We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel - highly recomended!”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, and had an absoloutly great stay. The staff were very polite, friendly and always smiling. The rooms were quiet, very clean and ultra comfortable.
Many reviews write about the light switches - just take a couple of minutes to listen to the porter explain how to use and this wont be a problem.
The pool and bar area is great with magnificent views. Great food, and happy hour drink prices are unbeatable. Breakfast was also plentiful, with a good choice of teas and juices.
The location could not have been better.
I honestly do not have a bad thing to say.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel and no one to help you.I eventually find the lobby on the second floor.THE receptionist was very nice and very helpful,I told her my luggage is down stairs and no one was there to help.She immediately send a porter to assist.I must say she was very very helpful, to help with my tours and check in. The hotel is very beautiful and the rooftop with a pool and a restaurant is magnificent.You can see the entire madeira on the roof top. What I do not like is the elevater is very dark,and cannot see to press the button,my room was also dark,could not even shave, very difficult to see around because of the dark walls and floors.The shower was like Niagara falls very unuasual and the sink was very uncomfortable and water wets your clothes.This hotel is called a designer hotel,but its too dark for me,the seating area is very uncomfortable.They claim it to be 5 stars I see it as a 4 star.

Room Tip: read my comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KISH60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We love everything about this hotel! The rooms are fantastic, the pool area is perfect for chilling out and has beautiful views of Madeira. The restaurant is first class for fine dining! The hotel is in a perfect spot for exploring Funchal !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for a week room ok but very difficult as had been said to work out lighting. Also as we were at the front of the hotel it was very noisy at night. We found the room to be very dark not easy to shave for men, or put make up on for women as bathroom lighting looks good but impractical. Only tried the restaurant once very pricy but food not a match for the local restaurants which are half the price and much better quality. The breakfasts were good though. Overall the location was good the pool area impressive but too much about the look and not about the taste in the restaurant. Would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: not at the front of the hotel as can be very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cassan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A specialist Taxi company, who only uses Vintage Cars, collected us from our Hotel & took us for a Tour in a Rolls Royce 1959 Silver Cloud.
After the most wonderful Tour, we asked for the Best place with the Best View.

Antonio said you should go see
The '360' view from the Roof Garden & Restaurant of the Vine Hotel in the Dolce Vita Shopping Centre. In 10 years we have never seen a view like that in Funchal.
With a Bar, Pool & Restaurant on the Roof, for the quality of the Food & Wine is Fair. But the view is worth every Euro & more!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John-CruiseSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was a beautiful hotel with an amazing view and location. Could not be happier! My room was gorgeous, the staff was wonderful (they prepared me breakfast for the morning I left). I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mbalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After staying in a more old fashioned property we moved to The Vine for a few nights. It was just what we were looking for, the perfect modern boutique hotel that feels very different from most of Funchal's more old fashioned places that cater to more elderly clientele. The design elements were very striking but also the room was quite comfortable as well. The only complaint is that the light controls are a bit confusing and high tech but they can be figured out within a few minutes.

Breakfast was fantastic and nice that it is served til 1030. The fried polenta is a good hangover cure if you drank too much madeira the night before.

Staff all very very friendly to deal with.

The highlight was time spent on the roof deck looking out across Funchal and the sea. The pool up there is smallish but fine for dipping in to cool off. Great lounge beds and chairs, perfect jazzy soundtrack, nice bar up there too (and a good happy hour). Blissful.

The central location is great for sightseeing but without being based right in a tourist trap area.

The hotel is on top of a shopping centre but don't let that put you off, you forget that instantly when you are in the hotel. And the supermarket in the basement is great. If we return to Funchal we'd definitely stay in the Vine again.

Room Tip: beware some of the rooms have bathtubs kind of in middle of bedroom, if that's not your style th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indiewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £124 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing