We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather upstairs where it’s pleasant”
Review of Ca Te Espero

Ca Te Espero
Reserve with
Ca Te Espero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 620 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ca te Espero is a typical restaurant with a long tradition. It has been known for its quality and for its cosy and homy atmosphere, since 1976.Our food quality is the result of the use of fresh ingredients in the preparation and cooking of our traditional recipes. We point out Bife de Atum com Milho Frito (Tuna fish Steak with fried Maize), Filete de Espada com Banana (Fried Scabbard fish with Banana), Pepper Steak and Pork Fillet Ca te Espero Style.We will be very pleased to welcome you!
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rather upstairs where it’s pleasant”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I recommend dining in the second floor terrace where the atmosphere is nice. Live piano music in the evening, is rather comfortable and relaxing. We ate this local “espetada” traditional food and this time it was good. In my taste the food allover in Madeira is spiced a bit too short, but this was awesome. Because this dish is so common you can get meat that is not from the best parts, but now even this was proper. The personal is polite and professional and will welcome you more like friends than customers. Good feeling all together so please, give the place a change and challenge it among the hundreds all around.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rytkynpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    115
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AllenGAllenG
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

i have been coming to MAdeira for many years now and invariably dine here at least twice during my stay. I always find
the food to be of excellent quality , well cooked and nicely served. The pork in curry, espada and espedata and indeed steaks are lovely. Garlic bread and fresh salad are invariably super . House white wine is also good. I think that this restaurant deserves a higher rating and find some previous negative comments astonishing as I have had less tasty food at so called higher rated establishments and at a higher price!

I shall be back in Funchal in a coupleofweeks timeand be assured that I am looking forward to eating in Ca Te Espero at that time and am sure that I will not be disappointed on any count.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenGAllenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, food mediocre”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent the last evening going down the street from Quinta da Casa Branca. The reception was very friendly, when we said we had reserved table we very led to the upper level, which was much nicer with live music compared with the entrance at street level. We had excellent service, but the food was not very good. What a disappointment. I have learned through the years that a full and busy restaurant often is much better than a half empty one. Could that be the explanation ? I feel that they warrant a second visit !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the walk...”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We would not have found this restaurant without TripAdvisor but it was worth the walk. The garlic bread was the best on the island, the house wine was good and the fish with banana local speciality nicely cooked. The service was also just right. We sat outside, upstairs, which was very pleasant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretOkehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Double Ambience instead of Ambulance?”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The management has obviously been stung by the ongoing criticism about the lack of Ambulances! Unable to fit even one ambulance inside the restaurant, they have instead tried to double up on the ambience by adding a talented live piano player side by side with a huge but silent TV screen showing football matches.
Wen queried if they thought it appropriate to run piano player alongside footie the waitress kindly offered to change the channel!
The "beef on a stick" remains excellent quality and value. Soup, chips and vegetables are on a level with canteen meals.
Still missing any ambulances or real ambience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ca Te Espero also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Ca Te Espero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing