We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funchal First Timer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
yorkshire coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Funchal First Timer”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having wanted to visit Madeira for some time I finally stumped up just before Christmas last year.
I wanted to stay in a good hotel and so chose the pestana promenade.
The hotel is located a good thirty to fourty minute walk from the town centre.
Or you can catch the bus and do the journey in 15 minutes.
I stayed on a breakfast only basis, the breakfasts being quite good-however there was little or no variation to the choices over the week.
The staff in the mornings were cheerful and friendly.
The hotel facilities include a lovely outdoor pool set in fabulous gardens, good outdoor areas to take a drink and admire the views over to the uninhabited islands.
There is an indoor pool with a gym and sauna/steam room.
There is a coastal path to the rear of the pool area that heads to funchal if you go left. This way there are some cafe's and a supermarket.
If you turn right, there is a one hour walk to a village that Winstone Churchill used to visit and paint.

Overall I enjoyed my stay-I went with Jet 2. This was the first time I had travelled with them-but I can highly recommend them. The cabin crew were excellent and friendly-generous luggage allowance and whisked off to the hotel in a minibus with half a dozen or so fellow travellers.
No waiting on a coach for two hours as is often the case with Thomas Cook...
The evening meals in the hotel are rather expensive so I would book half board or eat out every night.
I can recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, views, pool and gardens and the two friendly ladies who served out breakfast.
The weather in December-was sunny/cloudy most days with one lovely day of unbroken sunshine-I came back with a tan and it was nice to see the Christmas decorations up at the airport-hotel and in Madeira.
I would like to visit madeira again....
Someday.

Room Tip: Ocean view is sublime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support and for being able to provide us with your travel experience.

We are truly glad that your stay in our resort has been up to your satisfaction in overall.

As for the less positive points stated in this review towards the breakfast area having little variation on its choice, please rest assured that such point has been forward to the person in head of the Food and Beverage Department so for awareness and for changes in the future, if so fit.

Once more we present our sincere gratituide,

In expectance of having your return visit again in the future,

We present our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    480
    87
    19
    7
See reviews for
346
1,164
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our first visit to Maderia and it wont be my last now!! After returning from a long weekend at the end of March I cannot rate this hotel enough. We had a fantastic one bedroom apartment overlooking the sea, all the staff could not do enough to help. I asked reception where I could hire a pushchair and before I knew i customer relations had taxied one over from another one of the hotels for me and was waiting in reception when I returned.
The hotel is kept in fantastic condition and very well maintained by all the staff, even managed to get top tips on how they kept the orchids looking great from the gardener.
Fantastic location, everything within walking distance and main town only 5 min taxi or 30 min walk.
We had my 3yr old son with us who loved all the different pools and was great to have the indoor heated pool. My only comment would be if the outside pool at that time of the year could be slightly heated as was very cold and would save having to take my son in the indoor pool especially when the sun was shining and was very warm!
We will be returning!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casadebohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest

Let us start by thanking you for submiting to this travel review your travel experience.

We are sure that such testimony will be of great importance to future guests which are still undecided wheter to visit us and our beautiful Island.

Such detailed description of your time spent with us is of the utmost importance for us in a way for us to evaluate ourselves in our main endeavour which relays in providing to our guests memorable moments.

Concerning our outdoor pool, please rest assured that such comment was adressed to the person in charge for such department for all the improvements that may be felt needed in the future.

In hope of welcoming you back again in the near future

Yours Sincerley,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed 1st April - 7th April 2014. Fantastic facilities, Best swimming pools on island apparently. Full spa facilities which are great Huge Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
Our room was well appointed and balcony with table and chairs overlooking pools and ocean view.
Staff were fantastic. Food excellent.

Room Tip: as far as we could tell all rooms have ocean view. So no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgfeldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your valuable contribution to this travel review site.

Our resort main aim and purpose of existance is to provide to our guest's a memorable stay, therefore providing them the utmost help in all that may be needed.

We are truly glad in knowing that we managed to have a possible impact in your overall stay with us.

We will be sure to spreed such good comments given to all our resort staff, so for them to keep up with the good work.

We hope to continue to count with your belief in our group and with a return visit.

Until then,

We present our highest regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great staff facilities and situation right next to the sea. Only negative is that food quality could be improved both at breakfast and dinner to make the hotel a 5 star review. Pool area fantastic! Happy hour is 2 hours!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpalmer832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit to our resort and Island.

It is with great pleasure that we become aware that your visit to the Pestana Promenade has been overall to your satisfaction.

Nonetheless, as an hotel which main concern is our Guest's Satisfaction, we will forward the less positive points here stated to our Food and Beverage Supervisor for review.

We hope to receive you again soon,

With that in mind,

We present our kindest regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have a time-share at this hotel and have visited it a number of times now. Every year has been fantastic. The staff are helpful, the rooms are great (we sometimes eat in so the kitchen area is fab!).

We've taken my nephews and niece with us and they love it as well (aged 3 to 5). There is plenty for them to do around the hotel and the pools are great with the option of an indoor pool as well.

There is also sun loungers available and a wide range of food and drinks from the pool bar menu.

The hotel is continually spotlessly clean and the staff go over and above to make sure your stay is a fantastic one.

The location is great with lots of little restaurants around as well as supermarkets and a short walk to The Forum which is the local shopping centre where you'll find a great range of shops (there's a Zara, H&M, C&A, super market, handbag shops, Pull and Bear, and then lovely wee shops where you can get something different to take home or for a gift - would thoroughly recommend A Joja Do Gato Preto).

There's lots of different nights on at the hotel which you can get involved it and also a happy hour at the bar downstairs which is 50% off between 5pm and 7pm which is great :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mz. Leigh

We thank you for your continuous belief in our group and resort.

We would like to thank you for the time spent in submiting your travel experience, which is of high importance both to us as a resort that solo aim is Guest Satisfaction and to future guests that may be interested in visiting us.

Therefore we can only be appreciative for your kind words.

In hopes of welcoming you back again in the near future,

We present our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Apart from our air con which to me didn't seem to be working right, this resort would have got 5 stars. Staff are friendly and helpful you are close to most restaurants you can walk to Funchal. Our favourite of the Pestana resorts in Maderia.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for your contribuition with your travel experience.

We are sincerely gratified for your positive comments towards our staff.

As for the minor fault towards the air conditioning, please rest assured that such comment has been forwarded to our Resort Main enginner for review and changes that may be necessary in the nearby future.

We will be looking forward to your return visit,

In the meanwhile,

We present our kindest regards

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel just before Christmas. 1st room we were given was dark and overlooked the Car park between this hotel and the Enotel next door. Asked to be moved and got another 1 bedroom overlooking the pool with a jacuzzi. No complaints there so decided to come back this year but needed a 2 bedroom one as an older member of the family was coming with us this time. Had been told by a previous guest about a certain apartment which would have been perfect for us with excellent Sea and Pool views, both bedrooms with en suite and large balcony/terrace with Jacuzzi so I enquired with a member of Guest relations wether we could have that one or something similar when we returned 3 months later. We were advised to contact Reservations when we got home and then they would let us know if it was possible. We did so and our travel dates were confirmed with them. We didn't get any more emails from them so we assumed ( wrongly!) that our request had been granted. We arrived to find we're were in an apartment ( 1 or 2 doors up from the 1st one we were allocated to in December) which is supposed to sleep up to 6 (2 bedrooms and a Sofa bed in the Lounge), only one of the bedrooms had an en suite. Same problem as before and had no Sun after 10.30am, the other, which had the Sun all afternoon and was round the back of the hotel, could only be accessed by going through the bedrooms and wasn't big enough for 3 never mind 6. No room for any Sun loungers just chairs.
The seperate bathroom was dark with no natural light in it, didn't have a hair dryer or shaver socket in there, just a normal socket.
We went down to Guest relations as soon as we could and asked if there was a chance we could be moved. This was on the Monday. They told us not to unpack and waited for them to contact us. On the Tuesday, we were told it wouldn't be possible that week but we might be moved on the 2nd week. Got a call on the Saturday morning from them to give us some bad news and then some good news. The bad news was that they couldn't move us but the good news was that we could stay where we were?????
Our kettle was faulty and it took them 4 days to replace it. :-(
As a member of the Pestana Vacation Club, we wrongly thought we were going to be treated better than we have. It seems there are 3 tiers of Guests in this Hotel. 1st tier: The Owners, 2nd tier: Vacation Club members who have already parted with their Money up front so they can put you wherever they want and 3rd tier: Other guests who have booked through travel agencies and have a Rep and can choose what sort of room they require.
Feel very let down and will not be renewing our membership once we have used up our points. Have'nt spent a single penny in the hotel, not used the bar or pool cafe facilities.
The location of the hotel is second to none and cannot be faulted. It's just a shame that we feel like 2nd class citizens. Feel like picketing the Options Office on the Promenade and warning potential guests what to expect in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollinwooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Vacation Club Membership Operations at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mrs Gough

Thank you for your review and we regret your disappointment with the apartment allocated to your reservation through Options. I would like to clarify that all our two bedroom apartments consist of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sofa bed in the lounge, which accommodate a maximum of 6 people and privacy for 4 people.

Kindly rest assured that our best efforts are made at all times to meet all our members special requests and preferences and for future reference I have made a note on your records that apartments located on the side of 1643 are not your preference.

We look forward to your next visit and confident that we will recover your trust on the Pestana Options.

Yours sincerely,

Patucha Valente
Pestana Vacation Club Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing