We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vine Hotel Funchal”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good location, polite staff. Service overall poor, seem to get forgotten about at breakfast for tea & coffee. Frequently run out of plates for fruit and food.
Room had poor noise insulation from street. Shower floor has been made without any fall towards the drain, I mentioned this to reception, got told all the rooms are like this! Felt sorry for the maid mopping each one out every day.
Control of room lights too fiddly and room too dark. Room only had an expresso maker, no facility to make tea. Towels get changed only if you dump them on the floor, once you get used to system its okay.
Service at pool particularly poor most nights.
Pool area quite small due to location, did not go near when hotel got busy, many hoggers of sunbeds.
Did not try the restaurant at night as menu quite restricted, cost would have been justified if quality was to be good, but bad service on other counts did not want me to try. Especially as there are many good resturant's with good service nearby.
Overall a good stay and would only take a little fine tuning to make it perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Vine” hotel resonates a special calmness with Zen architecture and design, unlike a commodity hotel that can be seen everywhere, or what you would normally find in a resort like Madeira. The unique interest and theme based on four seasons, with rooms committed to the four motivations of the grapes, in a color theme of green during the spring, burgundy during the summer, gray during autumn and brown during the winter. Exelent service with knowledgable staff to plan a blissful day.

Room Tip: Higher floors are large sunny and have favorable views of Funchal. However, the second floor is wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereisMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Interesting hotel but too dark and designer self-important. Not very customer focused from a design perspective but the staff was friendly and well trained and capable. The room was interesting but the shower water covered the floor in one end of my room after I took a shower and the electronic curtains did not work. There was a desk at the end of the bed but it was crowded by a glass cube whose function I could not determine except that it occupied space that would have been better used by the guest. There were no outlets for plugging in computer or charging electronic devices at the desk. In short, it looked cool but did not function well. The designer was only going for some aesthetic goal and not thinking of guest needs. Finally the bed was slightly broken down on one side and I felt like I was tilted to the left when lying down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mfendl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

it was a pleasure staying at the vine, as we were our honeymoon the management upgraded us to an amazing room, the staff were amazing and help full. The location was great as it was near the marina and not to far from the old town. in summary a great hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Roque F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Just finished a great 7 night stay at Hotel The Vine with my fiancé in beautiful Funchal, Madeira. Upon arrival we were surprised when the taxi driver pointed us in the direction of the hotel to find that it is actually situated above a small(ish) shopping centre and found ourselves trundling onto this mall with our suitcases. This ended up being a great thing as there were some lovely shops and a supermarket right on our doorstep! Once you get into the hotel via the lift you completely forget about the unusual entrance as it opens out onto the lobby of a gorgeous boutique style hotel. Staff at the Reception were fabulous on arrival, we were dealt with quickly and in a very friendly manner. We were then escorted to our room personally, and given a guided tour of all the functions and facilities of our room. Room was lovely and modern, beautifully cleaned everyday and spacious. All of the lights were controlled from little panels dotted around the room, sometimes it was a bit difficult to figure out which button did what ( I am no stranger to technology but sometimes I just missed a good old fashioned light switch). After we got settled we explored the roof top terrace which hosts the pool, a bar, restaurant and fantastic 360 degree view of Funchal. The staff at the bar were fantastic - Bruno and his apprentice Luis were so friendly and accommodating - no request was too big or small, absolutely top gentlemen!! The friendly manner is something we found throughout the city. There were a couple of days we were unable to lie out on the terrace as it was so windy, which made it a bit too hot as the umbrellas had to be taken away for safeties sake and there is no other shade up there without them - other sun worshippers persevered with the wind, but it was a bit too manic for us! The hotel is situated within the town centre in a more local area and has lots of little streets to explore with a multitude of bars, shops and restaurants at your disposal! You could probably spend months trying out a different place every night. It is about half an hour or so walk from the more touristy Lido area (baring in mind we are 26-29, it may be a longer walk for others on this very hilly island) which is again filled with a multitude of bars and restaurants to explore. Our one venture to the Lido for food wasn't as good as we had experienced else where, and we actually preferred the more local town centre area better. We visited the espetada restaurant in the Lido area across from The Hole in One bar and although the staff and experience were lovely, I wouldn't recommend the food compared to other places (although, it was a very busy restaurant and that may just be a matter of personal preference). The only hitch we had in our stay was that our air conditioning in the room seemed to give in about 4/5 days in which gave is two very uncomfortable nights sleep (which was our own fault as we didn't mention it right away to the hotel). Into the third day of heat we eventually went and said to the Reception who dealt with the problem very quickly! At the time of day we reported the problem, the maintenance staff had left and weren't able to fix it so the hotel moved us to another room with working air conditioning. Through the greatest luck ever, the only available room they had was a suite, so we ended up with an amazing room double the size of our original room for our last nights stay! We were actually running late for dinner reservations as this was all happening and when we returned after dinner the staff had personally moved all of our things from the old room to the new. I couldn't have hoped for better service dealing with the issue. All in all we had a fabulous stay in Madeira. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a chilled out experience, friendly people, fabulous staff, good food and good drinks!!

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank xtinytravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely.... every thing was perfect...
the staff, the food, the service.... I would recommend to every one!!!
There is a 360º Bar on the top with a magnificent view. The restaurant is one of the beasts that I have Eaten.

Room Tip: Any Room they are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a deal through travel zoo, on arriving at the hotel , we were struck by the amazing design detail in the reception,and we were then luckily upgraded to a Junior suite.the suite was amazing ,queen sized bed ...a waterfall shower that you could fit a car in (almost ;) ) also a huge bath adjacent to the huge bed.

The breakfast in the hotel was very good, the waiting staff were very attentive .
,
The rooftop terrace was really nice , plenty of sunbeds , the pool was ubor chic....and the staff at the bar on the terrace were very good , check out the happy hour between 18:30 and 20:00 , and give a few of their excellent cocktails a go .

Over the seven days we stayed at The Vine we could not complain about a thing, anything we asked the staff could not be any trouble for them .

WOULD I STOP AT THE VINE AGAIN ????????? YES

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £122 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, HostelWorld, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing