We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Promenade
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lince Hotel Madeira(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$402
US$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$366
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$110
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$215
US$193
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,929)
Filter reviews
1,929 results
Traveller rating
1,268
528
101
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
528
101
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean resortsea viewpool areadeck barlovely hotelthe air conditioningbus stopplenty of sunbedstime sharelocal restaurantsthe ground floorsuperior roomplenty of choicehappy hoursun loungersforum shopping centrehalf board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,929 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel and it was superb. On arrival we were upgraded to a ground floor room this was described as a ocean view room and although this was not the best room for viewing the ocean the fantastic plants outside more than made up for this when sitting outside. We had half board accommodation and the evening buffet catered easily for both me and my partner who is vegetarian (the menu does say that a vegetarian option is available but did not need this as the salads were varied and plentiful). All the staff throughout the hotel are friendly and courteous and all areas are kept spotless. It is well worth a few trips out of the hotel and we found the yellow bus company to be very good but as they say other company's are available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pestana Promenade Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We were very happy to hear that our team was able to create memorable experiences for you and you were overall happy with the services provided by our colleagues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pestana Promenade Hotel.

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We exchanged into a Studio Timeshare Unit using RCI Points.
We were delighted to find that the Studio, on the 3rd floor, was large with two single beds together, an armchair, table and 2 chairs & flat screen TV. It was a lock off unit. It also had a lovely balcony with table and chairs and a superb view of the large pool and the sea beyond.
There was a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, microwave and 2 ring hob but no oven. There was plenty of crockery and cooking utensils for the 2 of us.
The bathroom was quite big too and included a shower over the bath and a bidet.
Pestana Promenade is a modern hotel and timeshare and there is a restaurant and a snack bar by the pool.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the gardens were beautifully maintained with lots of colourful flowers and bushes.
The staff was very very helpful. In fact, there was nothing we could really fault.
There was a gate to the lower promenade which you re-entered with your room key.
The resort was just a 15/20 minute walk into Funchal town and there was a taxi rank 100 yards along the road and plenty of all types of restaurants nearby.
Would love to go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.There are some rooms with views of the car park although you still get a side sea view from those.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetraveller_20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pestana Promenade Hotel We are extremely pleased that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed your experiencewith us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The hotel is in an excellent location for a restful break, but at the same time there is easy access to get into Funchal center.
We do our very best to make sure our guests are looked after and at feel at home, therefore your review is greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel, and I would definitely consider staying here again. The room was clean, spacious, and had a fantastic ocean view that also overlooked down on to the pools and garden areas. The hotel itself was a short walk from plenty of bars and restaurants. The only negatives I can think of are the long waits for the lifts (use the stairs) and the air conditioning could have been a tiny bit colder!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and also a pleasure to know that you were well pleased with our room amenities on offer, service and other facilities at the hotel.
Your comments about, lifts and ir conditioning were send to our manegment, to be analised.

Thank you once again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have spent an excellent week at this hotel.Upon arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked so we spent the first night in a wonderful two bedroom apartment and were then upgraded to room 1119 with an ocean view,The room was spacious,well furnished and handily located for the swimming pools and beautifully kept gardens.We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis,an excellent choice at breakfast.We preferred to have our evening meals in the nearby restaurants or Funchal town centre,which is a short taxi ride or bus journey away,€6 or €1.90.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankmol62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay.

we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and was pleased with the service and facilities at the property.
All your kind comments with regards to your arrival experience, were already shared with our manegemnent.
Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the resort. It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to ensure you will want to return.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

During shool holiday in Germany we have just spent a week in this comfortable hotel with relaxing atmosphere. Even our children (17 and 18) were impressed and felt very convenient although there were no others in their age. All employees are very friendly, the hotel is very clean and many of the rooms have a seaside view. The pools are large enough to swim so we did not miss any beach there (although there is a chance to get into and swim in the sea within a short distance). We enjoyed the good gym room, the billard room, the cocktail bar and obviously the excellent breakfast buffett. One evening we had dinner in the hotel; it was good but not good enough to have us stay in the hotel for dinner every evening. (And we did find few exciting restaurants around!).

Room Tip: Road work is still ongoing, but it was not too noisy for us. However, once the road will be finished, then the road will be certainly extremely busy. So it will be certainly appropriate do avoid a room to the street (most of the rooms are seaside or garden side anyway).
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorge386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. Please rest assure that we already foward your comments about dinner to our F&B manager.

Your kind words will motivate and inspire the entire team to continue providing the best service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Promenade Hotel

Front Office Manager
Tânia Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews