We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful respite”
Review of Quinta da Fonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta da Fonte
Ranked #23 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very welcoming and kind owners--we felt as though we were visiting family. Gardens offer a peaceful retreat, and our room revealed an exceptional stunning distant view of the hills leading down to the marina and ocean. Magical at sunset as the lights twinkle across the city. A very good breakfast under a crystal chandelier including homemade jams and fresh fruit from the garden.
Easy to use bus stop outside the gate and excellent touring advice and island history from our host made our stay very pleasurable. We look forward to visiting again and hope to also stay at their second location, Quinta da Capela on the other side of the island.

PS A good taxi driver: Sergio Gomes (00351)919 912 420
sergiopgomez@netmadeira.com

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a very atmospheric, traditional small Quinta, on the hill above Funchal, but below Monte. Even in January it was clad with flowers and very peaceful. It is on a bus route but is only conveniently located if you have a hire car, as it is beyond walking distance from the town, and only restaurants, with only a small Pizzeria nearby. The host family are very friendly and helpful, but you are unaware of their presence...except at breakfast time, when a lovely spread is served. We thought is a perfect base from which to tour the island. Very highly recommended. FRree wifi is available. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I think it happens just once in a life that one enters into a heavenly place to stay with incredible beauty, sophistication and friendliness for a price that doesnt break the bank.
THIS is that place. I am SOO happy to have found it and utterlty amazed that all week I have been staying here alone, although there are 3 rooms.
One does not need a car, as it is only 8 minutes on bus 20 or 21 to Monte from 31 Janeiro street (the busstop on opposite side of the big yellow and red building with tower). It goes every 20 minutes or so. On gets best off in front of the mini-mercado SUPER HABITUR (the stop after a shop with "Frutaria, pastelaria....) and walks back 200 meters, with great view to the left.
The villa is a dream to die for. It has ONLY very old antiques, painstakingly collected by the very nice and humble owner (mainly at auctions). On the ground level is the big room for breakfast (quite good with all you need) and in the back the FREE internet computer on which I type this now. The 3 rooms are on the 1st floor. There's a lounge with TV (some film channels, plus RTL and BBC Entertainment) and a fridge for own things from the supermarket and a minibar with wines for 8 euro, Madeira wine 10 euro, beer and water. Also tourist information and the bus timetables. Add 10 minutes to the times from Monte.
Biggest room is on the right. It has a double bed (120 cm so not too big but that's how beds were in the old days). That bed is soft enough for me. I slept like a rose and I always need SOFT beds. a 2-seater sofa, table, big bathroom with bath, a heater in room as in all 3 rooms. To the left of that lounge is a smaller room with 4-poster canopy bed and chairs and bathroom, etc.
Next to that room is a twin bedroom ,small, now no seating area but owner's daughter might change that and put the twins in the big room.
The heaters are useful in winter. No TVs in rooms but who needs that? Quiet place and rooms and no sounds from next room.
As said, all the villa is crammed with antiques so also the rooms. It feels like being in a museum.
One can stare at art forever. There is even a nice chapel (opened on request) that can be used for weddings, Very nice altar.
Very nice garden all around with many sorts of flowers, great view down to Funchal and the cruise ships. 3 cats in the house but hardly noticed them but enjoyed them when I did see. There are 4 family members living in the house currently but I hardly heard them either. Walls and floors are very thick. I think that keeps heat out in summer.
The special thing is the great friendlliness of owners. I could talk with daughter Regina who takes care of the business, speaks excellent English as if she is British and has her own bookbinding workplace in separate building. This friendliness of whole family is something I am going to cherish for a long time as it made this 13th trip so extra special.
It is SOOOO different from being treated in hotels in the usually distant way.
It has to be said that Quinta da Fonte is a very romantic place to stay so best suited for couples.
Chances are that you will also be only guests but that is not what I hope for this great family as the B&B is very important income for them This is a place that should have a 6-month waiting time for a free room and fully would deserve that.
If you also will stay or have stayed here, DO write a review as they ask by a Tripadvisor card.
Everybody with need for something very special should come here.
They said they had a guest who came from Reid's but liked it here better and so do I.
I always dreamed of staying in Palacio de Seteais in Sintra, as I love palaces but this Quinta has it all also, at very low price and was the perfect alternative.

Room Tip: Room 1 (the biggest one) but each of the 3 have its specialty like a canopy bed or twin beds (the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well, it was something unbelievable. Wonderful place. Everything was working so good. Clean, friendly and the neighborhood so great. Very good situation. And the flowers . . . Everything so good. Please - take a hike - go there, you would like it! We go again if we have time & life.

Room Tip: Please ask this. There are somebody who knows. You can always have the best. No swimming pool, no f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Amazing small hotel, like stepping into a museum. Beautiful gardens with incredible views of Funchal. The family who own it were really friendly and extremely helpful for planning all aspects of our holiday. The hotel is slightly out of the centre but the buses are reliable, frequent and very easy to get the hang of. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stay there for four days during our first visit on this beatiful island. Adorable house with great view and super nice owners.
Quick ride with realtively ofthen (every 20 minutes) departing buses will take to center of Funchal, where you can enjoy a lot of restaurants. House it self is quiet and will allow you to relax.
Great value for money.it also serves well as base for sightseeing whole island.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bartosz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Baden_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#60 of 88 in Funchal
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
2.4 mi away
Casa do Papagaio
Casa do Papagaio
#5 of 35 in Funchal
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quinta Mar & Sol
Quinta Mar & Sol
#2 of 35 in Funchal
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vila Marta
Vila Marta
#4 of 35 in Funchal
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vitorina Corte Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Fonte

Address: Estrada dos Marmeleiros 89 | Imaculado Coracao de Maria, Funchal, Madeira 9050-209, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: £55 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Fonte 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Funchal and Monte, Quinta da Fonte, a stylishly restored manor house dating back to the 1850's is surrounded by enchanting gardens with subtropical trees and giant cactus. It offers a fantastic view of the city of Funchal and its bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Quinta da Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Fonte Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing