We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dear Management!”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I wished you had kept to your 5* rating.
Charged for an omelette for room service, where as, there is no charge, at breakfast.
We waited over an hour for an iron and ironing board, called 3 times.
You cannot sit on the balcony, that was really disappointing.
For £300 a night i don't think so.
Everything else,was simply perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,194)
There are newer reviews for The Vine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and booked it for a reasonable price we had a lovely time at this hotel. Room was marvellous and they checked the room twice a day and changed towels when used. My girlfriend liked the candy. We liked relaxing at the pool on the roof. We had also an excelent dinner at the restaurant at the top. The location near the city center and not in the hotel district made it perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubenBertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Vine was a pretty good hotel to stay at but there were a couple of small things that let it down

Positives
1. The breakfast - is very generous and generally made the hotel
2. The price was pretty good

The negatives
1. The room service generally sucked. They had some really strange icecream from the restaurant on the room service. Just Vanilla and chocalate would have been great!! The bolognese was good. Caesar salad was strange tasting
2. The shower leaks onto the bathroom and toilet floor. I dont really like water on the toilet floor.
3. Lack on light for my gf to put on make up. Fix the lighting!!!
4. The lack of food options in the hotel. You could only choose from the restaurant upstairs but once you ate there once you dont really want to eat there again.

Overall it was the breakfast that really redeemed this place!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed at The Vine Hotel at the beginning of December. The weather was fine, no rain, sometimes cloudy but constant 20 C plus and we were never cold, even in the evenings.
The hotel is superb and one of the best we have stayed in. We had a grand deluxe room with double aspect and a view of the harbour (room 503 I think). It is definately worth asking for a room higher up as the views are incredible.
The hotel is above a shopping centre which sounds odd, but is not a problem as there is never any noise. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is one of the best we have had in a continental hotel.The roof top pool and sun terrace was spectacular, we seemed to have it to ourselves most days!
The little touches such as sweets, fruit and chocolates left in our room randomly made us feel special. The complimentary minibar was also a nice touch. All the staff were friendly and seemed to speak most languages.
I would recomend this hotel and we will be returning next year!

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Being located nearer to old town (and the good restaurants) is very, very nice. The hotel itself is also good, but I don't normally spend that much time within hotels anyway during my trips if I can help it. The rooms are spacious, with perhaps excessive focus on design (for instance, shower room door that you can't close from inside due to handle being only outside, and excessive amount of electronic buttons, and motion sensors around ;>).

Still, I have enjoyed the stay so far (middle of the trip), the breakfast buffet is good (and there are cooked additional options), mini-bar contents by default are included in price (refilling costs), and the location is just brilliant.

Would I come here again? Probably yes, at least if I were coming to Funchal in general.

Room Tip: Road noise might be annoying if you're light sleeper (there's bonus blinds to damp down the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at The Vine Hotel the first week of December and had a great time! They thought of all the tiniest details, which made our trip way more enjoyable. They gave us a map of Madeira and told us some good places to see, put candies and chocolates on our bed every day, catered to our every question and need. It was great! I loved that the minibar was complimentary, it made us feel like rockstars! The pool and bar on the rooftop are very cool and show you a great view of the whole city and bay. We also went to the Uva restaurant on the roof of the hotel the first night and were treated excellently. They never made us wait for any service, we got a complimentary first dish, great wine and the food was absolutely fantastic. If you go there, try the chicken cream soup and the steak! The only thing I could think of that wasn't so great about the hotel was the bottles of shampoo etc. that are in the shower. They were impossible to open, especially with wet hands, and since they were square, I couldn't squeeze anything out of them. Other than that, no complants whatsoever! Location of the hotel is great, right in the center, so we didn't have to walk far. The cherry on the cake was their great hospitality and manners. I got tweeted by the hotel after a few tours and trips we made to ask how they were and to wish us a nice day the next day. Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Madeira :)

Positive:
- Service & hospitality
- Rooms
- Location
- Food!
- Breakfast buffet (very big and great eggs!)

Negative:
- Shampoo bottles are impossible to open
- Shower door didn't close all the way, maybe just stuck?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlissaCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Pros:
This hotel is a great place to stay, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Sleeping comfort is great, location is great, the breakfast is wonderful - asked for a bit stronger coffee and was offered a double espresso, omelets with only egg whites and home made yoghurt is standard, freshly squeezed orange juice.... just everything you want and service with a smile.
The gym is a normal gym, you have full access but share it with all the people who are members, meaning you will have lots of classes to attend (spinning, body pump, Pilates etc). but it might also be more crowded.
The room (we had a junior suite) was big, great, big windows facing two sides gives great view and light. The design is a bit different, stylish and modern.
Free Internet, fast and worked fine, but you have to log in every time, as it will not remember you.
The cons:
The rooms are not very practical... the bathtub is behind the bed, very romantic, but if you like your bedroom to be colder than your bathroom you might have a trouble!
There is a glass door to the toilet and shower, and as several others have mentioned: yes you can see through the glass.
The shower is stylish but leak water so be prepared for lots of water in you room after using it.
In spite of the big room, you end up sitting on your bed, due to the planning.
The coffee maker is nice, but the hotel offers you 3 shots (one being decaffeinated) and there after you have to pay 1,5 euro for a coffee. Which is more than you pay if you get out to have a coffee.
All in All - we had an offer where we paid 800 USD for five nights, breakfast and internet included. Great place to stay and will use again if we are in Funchal again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £117 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing