We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Pestana Promenade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Pestana Promenade”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent hotel with first class, friendly and very helpful staff.
Good food; breakfasts are to die for.
Stayed five times with excellent accommodation each time.
Location is superb with views second to none.

Room Tip: In our experience, they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for taking part in this site review in submitting your travel experience.

We are truly glad to be part in providing you with memorable moments up to now.

We hope you may continue to entrust in us as the resort of choice in future visits.

We would like to express our gratitude in the polite words towards the quality of food that we provide to our guests.

Looking forward for another return visit,

Yours respectfully,

Tãnia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    476
    83
    18
    7
See reviews for
338
1,153
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

In general, good.
But... breakfast could have tipical produts from Madeira Island (honey cakes, for example), and ham was not very good.
I also don't understand why pay 10 euros to use the robe...
The best, swiming pool area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisBaptista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit and for submitting here your travel experience.

As a hotel which main purpose is to provide to the guests an excellent service and facilities dignified for recognition we do our utmost to excel in our aim by providing you memorable moments.

Concerning the suggestions here raised, please rest assured that such points will be forward to all departments involved for review and improvements that may be considered fit in the future.

We hope you may visit us again in the future,

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An excellent hotel and i can endorse all the positives you will read from other reviewers.
Unfortunately we did come across a few negatives .....their room allocation system does let them down slightly.
We had booked and paid for a twin room with side sea view, I had also requested a high floor.
We got a twin room with pool view on the ground floor.

I went back to reception to be told this was because the hotel was full. (I'm still trying to figure out the logic behind this one) I was offered another room the next day on the 4th floor, this was offered as an upgrade as it had a full sea view. However the room was much smaller and had a very small balcony so back to reception once again.
We finally ended up on the 1st floor with sea view.
This meant that the first 24 hours of our 7 day holiday was taken up with getting the room (or something close to it) that we had bought and paid for. Not the best start.

I have read on some previous reviews about the hotel being fully booked on their arrival and being bounced off to another hotel....so I suppose we were lucky to stay in the hotel at all.

Two other points....firstly if you happen to hire a car....parking is VERY limited on the streets round the hotel....we ended up in the hotel's underground car park. The charge for this is 4.5 euros per day......I have a blue badge and argued that parking should be free for me...which was eventually granted. However be aware that you'll need to add about £30 to your budget for a week's parking.
Secondly if you have a late return flight you will have to pay to keep your room on (IF a room is available) you're allowed (unofficially) to keep the room free until 1pm.....after that it's 25 euros up to 2.30pm or 50 euros until 4pm. A bit steep in my view (we were allowed to stay until 4pm free of charge, probably because I'd kicked up such a stink on arrival about our room).

To end on a positive note I have rarely come across such a universally helpful and friendly staff. I met one of the senior Pestana staff outside the hotel and as we chatted he told me that the group put a lot of emphasis on this in their training...it certainly pays off.

Room Tip: Request a high floor (3rd or above for a good view of the sea) and if possible check ahead that this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaplainsRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for the time spent in submitting your review and for your recent stay in our resort.
It is with a great sense of satisfaction that we become aware that your stay in overall has been to your satisfaction.

Nonetheless, we would like to be able to clarify some points with this review, so in order that you may understand our part in the actions taken.
When giving the room allocation, we noticed that you had booked a side sea view room and requested for a higher floor.
We at all times do try to fulfill all our guests’ requests, but unfortunately and due to the high demand in occupancy of the hotel upon your arrival this room typology on a higher floor, was not available.
Fortunately on the next day, the options to move become available due to a number of guests checking out, being able to meet your expectations.
That made us feel very good as that´s why we are working for every that.

Regarding Car Par, we do have in the vicinity free parking available which at no time is granted to the guests, due to the fact that is at the disposal of all those who decide to use the Promenade Walk. However, we do provide to the guests optionally an underground car allotment by the daily cost of 4.50 Euros. This is guaranteed by us and valid for 24hours period.
In cases such as yours with disabled abilities, which are presented by the blue badge, we grant this service free of costs and with a specific car spot near the lift area.

As for the rooms extend of time please be aware of our prices which are as follows:
Until 15H the cost is 25 Euros, and until 18H the cost is 40 Euros.
Again and due to the blue badge and to the fact the arrival to that room was only later on the day, the management opened an exception on your case in allowing you to keep the room until later free of cost.

In behalf of all the staff, we thank you for the kind words towards the level of service and dedication. Such words are greatly appreciated.

We hope that this explanation may in a way clarify all that was done and provided with pleasure.

In hopes of a return visit,

We say farewell,

With our kindest regards

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have just returned from staying at the Pestana Promenade Hotel once again and had an absolutely lovely time as always. The welcome back from the staff was lovely. I would highly recommend the hotel the views are stunning, the accommodation wonderful and facilities great. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff whether it be those servicing the rooms, at the bar, pool, restaurant and the reception staff, particularly Cristina. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the surrounding area. I will definitely be back to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenChiplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking your for your providing to us your experience to this travel review site.

It is with great pleasure to continue to have the pleasure of your visit time and time again and to be able to provide you with continuous memorable moments.

We thank you for entrusting us with such commitment which we accept it with honor.

In behalf of all the staff, we thank you for the kind words of appreciation, which we will be sure to continue to excel in the service and do our very best to provide you with further great stays.

Until the next visit,

Conveying our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We have just come back after spending 10 days at the Pestana Promenade Hotel, we had a wonderful time, the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, the reception team always have a smile thanks to Christina in particular. The facilities are great, the pool area is kept very tidy and nothing was too much trouble for Tiago, who was happy to help you. The pool was a little chilly which was a shame, the indoor pool is a bonus especially on a cloudy day. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mjefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your latest visit and for providing us with our comments towards your visit to our Island and resort.

Such kind words of appreciation are always a good stamina and help us in continue committed in providing you with an excellent service.

We will with great pride convey to both Cristina and Tiago their excellent work and dedication.

As for the outdoor pool, we regret that such pool as not up to your entire satisfaction. Indeed when the weather temperature is not of the best of ones, the outdoor pool suffers changes as well, as it is heated by solar panel, due to being a friendly ecological resort.

We hope to continue to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future,

With our utmost regards

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel to stay at having a fantastic view. The pool area is beautiful and the garden area colourful and very well kept. The whole of the hotel is immaculate, with very friendly service. We found the breakfast had a good choice and being able to sit outside was a bonus. It takes about 40 minutes to walk to the old town which, at the moment, is spoilt by the construction works going on. In our opinion you need to be reasonably fit to walk to the old town because of the hills. Having said that, taxis and buses are readily available at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEH189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your latest visit and for the time you have spent in submitting this review.

Having our guest’s testimony is of the highest importance to us, in the way that we can continue to do our best to provide memorable moments and also rectify any minor fault that may have been unknown to us while in your stay in our resort.

Therefore, it is with a sense of work recognized that we become aware that your stay within our resort has been to your rejoicing.

We apologize for the constructions which are taken place on the outskirts of the hotel, as it is out of your control.

We hope to continue to have your trust and belief in our resort and group, as we will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As first time visitors to Funchal and indeed Madeira we were very impressed by the place and also impressed with the Pestana Promenade Hotel. The check-in and welcome was quick and easy and our room was large, spacious and modern looking inside, the view of the pool and Atlantic Ocean was also a plus. We had to be moved on day 5 of our stay at 2am in the morning due to a buzzing sound coming from the air-con unit but this was handled well by Eusebio on the Night Reception and were given another room. The pool area is spacious and we never felt cramped and the pools, although a touch cold, were also nice and large. We used the indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish Bath and these were a nice addition to the hotels facilities. Only had Breakfasts in the hotel as were on a B&B basis but these had everything that you could possibly want with good variation. To finish there were just a few little negatives that stopped me from rating the hotel as 5* and these were the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room! a shortage of English TV Channels (even though they are list on the Channel List?) and there was no pens and paper in the rooms which I thought was a little unusual. I would definitely recommend this hotel though and would have no doubts in staying here again. Thank you to the Pestana Promenade.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SCOTT2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit and for the valuable time spent in posting your review in this site.

It is with a great sense of satisfaction that we come aware that in overall your stay with us has been a memorable one enabling we hope in the future, a return visit.

We will be sure to point out to the colleague Eusébio the oustanding work in dealing with such incovenience of the need of moving to another room.

As for the less positive points here raised, please rest assured such as not been unregarded as we will forward these points to all the concerned departments for all the improvements that may be needed in the future.

Once more, we thank you for your testimony and recommendation,

Presenting our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing