We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite place to stay”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we have time shares here and we are never disappointed, lovely surrounding, great staff and wonderful service, nothing is too much trouble. and looking forward to spending new year here for the first time

Room Tip: you need a room with a sea view to relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review and for such positive comments.

It is always of a great pride and success to be able to provide to your guests memorable moments and an excellent service.

Looking forward to your return visit,

We present our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for 5 days in June this year. Lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds. Room very spacious and great to have free wi-fi and BBC TV channels to watch. Quirk of the layout with a glass wall to the en-suite meant I could watch TV from the bath - not so good for those who like privacy, Access between floors was limited to 2 quite slow lifts - stairs not for public use labelled for staff only? I would rather walk than take stairs when only one floor to travel. Breakfast buffet had plenty of food choices and I definitely overindulged - but would have liked better quality sausages and pasteurized milk rather than sterilised milk in my tea

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your experience towards our resort.

This not only enables us to evaluate ourselves towards the service given and also to be aware of our guest’s satisfaction being perceived or not, therefore we cannot thank you enough.

All the recommendations posted here will be forward to the departments in questions for changes in the future, if they are find needed.

We hope we may welcome you again in our resort in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Booked in January 2013. The week prior to my visit I e mailed the hotel with some room requirements to discover that I was no longer staying there but at the Pestana Grand up the road.
Talking to others and looking at the reviews it would appear that I am not the only person this has happened to since several of us were relocated from other Pestana hotels.
My concern is had i not e mailed them when would I have found out they were moving me?

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank disneytastic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Allow us to apologize for not being able to host your stay and for all the inconvenience caused.
unfortunately overbooking ocasionaly does occur in travel, due to a numerous reasons and unexpected situations.
When something like this happens our main concern is to find the best alternative solution to offer to our guest´s.
We contact the travel agency with options, and all of these options are for Pestana hotels which category and prices are superior to what was booked originally.
As our main concern is to ensure the best holiday experience for all our guests, and we are very sorry if we have failed on this goal with you on this occasion.
Once again we regret this situation and any disruption that it may cause to your travel plans but we are sure that we are offering a high quality alternative.
We do sincerely hope that our apologies are well accepted and that we will be able to restore our good reputation with you.

Presenting our utmost regards,
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed there last year for our honey moon escape and were surprised by the awesome service: we got an upgrade of our room when they found we're just got married and a bottle of wine together with their specific cake. It was a great beginning of our stay! We enjoyed a lot our vacation, even though the hotel is quite far from the center of Funchal, the bus station is near the hotel and you're in the center of the city in a few minutes. There are also good restaurants around the hotel with great food and service. The most I enjoyed each day of the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel was the outside pool! We loved the hotel and Madeira itself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for such great comments. It is of great pride to us and increasing endeavor to read such review which makes us excel now and in the future.

We present once more our congratulations concerning the past wedding anniversary celebration. Lots of continuous love and hapiness in this new union is our sincere wishes.

We will await for a return visit,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I chose Pestana Promenade for its location [just away from the centre of Funchal] and it being on more level ground. We then also checked other details with Trip Advisor and could see that the bulk of comments [such as cleanliness and food] were very favourable. So we went expecting something good.
I write to let you know that after a great week with this hotel, we can honestly say that it exceeded the highest of our expectations; the location was, indeed, superb, the room wonderful but it was the staff who offered a level of service that - despite a lifetime of travel to most continents - these good folk consistently exceeded the very best. Nothing was too much trouble at reception, in the dining room, by the pool or the young boy at the door.

A truly remarkable place.

Room Tip: If waiting for a few seconds for a lift - really bugs you - then you may better on the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this travel review website and for providing your travel experience
to us and others which in the future may choose to visit us.

We are extremely glad and overwelmed with such good points conveyed to us towards the service provided and our resort friendliness.

Rest assured such comments will be treasured among all envolved, to keep not only the good work but continue to exceel in our daily tasks!

Presenting our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

As reported by my husband 18/6/13 we booked 3 rooms in January and 3 days before we were to travel 2 of our rooms were offered an upgrade the the Pestana Grande. It took several phone calls to our travel agent and a considerable amount of stress to reject this up grade as it was important our party stayed together. The hotel did upgrade our rooms on arrival as compensation but offered no explanation why this had happened. During our week stay a large party of prospective guests arrived, which resulted in certain areas being cordoned off for "a private function' and one evening there was a cocktail party for these guests with copious amounts of free wine. It was obvious from the guided tours around the hotel for these guests that Pestana were hoping to sell time share or similar and this was why we had been asked to move to the Pestana Grande we have stayed on several occasions at both the Grande and Promenade and was somewhat disappointed to be pushed aside in favour of this group. The holiday was excellent and we will stay at the Promenade again as the location and facilities are excellent, but please don't treat existing customers less favourably than timeshare potentials.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank JillBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments on this website and please allow us to inform our cocktail party is for existing members of the Pestana Vacation Club and visitors on exchange from other resorts and is held on weekly basis at all the Pestana Resorts on Madeira . By no means are these guests being favoured as all Pestana Guests are special to us

Conveying our sincere regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Professional friendly reception staff on arrival, had lunch at the pool bar, good food, nice setting, however hotel proces as you woud expect. The rooms are pleasant and kept immaculate. The whole hotel is very clean and tidy. It is a very peaceful and quiet resort, perfect for chilling out. Generally not a lot of children. The pool area is lovely and surrounded by nice gardens, also lots of different seating options, not just loungers. We did not eat in the hotel at night and if we went to the bar for a night cap it was usually very quiet. Having been here before however the hotel do offer good meal packages and event nights. Overall a very pleasant stay. My tip, 1/2 price cocktails between 5-7pm.

Room Tip: most rooms are sea view and this is the best option - if there are just 2 of you the studios are a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you both for your returned visit, comments posted and for your belief in us to recommend us to others. It is with great satisfaction that we become aware your stay in our resort has been once more a delight.

Until next time,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Alpha Holidays Limited, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing