We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SHORT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SHORT STAY”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 4 adults and 2 children for a quick half term break. It was our first time at the Pestana Promenade Hotel and we could not fault it. Check in was very quick, and our rooms were very easy to find. We were put in two superior rooms with three beds in, one on floor 8 and the other floor 7. The rooms were very spacious, and had lovely views. Unfortunately, we did not have a separate shower, so I asked if a room was available with a walk in shower and we were moved the next day to floor 3, with no fuss. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was served from 7 am until 10.30 am and there was a good choice of hot and cold food. Eggs done how you wanted them, even waffles with a choice of sauces. We tried the outdoor pools, but they were very cold. The indoor pool was heated, and never got over crowded. The gym is very small, with limited equipment. The gardens are kept in good condition, with plenty of sun beds available. There is a snack bar which has a good choice of food and drinks. The walk down to the front promenade is easy to reach by way of steps. The evening meal was very good, buffet again, but lots of choices. The staff are very attentive and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. I will definitely be returning and very much enjoyed my stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing the Promenade Ocean Resort for your recent holiday in Madeira and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the utmost of your stay and you would no hesitate to return in a not too distant future.

Assuring you of our best attention...

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    477
    84
    18
    7
See reviews for
338
1,156
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here a week in February 2014, was very impressed. Plus points are sea front location right on the promenade. Garden and pool area, cleanliness, breakfast buffets and views from our room.
On the negative side the spa could be a little bigger and less slippery (wrong sort of tiles I believe), and the hotel is a bit out of the centre of Funchal (40 minutes walk, fifteen minutes or so by the excellent bus services, and there's a stop just outside the hotel).
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the outside seating areas were superbly clean and we'll maintained.
I would certainly recommend thIs hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice, we had one on floor three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TopFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our resort and for the submit of your travel experience.

All points highlighted in this review have been taken into account for continuous improvements in the future they may be considered fit.

As for the Spa, rest assured such point as been forward to our Spa Supervisor for future changes.

Looking forward for a return visit,

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We got back a couple of weeks ago, after a lovely 9 day holiday at this hotel in Madeira.
We had spent ages reading reviews etc on hotels in Funchal, the reviews and photos of this one helped to make our minds up. We got a good price, too, their own site was the cheapest in the end.
When we arrived on this our our first visit to Madeira, we took a taxi to the hotel. The main entrance is at the back of the hotel facing the road. The entrance is very grand and you immediately see the amazing views of the ocean. The entrance is 5 floors up, so you do get a real feeling of light and space. As soon as our taxi arrived, our suitcases were taken from us and by the time we had been allocated our room, the cases were already in there. We didn't even see the porters. The receptionists were efficient and very friendly.
We had requested a room opening on to the swimming pool area, which we had been given. It was an excellent choice for us. Our patio opened on to the gorgeous gardens, which were very well kept. The pool was just a few steps away and we would bring sunbeds near to our room to sit in some shade from the trees.
Our room was lovely. A nice big bed, twins put together, quality bedlinen, changed every two days, big fluffy pillows, a nice chaise longue and a sofa bed, so plenty of room. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The towels slightly let it down, they were grey looking, but changed as often as you wanted. The bath was comfortable and filled very quickly.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Whatever you requested was done quickly.
Breakfast was really good. We were just a short walk from our room to the dining room, glad we didn't have to use the lifts. The buffet was excellent. There was everything you could want. Cooked items, all manner of bakery produce,fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals, yogurts, cold meats choices of cheeses etc. too much to remember and different choices each day. The waitresses in the dining room were efficient and very friendly. Again, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We tried eating outside and it was a little windy, so moved back inside, they hurriedly reset a table for us. When we finished eating, we sat back outside again to finish our drinks, again, no problem.
The swimming pools are beautiful, just as nice as they look on the photos. The outdoor pools are the best, but a little chilly in January, but worth being brave to get into. The indoor pool is a bit small, it tended to get too busy with the outdoor pools being cool. I'm sure this won't be a problem as the season progresses. There are loads of sunbeds, saving with towels is not allowed! Plus point.
My one gripe with this hotel was the hiring of bathrobes. You need them to visit the pools, but if you are in standard rooms, you have to RENT them! 10 euros each per week. I have never heard of such a thing. Do they think people in the cheaper rooms don't deserve them? They brought us two size 16 robes, well worn, I am size 12 and my husband is a large men's size. I had a robe too big and his was comical it was so small. But, three attempts later, they found one that fitted him, but we did begrudge having to pay. A refundable deposit would have been acceptable, but not rent on fairly well used bathrobes. Anyway, that's my only gripe.
We didn't eat in the dining room in the evenings, we found heaps of lovely restaurants in both Funchal and the nearby area. But, do avoid the restaurant in the hotel on Tuesdays! there seems to be a timeshare meeting most weeks. We had cocktails in the happy hour a couple of times, good value. The pool cafe was very nice, with lovely views of the ocean.
This was our first visit to Madeira and won't be our last. We will return because of the hotel as much as anything. As long as we can get rooms for such a good price.
Room tip.. Garden room if you don't want to be using the lift all the time, top floors if you want spectacular sea views, but I think you pay more for them.
I think the previous reviewer, A-re-tsamaye, must have either been very unlucky or was staying at a different hotel to us, our room was spotless, staff responded immediately to any concerns and why you would stay in a four star hotel to go shopping in a supermarket, I am not sure. Everyone we met had been to Madeira many times, so they can't all be wrong, can they? It's a charming Island, with lovely people, nice weather and reasonable prices, what more can you want for a winter break?

Room Tip: We enjoyed the access of the garden room and the beautiful gardens, we could see the sea beyond that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank davidandjanet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit and for submiting in this travel review with your past experience.

We strive to suceed in providing to all those which visit us with memorable moments to be treasured in the future. In this in mind, we thank you for allowing us to be able to create a positive impact in our stay and opinion of our Island.

As for the bathrobes charges and suply, please rest assured that such points have been forwarded to our management for improvements in the future if considered fit.

Hope you may visit us again in the future,

Until Then....

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Travelled Dec. 2012. No complaints whatsoever. Clean and spacious, friendly staff, good location, lovely breakfast and nice Christmas atmosphere with a little "extra" (a gift, cocktail party). Their spa treatments are definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to our beutifull Island and resort.

To obtain guest's travel experience is of our utmost importance, and with this in mind we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We will be sure to forward such positive points highlighted in this review to all staff members so to keep up with their excellent work.

Looking forward for a future viist,

With our warmest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent hotel in very good location. Spacious comfortable and well equipped bedroom. Lovely grounds with palm trees, shrubs, grass and flowers. Excellent pools and short walk from promenade which leads to restaurants, cafes etc.

Breakfasts offered very comprehensive choice and staff friendly, helpful and cheerful.

Bus stop close to hotel, frequent buses into Funchal in abt 10 mins.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor bedroom which led directly on to the grounds Nice patio to sit in and view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our resort and for being able to submit your past experience.

We cannot thank you enough for the kind words conveyed to us towards the level of service and resort facilities.

We will be sure to pass on such good comments to all envolved in this happy outcome.

Looking forward for a future visit,

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We knew before we came that Funchal is a place for mass tourism. We picked the island because of its self-marketed "premium" tourism, flowers and whale watching and obviously a higher number of 4 or 5 star hotels which we thought would increase competition. Also we picked the Pestana Promenade hotel because of its good reputation and quite recent opening.

Plus:
- location. A beautiful view from a large, amenable balcony to the sea and a rock right in front
- modern decoration
- nice LED pool lightning which makes it very romantic at night sitting on the balcony
- whale watching was great. They take out a second time if you do not see the animals during the first trip. The second time we were lucky and saw a large number of pilot whales which were doing their best to enjoy us.

Minus:
- most horrible breakfast buffet we ever had. No comparison so far.
- very slow service, also during breakfast: even taking into consideration that life goes slowly there you need to have at least 30 min waiting time in front of a small table to get after a longer explanation some kind of a omelet. Do not take the wafers. They are horrible.
- Some UK tourists mixed a strange food composition on their plates which we never saw in the UK. Some tourists looked somewhat disgusted as well.
- very used room, flush was broken and got repaired only after we became very angry and particularly stressed for it. Again: We have been to other countries and know slow service, also how to get along with it. But Pestana Promenade Hotel in this respect is unique and an extreme example of an area with apparently much more patient and non-demanding tourists who seek some sleep only.
- air condition did not work. When you open the window you sleep better, if you can ignore the water processing of the pool which is noisy at the beginning of the night.
- room was very dirty, may be due to very used standard
- safe got broken during our stay. Repair took 3 hours, and safe needed to be replaced later anyway which we suggested at the very beginning.
- do not use the SPA! It is dirty, loud tourists sitting with very wet bath clothes in a smelling sauna. In-door yacuzzi would be the long seeked example of small microbe fauna if it would not be high-concentrate clorine. It is warm on Madeira all year and you definitely do not need to even go near the SPA.
- we still are looking for the "amazing" flowers on Madeira. There are nicer locations, areas with much better flora (and fauna) on earth than this boring small island(except whales)
- reception cannot offer help for instance for easy requests to organise a day trip to Porto Santo. Fortunately, we pre-arranged a trip ourselves and could solve last questions easily at the harbour.
- location of hotel is far from town. We walked every day which takes approx 45 min and can be done. But it may not be feasible for typical tourists of Madeira (age >60 yrs).
- food unspectacular and meeting our expectations for mass tourism. We knew in advance and do not complain. Just a comment for those who are looking for good food during their holidays. For Madeira better go to "Pingo Doce" supermarkets who is a perfect supermarket chain and the alternative for self-catering. So you can easily avoid horrible cooking.
- Pingo Doce supermarket next to the Pestana Promenade: go down to promenade, turn left and go to large parking place. There you find a large supermarket to buy all drinks and food you need. Walking distance approx. 300 m. Hope you find it.

Room Tip: There is no good room I afraid, but view is nice from a room in the centre of the building and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A-re-tsamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

We are truly sorry for not being able to be up to your expectations, since this is our major endeouvour and purpose of existence.

Nonetheless, we thank you for all the points conveyed to us towards our resort and staff performance, as such points have not been in no way forgotten or set aside.

Opinions are always valid and welcome on board to improve and change in all that is needed. Notwithstanding is for us very difficult to understand that You have not enjoyed at all what the Island has to offer, as Madeira is considered internationally as a Pearl located in the Atlantic Ocean and one of the Europe's Leading Island Destination.

We hope you may return in the future, as we will be delighted to show all the positive aspects that our resort and island are known for.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very nice hotel with very pleasant staff. Next door to ocean, good bus connection to Funchal, a lot of restaurants in the hotel surroundings but breakfast and dinner very good in hotel restaurant. Good place for start to exploring levadas (if rented car).

Room Tip: Order Your car before and be patient by picking up Your car. Try to order room not near to pool (if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Poker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit and for submiting to us your travel experience.

Being able to provide with a memorable stay and with momentum you may cherish for years to come is a task that we try do accommodate always and with pleasure.

Therefore it is with a sense of achievment that we are able to read such review towards our resort facilities and staff members.

We hope to continue to have your continuous assurance and appreciation top our resort and Group, as we will be looking forward for a return visit in the future.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing