We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love The Pestana Promenade” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We love The Pestana Promenade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We are in the Pestana Owners Club and have been coming to The Promenade since it opened. We have stayed at three other Pestana Hotels on Madeira which are fabulous each with their own identity but love the Promenade the most.

The good bits.

Beautifully modern and pristine clean.
Fantastic Ocean Front Location.
Very Friendly and Helpful Staff.
Wonderful Pools.
Quiet Location with great restaurants close by.

The Bad Bits

Errrrhhh!!!
Cannot think of any off hand.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit to our resort and for your support to this site.

It is an enormous previlege to have had the pleasure of your visit and we thank you for your comments.

We will be sure to pass on such polite words to all and to keep up with the good work.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    454
    82
    17
    7
See reviews for
327
1,120
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

perfect location...just 15-20min on foot to the center.everyone walks from this hotel area just because it is great walk and great weather.service is great and people are polite and bedrooms were always cleaned!loved the spa area and the different pools.breakfast was good and lots to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

We cannot thank you enough for your support and belief in our resort and group.

As for the positive aspects provided in this review, please rest assured we will always do our very best to keep up the level of dedication and profissionalism, so we may always have your affiance.

Hope you may visit us again in the near future,

Respectfully,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here on an Easyjet low-cost flight & hotel deal for five days in early December. Being timeshare owners atanother Pestana hotel we have stayed here before and on those occasions had a side seaview two-room suite with terrace and kitchenette. This time we had what is called a "Classic" hotel room, on the first floor overlooking the pools and the sea.
The room was perfectly adequate but showed signs of some "tiredness" after the hotel being open only a few years. Some of the black veneered bedroom furniture showed scratches and marks. In the bathroom by the bath there was an upright that obviously used to hold a glass showerscreen but that wasn't there and instead there was just a half-width shower curtain. I would have thought that a powerful and wealthy hotel group like Pestana that professes high standards would have relaced the showerscreen in a four-star property. Beware the waterflow from the washbasin tap - the basin is very shallow and the tap flow very strong so we got our clothes wet the first few times we used it.
Curiously, in the bedroom area there was a smallish round table but no chairs! Yes, there was what looked like a bed-settee and a chaise-longue but if you wanted to sit indoors in bad weather to enjoy a drink or to watch TV, no chance.
And on the subject of tables and chairs, the height adjustment screwbase came off one of the balcony table legs; reported to Reception, assured a maintenance man would fix it but days later and by the time we left, still no action. I would have fixed it myself but the table top was heavy, loose glass and I didn't want to risk breaking it when lifting the table to fix the leg.
In the Promenade's defence, the staff we encountered were all helpful, the beds (two joined together) were superbly comfortable and the breakfast choices were always fresh and wide-ranging. I would echo another reviewer's comments about the happy hour at the bar from 5pm to 7pm - the Bloody Mary's were superb quality and value.
May I just comment on a recent review by "Mabok" of Glasgow who said it was "poor for this class of hotel" not to have tea/coffee-making facilities. Well, I don't know how many times he/she has stayed in Madeira hotels but it is the norm NOT to provide such facilities in ordinary (as opposed to timeshare) hotel rooms whatever the rating of the hotel.
All in all, I can only give four TA stars and not five. Pestana management should really take a close look at the rooms here and ensure they are "up to scratch" (excuse the unintended pun on my earlier remark!).

Room Tip: Go as high as you can for a really good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJay317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit to our resort and sincerely regret that not everything was up to our standards.

Concerning this less positive points raized, please rest assured that we will carefully look upon each of the point mencioned here so we can rectify all that may be needed and stand out further away from faults whose solution is imminent and within grasp
within grasp.

We hope your belief in our service and in our resort is not shaterred by these less positive aspects, as we would be delighted to welcome you back in our resort so you may fell the transition made upon this points.

Respectfully,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We used our RCI points to stay in the Promenade and had a fabulous stay. We enjoyed evening cocktails during happy hour, excellent value. The staff were all very helpful and the apartment was clean and very well equipped. We were lucky to be upgraded from a studio and even though we had a side view of the sea, the balcony was much larger than those for the hotel rooms. All of the
pools and gardens were very well looked after. The location is brilliant too, ideal if like us you decide to take a rest from driving as the bus stop is directly outside. Aerobus from the airport 8 euro return, a bargain. Lots of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance so no need for taxis either. The weather was better than we had expected too so we were able to swim in the outdoor pool and sunbathe.
The RCI hospitality staff very kindly provided a card and complimentary bottle of bubbly for Nik's birthday.
Our only regret is that we cannot use our RCI points to stay there for the next couple of years. We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKIM5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

we thank you for your latest visit and for your support in providing us with your comments for a better customer service in the future.

We cannot thank you enough for the kind words conveyed to the level of profissonalism of our staff.

We will be looking forward to your future visit,

Until then,

We present our best regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked this resort on the strength of their advertising - "every room has a seaview". However we were given a side room, with a very limited seaview. The sea is only viewable when you are outside your room, at the railing of the balcony. The view from the room itself is of another hotel/carpark. Quite disappointing - so make sure you book a FRONT seaview room! Even then a FRONT seaview could be disappointing if you are on a low floor overlooking the swimming pool only. So do book cautiously.

I can only comment on the timeshare part of the resort. The studio apartment is nicely appointed, with a small kitchenette, with microwave, kettle, fridge, cooker. I understand the actual hotel rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities, which seems poor for this class of hotel.

The resort/hotel itself is modern, and quite soul-less. Seemed very quiet, yet we could not book front facing rooms even when we wanted to pay extra for it. Swimming pools well maintained, but outside pools not heated. Wifi is free - you can pick up a free code from reception which lasts you 7 days.

Breakfast is ok, nothing special. The selection of hot and cold food is small for international standards, in particular very little pastry selection.

The hotel is a good 30 minute walk to Funchal town centre.

Overall decent modern hotel, but you must have a high level front seaview room to enjoy your holiday, and in particular the Madeira sunrise and sunset.

Room Tip: Book a high level front seaview room, or you will regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mabok O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit to our resort and Group.

We would like also to thank you for providing us with your travel review.

Please rest assured that the comments here raised in this travel review have been promptly forward to our colleagues from the Vacation Club Ownership.

We sincerely hope you may visit us again in the future, so you may sense in first hand the improvements made so far with the extent of time.

Conveying our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I could not fault the Pestana promenade. Great location, great room and fantastic staff. I left my book on the airport bus coming to the hotel - and without too much hope told reception - when we got back to the room in the evening there was my book - this was symptomatic of our whole experience on Madeira, just great.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing it seems - we were on the ground floor - pool level - and so the room opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleetJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit to Pestana Promenade and also for both your comments and support to this website.

We are truly glad to know that our service and facilities have been to your entire satisfaction.

It is really rewarding to have such a positive impact in your experience with us.

We hope to have your continuous support and the pleasure of your visit again in the future,

Respectfully,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Advantages:
- beautiful, clean room. Looked exactly like at photos.
- Brilliant sea view
- Nice pools and pooling area
- Very helpful, friendly staff

Disadvantage (only one):
- Breakfasts were the same every day what was a bit boring. Fruits, hams, cheeses could be more fresh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and will come back myself. There is some room for improvement though - breakfasts!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit.

Please accept our sincere beholden concerning the comments here raized.

We daily strive to achieve perfection in providing a service of excellence, therefore your feedback and comments towards the hotel and its services it is of the utmost importance.

Rest assured that the less positive point in reference to our breakfast room will be brought to the person in charge as a recommendation, for improvements in the future.

Thank you once more for your confidence in and choice in us for your holidays accommodation.

Looking forward to a returned visit,

Yours sincerely,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing