be extremely quiet and quite a dull (in our humble opinion) island as regarding glamour nice bar's and good restaurants. As mentioned we talked to older people 70+ and they were very fond of the island. I would recommend Reids for afternoon tea, the service there was more in line with a 5 star.
Attached are some weather pics and some at night of the hotel.
I note some references to other peoples post's on this hotel. This is simply our opinion of the hotel after staying there and everyone is entitled to their opinion. Thank you.
Enjoy your holiday where ever you go : )

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sidguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The hotel is new, modern and provides a touch of elegance to this beautiful island. The staff are extremely professional and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Yes, it is about a 40 minute walk into town, but it's hardly arduous and actually sheer pleasure. Local bars and restaurants offer incredible value for money (even the more "touristy" ones) and, as the island is geared around tourists, they do their best to make you welcome. A few areas for improvement - breakfast staff could be more attentive (offering tea and coffee etc), the bar was a little lacking in atmosphere and the "heated" pool did feel rather cold, but these are minor quibbles.
A First Class Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glindaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £88 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing