We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed this time”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at the Hotel just before Christmas. 1st room we were given was dark and overlooked the Car park between this hotel and the Enotel next door. Asked to be moved and got another 1 bedroom overlooking the pool with a jacuzzi. No complaints there so decided to come back this year but needed a 2 bedroom one as an older member of the family was coming with us this time. Had been told by a previous guest about a certain apartment which would have been perfect for us with excellent Sea and Pool views, both bedrooms with en suite and large balcony/terrace with Jacuzzi so I enquired with a member of Guest relations wether we could have that one or something similar when we returned 3 months later. We were advised to contact Reservations when we got home and then they would let us know if it was possible. We did so and our travel dates were confirmed with them. We didn't get any more emails from them so we assumed ( wrongly!) that our request had been granted. We arrived to find we're were in an apartment ( 1 or 2 doors up from the 1st one we were allocated to in December) which is supposed to sleep up to 6 (2 bedrooms and a Sofa bed in the Lounge), only one of the bedrooms had an en suite. Same problem as before and had no Sun after 10.30am, the other, which had the Sun all afternoon and was round the back of the hotel, could only be accessed by going through the bedrooms and wasn't big enough for 3 never mind 6. No room for any Sun loungers just chairs.
The seperate bathroom was dark with no natural light in it, didn't have a hair dryer or shaver socket in there, just a normal socket.
We went down to Guest relations as soon as we could and asked if there was a chance we could be moved. This was on the Monday. They told us not to unpack and waited for them to contact us. On the Tuesday, we were told it wouldn't be possible that week but we might be moved on the 2nd week. Got a call on the Saturday morning from them to give us some bad news and then some good news. The bad news was that they couldn't move us but the good news was that we could stay where we were?????
Our kettle was faulty and it took them 4 days to replace it. :-(
As a member of the Pestana Vacation Club, we wrongly thought we were going to be treated better than we have. It seems there are 3 tiers of Guests in this Hotel. 1st tier: The Owners, 2nd tier: Vacation Club members who have already parted with their Money up front so they can put you wherever they want and 3rd tier: Other guests who have booked through travel agencies and have a Rep and can choose what sort of room they require.
Feel very let down and will not be renewing our membership once we have used up our points. Have'nt spent a single penny in the hotel, not used the bar or pool cafe facilities.
The location of the hotel is second to none and cannot be faulted. It's just a shame that we feel like 2nd class citizens. Feel like picketing the Options Office on the Promenade and warning potential guests what to expect in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Hollinwooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Vacation Club Membership Operations at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mrs Gough

Thank you for your review and we regret your disappointment with the apartment allocated to your reservation through Options. I would like to clarify that all our two bedroom apartments consist of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sofa bed in the lounge, which accommodate a maximum of 6 people and privacy for 4 people.

Kindly rest assured that our best efforts are made at all times to meet all our members special requests and preferences and for future reference I have made a note on your records that apartments located on the side of 1643 are not your preference.

We look forward to your next visit and confident that we will recover your trust on the Pestana Options.

Yours sincerely,

Patucha Valente
Pestana Vacation Club Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent a week here in February and was very impressed with the standards offered overall. Room was excellent with amazing balcony and sea views. Food was good and very varied with great choice of breakfasts. Staff generally very friendly and helpful with nearly all of them having an excellent level of English. Happy hour very welcome. Spa area nice but you need to rent robes (10 euros for your stay. Outdoor pools not heated but really enjoyed the infinity view from the main one.

One point to consider is that if your flight arrives early in the day then you may have to wait for your room to be prepared. This gives you an opportunity to view the gorgeous gardens and a cheeky cocktail.

40 minute walk from Funchal town or a 5 minute 8 euro cab ride. Great location with lost of different eateries close by if needed.

Reception staff very helpful during visit. They will arrange for taxis and give general advice on local and hotel facilities.

Definitely recommend and will return in future.

Room Tip: Go for full sea view rather than side sea view and the higher the better as the pool filter can be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 957markc957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you highly for your latest visit and for your short straight to the point review towards your holiday spent in our resort.

We are truly jubilant to know that our rooms were up to your standards and that the level of food presented by our restaurant was to your liking.

We will be sure to point out to all staff that their performance and continuous high level of stamina and commitment has been truly apreeciated.

Looking forward for a return visit,

Presenting our kindest regards

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It's a 4* hotel with all comfort you want to get :
+ Big, comfortable rooms, with good bedding and nice bathroom
+ Buffets are made of very good food, local and not, everyday different
+ Great spot (sunny, easy to reach center, many places to eat, free parking)
+ Very nice service

(-) the external pools aren't warmed.
(-) Soooo many seniors staying in the hotel !

Tip for your trip : Rent a car, and visit the island!

Room Tip: The Pool view from the room... (10 sec. exposure time, in the evening)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulienFromBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your visit to our resort and for submiting to this travel review site your travel experience.

We cannot thank you enough for the good comments here raised towards our rooms, restaurants and location.

For the friendliness of staff and its performance we are truly happy to be able to count with our positive judgment.

In hope you may visit us again in the future,

Best Regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Promenade. This was our second visit and I can say that the standards have not slipped since our last stay just after the terrible storm four years ago.
A lovely modern hotel with good sized bedrooms and fabulous sea views. The pool area and gardens are well maintained and the variety of plants and colours amazing. From the moment we arrived we found all the Staff pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were good and the dishes were cleared quickly even if we hit a busy time in the morning.
The hotel is situated a smart 35-40 min or a leisurely hour's walk from Funchal. However, there is a bus,01 or 02, which runs regularly and stops right outside the hotel. From the pool area there is a gate to the prom. Turn right and there is a coastal walk which is rather hilly. Turn left and a short walk will take you to the Eden Mar complex where you will find a large supermarket and an excellent steak restaurant called O Chefe which is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your returned visit and for your continuous support and belief in our resort facilities and service.

Guest's comments is of the utmost importance for us in order to be able to change and improve in what is needed so to meet and go beyond your expectations of us.

Therefore, please let us salute for such kind words towards our staff performance and resort facilities being well kept.

We are to be sure that such review may help other travelers in their selection whether to vist us in the future.

Awaiting for your 3rd visit,

We remain with our utmost regards,

Tãnia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely clean hotel, beautiful views of the sea. Pools excellent as well as the food. Any down side, no room service or this tradition over here. Not even drinks in the fridge as an option which we would have quite happy to pay for

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your latest visit to our resort and for your support and time spent in providing us your review in this travel reviews site.

We present our utmost recognition for the kind remarks given to the resort being well maintained and to our beautifull views and pools.

As for the scarcity in not having Room Service nor Full Mini-Bar available, please rest assured that such comments have been forward to our Management for improvements that may feel fit in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future,

With this thought in mind,

We present our highest regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pestana Promenade Hotel during a week in the end of February.

We had a nice room on the fourth floor, with amazing views over the ocean, the garden and the pool area. Unfortunately, the bed mattresses were a bit hard.

The swimming pools are beautiful. The temperature in the outdoor pools at this time of the year was a bit chilly, and we therefore appreciated that the hotel also have a large indoor pool, where the temperature was 29 degrees. Nice that you have pool towels in your room.

We found most of the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in our opinion very pretty and well maintained.

We were pleased that we instead of our half board dinner buffet, could change it with lunch at the Deck snack bar by the pools. (We got lunch vouchers at the reception). We made use of it twice, when we were going for dinner in Funchal.

The breakfast in the Breezes Restaurant had a decent variety of dishes, but the staff failed sometimes to supplement dishes that went empty .For example, there were three days when we did not find dark bread.

We really appreciated that it also was possible to eat outdoors.

In our opinion, the buffet dinner in the Breezes Restaurant was satisfactory, but sometimes the restaurant ran out of some desserts. Our experience with the service during dinner, was excellent during two evenings. One evening it was ok, but unfortunately there were two evenings when we were not so pleased, especially during our dinner at the 24.th of February when we were paid very little attention to. The wait staff including the maitre d’, were almost only concentrating on serving one half of the restaurant, while the other half of the dinner guests, for most of the time were neglected .This was also something we pointed out to the maitre d’, when we finished dinner.

The happy hour between the hours of 17 to 19 in the Breezes bar, was a very good deal.

If you for example, should wish to buy your own soda, wine etc. - there is only a three minutes walk to a Spar Shop.Turn right outside the entrance of the hotel on the fifth floor.

It is about a 10 minutes walk to one of Madeira biggest Shopping Malls – the Forum Madeira. Turn left outside the hotel entrance. The Forum Madeira also has a large and well-stocked super-market – “Pingo Doce” on the first floor - with favorable prices.

We hope to return to this nice hotel.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravellerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for submiting your travel experience, which we are sure to be a valuable asset to all those you decide to visit us in the future and to us as an hotel which main purpose is Guest Satisfaction.

Therefore please let us express our gratituide for the kind words conveyed to our resort facilities and atmosphere, as well for the staff friendliness and assistance.

As for the breakfast area shortage of dark bread, we truly apologize for such fault.

We have forward such comment to our Unit Supervisor for review, so changes may be taken in the future, if considered needed.

In hope you may visit us again in the future,

We remain with our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a modern and well designed hotel - with great views over the south coast. Breakfasts were very enjoyable and the rooms were well appointed with balcony over looking the pool and coast.

The one evening meal at the hoteI was good but rather prosaic - however there are many restaurants etc close by. Funchal centre proper is about 30 minutes walk, or there are regular buses which take 5-10 minutes.

The staff are generally very friendly and attentive.

There is a heated indoor pool so good for the colder months.

I recommend this hotel for families especially, although during our stay there were very few other children, mostly older couples.

Room Tip: Sea view is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit to our resort and also by providing us your travel experience.

It is always magnificent to be able to create such a good impact in our guests travel experience, therefore there is not enough words to thank you for such kind comments.

As for the Evening meals lacking in vulgarity, rest assured that such point has been forwarded to our management and restaurant supervisor for improvements in the future if necessary.

Awaiting for a future visit we remain,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#14 of 88 in Funchal
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing