We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best smiles and service in town. ”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #113 of 616 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best smiles and service in town. ”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Madeira now for 21yrs.We visit at least 5 times a year.Best food and service and great value for money. Always made welcome and not just because we are regulars.Fabio runs as fast as he can to serve and to please, Nelio makes the drinks with a smile.All the other waiters work so hard too and wait on us English tourists hand and foot.How dare anyone say they are not friendly or ignore.Think about it guys, if they came to England, what a shock as our waiters or waitresses do not run after you it aim to please. Lots of pubs and restaraunts in our country are self service so whoever said the remarks must be hard to please. Keep up the hard work guys .Fred and Bev

Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    212
    57
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Size this one up”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Excellent low-priced Italian restaurant with the fastest and friendliest service we found in Funchal. Had a spaghetti dish on each visit and the quality was excellent and the portions were huge. Get there early, it fills up quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derrick_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A little Pasta anywhere in the world spreads happiness.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Casa Italia is a little off the beaten track opposite The Palms Hotel at the Lido. It has a pasta and pizza menu, plus a specials board outside. In the summer there is decking on the roadside with tables and chairs, making a nice al fresco alternative to dinning inside. The food is very good and the wine menu very reasonable, especially if you choose Portuguese over the Italian. I had the Sea Bream over a bed of Tagliatini, it was delicious. My wife had the Gambertini Spaghetti (Prawn), which also was good. With seafood crepes for starters. We went again the second week and had Carbonara, and I tried the Gambertini Spaghetti. Both nights were equally successful, the staff are very friendly, and very efficient. The wine was excellent picked the dry Vinho Verde (young green wine), complimented the pasta to perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This restaurant is always being recommended by tripadvisor members so we thought we had better try it ourselves .We called in one lunchtime and had the half pizza with salad .It was a huge plateful and so fresh .Great value at 5.50 euros .Service was good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed...”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We dined here on our first night as it was very conveniently located alongside the Eden Mar. We had an outside table which initially worried us, being located alongside the taxi rank, but they are very good at turning off their engines when they pull up and it was fun to watch everything going on.

The service was good and the waiters friendly but I have to say we were disappointed with the food. The pizzas were clearly not made with mozzarella, but some cheese which liberated an orange coloured oil. I would expect a pepperoni pizza to be oily, but not a margherita or hawaiian and they just seemed very average to us, a point confirmed when we had excellent pizza at Papa Manuel and Solar da Adjuda. Similarly my son’s spag bol was very watery, as if the pasta hadn’t been drained properly.

However full marks when the bill came up, 40 Euros for the four of us was incredibly cheap and half the price of anywhere else we ate. Looking at the other reviews maybe we were just unlucky.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CrockettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing