We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira Magic”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visited the Pestana Promenade again recently (I last visited in April) and it was as wonderful as I had remembered. The hotel is great, the accommodation lovely and the staff are fantastic. Once again a lovely holiday and looking forward to the next.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenChiplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted to know that this was your second visit this year to the Promenade and that once again you foun the hotel the Hotel Wonderfull.
It´s great to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with the hotel, the accomodation, our team service and found it all to be fantastic.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back, maybe for a third visit still this year ?!

Yours Sincerly
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Promenade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent 11 memorable nights here in October and loved every minute!

Lovely rooms, we were on the 8th floor (room 1803) with a wonderful view of the pools, garden and ocean.

We stayed on a half-board basis and found the food very good with something for everyone, the restaurant and bar staff are worth a special mention as they are very friendly and offer excellent customer service as do all other staff from the moment you check-in.

The pools and the gardens are excellent, always found a sunbed and the infinity pool is just devine.

Its the first time we have visited Madeira and obviously the Pestana Promenade but would not hesitate to return to either, loved every minute!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view you will not be disappointment!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrotterTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade Hotel.
It was lovely to read that your stay with us was “ Simply Perfect ”
We agree with you, room 1803 as an wonderfull view over the pool, the garden but mostly over the Atlantic Ocean ….
We also greatly appreciate your kind words about the restaurante, he food and the bar which you have highly rated, as well as the service you received from the staff which you have kindly mentioned was exellent.

Please also allow us to thank you once again for your great review, we will definitely ensure that your comments are shared with the entire team, which will be looking foward for your next visit.

Yours Sincerly
Tania Selgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for eleven nights and as other reviewers have said, it is a fantastic place. Very friendly staff, large pools, a huge breakfast with everything one could want. Large rooms with a balcony facing the ocean and the bathrooms are huge.The walk to Funchal is pleasant and one can walk the other way on the promenade along the ocean to a fishing village, it is a long hike though but we took the bus back. Dinner can be had at the hotel but it is in the same area as breakfast, not very stylish. I highly recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool and ocean not the parking lot. The 4th floor was great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Public Relations Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Promenane Hotel.

We were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay with us, and happy to know that you highly recommend us to other travellers.
We do appreciate your positive remarks about the hotel which you felt it is a fantastic place.
Please also allow us to thank you for all your positive comments, about the Hotel, it´s facilities and specialy with regards to the team whom you felt werevery friendly. We will definitely ensure that your compliments are shared with everyone

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Pestana Promenade Hotel in the near future, and once again thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Yours Sincerly,
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Promenade. What a wonderful hotel, all areas of the hotel are kept immaculately clean. The staff are so friendly and helpful and all seem to want to make sure your stay is perfect. The pools are really good and at a good temperature with the infinity pool giving a real feeling of luxury. Rooms are a good size and well maintained with wonderful views. As others have mentioned waiting for the lifts is a bit of a pain but being on holiday there is no rush, we found the stairs part way into the accommodation wings and used these a lot of the time. Breakfast has an excellent selection and freshly cooked omelettes were my favourite. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as there are numerous great restaurants a short walk away. The walk into Funchal can be done in about 40 minutes at strolling pace. We will definitely return here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bwgrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for for you wonderfull review fowloing your recente stay at Pestana Promenade Hotel .

Please note that your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the great experience that Pestana Hotels & Resorts is renowned for and continue to exceed your expectations in future visits.

It is indeed our pleasure to read such kind words regarding our facilities and amenities, as well as the service you have received during your stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pestana Promenade Hotel.

Yours Sincerly,
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Me and the wife have just returned from Pestana Promanade, we loved every minute, the hotel is a good way out of Funchal but the bus stops right outside, so do the red tourist buses that take you all around Funchal, since we were new to the island we did this on the second day and it gave us an idea of the places we would like to visit, bus numbers 1 and 2 take you straight into Funchal, 1 Euro 80 each way Bargain, if you prefer to walk it is very pleasant especially when you come to st Caterina's park, if you enter by the fountain and go down to the viewpoint you get a fantastic view of any cruise ships that might be in, back to the hotel, we chose a Superior room and the view is amazing, all the staff are professional and friendly, and if you like a drop of red wine go out the front door up the steps ant turn right you will come to a large supermarket on your left were you can buy a very decent bottle for under three Euros, the beds in the hotel are very comfortable and you can get most tv channels that you get at home, this is unusual abroad, we really enjoyed our first time in Madeira, and we will be back when they have finished the work they are doing down by the port, but this is nothing that will spoil your holiday,

Room Tip: Don't worry about being in a high or low floor, you get a good view from wherever you are
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnm1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in Pestana Promenade Hotel.
Allow us to thank you for choosing our hotelfor your first stay in Madeira. We do know there are a lot of other hotel choices in Funchal, but we are grateful for being able to host you and your Wife.

Thank you for acknowledging the positive elements of your stay, as it is from your feedback that we will be able to uphold our commitment to excellence. I am sure that a lot of travelers, whether leisure or business, will benefit from your review.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back in a near future to Pestana Promenade Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at this Hotel. The Reception Staff and Owner Relations team were all charming and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and housekeeping standards high. The gardens designed by Gerald Luckhurst are more beautiful each year. .The swimming pool area was kept spotless and neat. The Pool Boy was very helpful with all the guests obtaining umbrellas and tidying the loungers throughout the day.
The food in the Yacht Bar is very well prepared and served. Welldone to everyone.
The on;y criticism would be NOT enough wines on offer by the glass in the Bar. The current choice is pretty awful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisehertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade.

we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the overall service provided in the hotel.
It will be our pleasure to share your comments with the colleagues, as they will no doubt be delighted to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. It is indeed heartwarming to know that you had a lovely time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in Pestana Promenade Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

STAFF
Friendly greeting upon arrival and all the other staff we met were very helpful. Good sized room with manificent bed where we enjoyed great night's sleep from the off. Reasonable patio with glass screen so you get a good, sheltered sea view. Whisper quiet air con. On my birthday had some cards on display - the staff latched on to this and In the afternoon, champagne appeared!

DINING
Had one buffet dinner here in restaurant where Most food was clearly labelled, but one section was a mystery. I quizzed the duty manager as I do not eat meat and he shot off to re-appear with a whole plate of smoked salmon, sufficient for a party of 10, so they do try very hard to please the client. Maybe we were late diners, but the puddings were in short supply, and sitting in a room without atmosphere, on trendy uncomfortable plastic seats - the enjoyment factor disappeared. Especially as it cost 40E p.p. with wine. Luckily this location is such that there are probably 8 restaurants around, so no worries. Breakfast choices become limited after a few days - better than adequate.

POOL
On our stay there was a deck chair patrol which ensured fair use of these facilities. The hotel had 100% occupancy, but there were no issues with resources. The swimming pools,
Lounger facilities and ground space are top class. We compared these against the nearby 5* Melia hotel and this 4* Pestana wins.

LOCATION
Funchal is a couple of Euros away by bus (Number 2 stops outside the door) or enjoy the 45 minute walk in. The lower promenade also continues in the opposite direction from Funchal, passing a couple of snack places and the Lido towards a beach set against the highest sea cliff in Europe.

CONCLUSION
If you choose B&B, enjoy a great pool, and eating out, then this is the place. Would visit again.

Don't forget your kettle and provisions!

Room Tip: Must be sea facing
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed feedback and for mentioning so many positive elements about your stay in our resort. It´s trully plesant to read that and you had a great holiday with us.
Your comments about, the hotel: the room, facilities, location and about our colleagues are highly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team as they always are very happy to know that their efforts has been recognized by our Guest´s. Positive feedback like yours will always serve as an added motivation to the entire team to maintain the highest level of service at all the times. Please rest assure that your comment with regards to dinner as been passed on to the management team to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that we can exceed your expectations in near future.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pestana Promenade.

Your Sincerely,

Tania Felgueiras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £77 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing