We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Vine is an absolutely wonderful hotel, we couldn't have asked for better on our honeymoon. Central location, stunning decoration, relaxing pool and polite friendly staff made it a trip to remember. The cocktails at the pool bar were great too!

Would recommend this for any couples wanting a relaxing getaway. Not for kids, but Funchal generaly not that kind of holiday anyway. We found the area to be a little bit quieter than we expected but under the circumstances it was exactly what we needed!

Room Tip: Try for an even number, we were in 311 and there was just a little too much noise out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank fatrab2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    579
    119
    26
    11
See reviews for
159
1,466
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Funchal staying at The Vine. We chose this hotel because of its modernity - my husband absolutely loved it and I liked it very much. However for me there were a few little niggles which have already been mentioned by others I.e. the hair dryer, just not practical, the darkness when trying to apply makeup, the underbed ambiance lighting which didn't allow enough time to pop to the loo and back in the dark of the night, the toiletries which were not replenished until we actually left them on the side with the lids off ( a feat to get the lids off!) and the touch lighting overall - My husband confidentiality declared he had it all under control but it still took 10 minutes to get in bed and turn all the lights off each night! Facilities up on the roof terrace were challenging in terms of knowing what was a door and what was a mirror.


Now for the positives which were many:
great room good size and very comfortable bed and always well cleaned
Nice balcony which although looking over the street was interesting to people watch (would have been nice to have had 2 small chairs)
Fantastic location in terms of being able to stroll into Funchal
Excellent rooftop pool area and always able to get a sunbed with lovely big towels (pads on bed a little grubby, could do with updating)
happy hour from noon until 1pm and 6pm to 8pm for alcoholic drinks
Snack menu although limited and food a little fancy it was very tasty
Good breakfast, plenty of choice and good service
Decent cup of tea
Very helpful reception staff
Good Internet access

Apart from the little niggles mentioned above there was no doorman or porters and on the roof terrace I had to get the pads for the sunbeds out myself on a number of occasions. These things didn't really bother me but I would have expected these things to be be spot on in a 5 star hotel.

However overall would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 211 was a very good size and had a street view with a balcony. Not sure the rooms on the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Duration : 7 days.
28.08-4.09


I have never left such a good feedback.
I have been working at ***** hotel for 4 years and I am sure this place will definitely meets ALL your expectations.
You can find there everything you need. Briliant service, perfect location , delicious meals, breathtaking views from terrace and very quiet rooms. There is a supermarket in the small shopping mall located beneath the hotel where you can buy lots of things in a very affordable prices.
Our room was absolutely outstanding, large ,attractively furnished and extremely clean.
The bathroom was massive and nicely appointed. I can recommend Junior Suite located in the back of the hotel for everyone who wants to admire a beautiful lighted Funchal during the night, even lying in a bed ( because of windows located in the front of the bed ). It was unforgettable view !
I attached the view from our room window.
I was completly satisfied and felt very good for the whole staying because of excellent atmosphere and very helpful staff.

I will visit Madeira within 2 years and I will definitely choose The Vine Hotel and if you consider your holidays in Madeira in Funchal, there is nothing to discuss. You must stay here !



Expression of thanks for all The Vine Hotel team and I hope I will see you soon again.


Peter

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piotr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent in the Vine hotel 8 nights, and we had a wonderful time. We spent our honeymoon there and on our arrival a bottle of champange waited us on ice in our room, which was a very nice surprise from the hotel's management. We also got a bigger room than expected, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank veghrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in this centrally located 5 star hotel. We stayed in Room 506 with a lovely view of the sea. Very ultra modern room with glass walls separating the toilet, shower and bath areas - I was able to soak in the bath while watching the TV.
Holmes Place gym was accessed via the lift as was the shopping centre. Excellent and attentive staff.
Reids, the Ritz and lots of lovely restaurants are all within easy walking distance. We plan to return next Easter.
Anne and Gary Skerritt

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just got back from 1 week at the vine, check ok, man took us too our room 508 and showed us how to work everything, great view of Funchal and the sea. Twin room with shower, toiletries in shower were half full not new, windows in the room were so dirty I had to ask for them to be cleaned, bed and bedding ok, towels ok, had to ask for the robes, room very tired and worn marks on Walls and tables. Breakfast each morning was ok, pool area, some of the sun beds were very worn and plastic coming away at the sides which was sharp if you caught your leg on it , especially the one by the jacuzzi , the cushions were a little dirty, the jacuzzi was very cold and so was the pool, no problem getting a sun bed. The spa area was ok beds, steam room and jacuzzi which was only 31deg but the notice on the wall said it should be 34 deg it never was even though I did complain it then went to 32 deg.
The staff on reception were always very helpful and would print off bus time tables, find out what ever you wanted to know about your trips etc , they were 5 star, they even sorted out a taxi tour in a village after we got off the bus tour which was a great help as the bus did not go we're we wanted to go.
I would rate it as a 4 star, it just needs a bit of attention to the sunbeds, cushions and decorating etc to keep it up to the 5 star standard, as it is it will never make the leading hotels of the world list.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the town. 508 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sure very expensive but very beautiful. Not a stereotype design hotel, very particular and personal. Nice time there. Enjoy the pool on the roof, with the better panorama of the city. Mountains and sea.

Room Tip: The suite are really exceptional, with bath in front of the windows, in the center of the room. A sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francoisbouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Property: The Vine Hotel
Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing