We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place inexpensive”
Review of Arco Velho

Arco Velho
Ranked #236 of 616 Restaurants in Funchal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: * Welcome to the Restaurant ARCO VELHO Our meals are made with the best quality ingredients. Visit us and feel at home.Our Team, highly trained, is anxious to serve you. The environment that involves you, as soon as you arrive, will make you our regular customer.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place inexpensive”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We only wanted light lunch for 3 and ordered Tapas no1 which proved far to big for 3 and only €15, and with bolo do caco garlic bread and a litre of wine and coffees came to under €30 including service

Tapas had king prawns,whelks,winckles,mussels,green lip mussels , crab,limpets cockles all in different sauces plus dips.

Very nice, decent price.service relaxed and won't suit all but suited us!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornwallgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick bite”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stopped off for a light lunch after stepping off the cable car. Service was friendly; shellfish tapas was very tasty and large portions. Garlic bread was home made and decent. Stopped off for a drink an another day and again the service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great budget option with tasty traditional dishes”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This was a no frills place on the front, and it was refreshing not to have someone badger you to book a table or look at the menu. The food is really well priced, simple and tasty. I especially liked their soup to start (tomato and egg).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bumbletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilchenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lil terrace restaurant perfect for light lunch or late afternoon snack”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

After touring Monte and Monte Palace Tropical Garden in the morning this was a short walk from the cable car that took us up the mountain. Outdoor terrace seating allows for no shortage to people watching in the Old Town. We orded grilled Sardines and Scabbard fish and 1/2 liter of local wine, they brought grilled garlic bread to our table which we didn't order, but it showed up on the bill (minimum charge) and it was good. The staff was warm and welcoming...therefore when we found ourselves back on this side of Funchal we stopped in for another small afternoon meal (this time without the bread).

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoobiesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“great value for money and good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We dined in Arco Velho two nights in succession.Excellent standard of food on both nights, very good value and friendly service. In a very c ompetitive area of the old city this restaurant stands out as one of the better ones.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank tommywelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arco Velho also viewed

 

Been to Arco Velho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing