We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Hotel”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a deal through travel zoo, on arriving at the hotel , we were struck by the amazing design detail in the reception,and we were then luckily upgraded to a Junior suite.the suite was amazing ,queen sized bed ...a waterfall shower that you could fit a car in (almost ;) ) also a huge bath adjacent to the huge bed.

The breakfast in the hotel was very good, the waiting staff were very attentive .
,
The rooftop terrace was really nice , plenty of sunbeds , the pool was ubor chic....and the staff at the bar on the terrace were very good , check out the happy hour between 18:30 and 20:00 , and give a few of their excellent cocktails a go .

Over the seven days we stayed at The Vine we could not complain about a thing, anything we asked the staff could not be any trouble for them .

WOULD I STOP AT THE VINE AGAIN ????????? YES

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
There are newer reviews for The Vine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just returned from one weeks stay at The Vine and I can't recommend it enough. I have never met hotel staff like those at the hotel. They can't do enough for you.

The rooms are amazing, the rooftop terrace with infinity pool is the most relaxing place I've ever been.

I want to go back and stay there for much longer

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I went on a quick trip to Madeira and while I was walking on the street I saw this fancy hotel. I went straight to 360 Bar on the upper floor...and what an incredible panoramic view of Funchal!! Perfect relaxing enviroment ideal to enjoy a cocktail while taking a bath in the infinity view pool. The place is just tasteful and stylish. I just regret so bad not having taken my swimming suit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Javiripollb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a very good stay at "The Vine". Rooms are very comfortable an the furniture is stylish and modern. It was a nice surprise as we were uprgradet to a suite. The staff is very friendly and always in a good mood. Very good location of the hotel, very easy to reach the center of Funchal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This time we´ve spent 5 days in The Vine.
One of the best we've stayed in Funchal, despite the entrance by the shopping centre.
The swimming pool and the UVA restaurant do have a magnificent 360 degrees breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited The Vine two years ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
They say that you shouldn’t go back to a hotel if you had a good time, but “they” are wrong. Everything about the hotel is stylish and top class. This includes the welcome upon arrival, the accommodation, location, food, drinks, pool area, spa and, of course, the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tp1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just spent a week at the Vine, it was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise, and the rooms are stylish ( if a little dark). The bed was huge and we slept like logs ( although this might have had something to do with the numerous cocktails we consumed in the Terrace bar). Powerful waterfall shower in cubicle-liked it although did leak a bit into the bedroom, but maybe we were a little too enthusiastic with it! Liked the quirky design details of the hotel, especially the breakfast room and lobby area. Good variety at breakfast, pastries, cheeses, hot dishes, fruits and muesli etc. Staff are lovely, warm and welcoming, and whenever we needed anything they couldn't have been more helpful.
Enjoyed lounging by the pool on the comfy double loungers, and the bar is very inviting with beautiful views over Funchal. Happy hour is 6.30 till 8pm and we thought it would be rude not to take advantage! We also tried the restaurant for dinner and were impressed with the quality and presentation of food. Location-wise we found it ideal, and within easy walking distance of both the old town and also the restaurants situated up the hill towards the main hotel zone. The Vine feels like a boutique city-style hotel but a little different because of Funchal's coastal location. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 87 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 87 in Funchal
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £116 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing