We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Promenade
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,950)
Filter reviews
1,950 results
Traveller rating
1,275
540
102
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,275
540
102
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean resortsea viewpool areadeck barlovely hotelthe air conditioningbus stopplenty of sunbedstime sharelocal restaurantsthe ground floorsuperior roomplenty of choicehappy hoursun loungersforum shopping centrehalf board
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 1,950 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a fabulous holiday, hotel excellent, staff exceedingly polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, both on reception and waiting staff.

Good breakfast each morning with a good choice. Pool and Spa areas very good. Evening entertainment was satisfactory.

Look forward to a return visit.

April and Mick

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to present our thanks for your recent visit and time spent in providing us your review and thoughts of the resort.

All points were raised are to us of the utmost importance, therefore rest assured that as for the entertainment we will forward such comment to the proper person in charge so to see in what we may and can change in the future.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Front Desk

Best Regards,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had just spent the previous week at the Pestana Village Garden Resort. This is slightly further out from the center of Funchal but it is not a bad walk down worse on the way up though! However there are frequent buses there. The hotel is beautifully appointed and we were told is the latest hotel built by Pestana in Madeira and is only 4 years old. We had a very spacious room with sitting area TV and fridge with a balcony overlooking the pools and sea. We had booked a buffet breakfast which you could sit out looking out to sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a very good snack bar by the side of the pools. The only gripe we had was that although not asked to do so people reserved their loungers and then disappeared! Not sure if we got the hang of the air conditioning but it sounded as if it was on but the room didn't get very cool. Should have asked. There was an underground car park which you paid £4.50 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for the choice in the Pestana Group.

Our sincere acknowledgement for the positive remarks given towards the resort and well-kept facilities.

We will be sure to convey to all staff so to keep up the good work.

As for the sun loungers being reserved, we present our apologies for this inconvenience.
We kindly ask to all resident guests not to reserve sun loungers so to avoid loungers from being used without the pool towel owner being present. We do our utmost to fortify a control on this policy by our pool attendant on the floor, however not always it is successfully.

If you encounter on your return visit any fault or if you require assistance with the air conditioning unit, let us know at the front desk so we may give the proper follow up.

With our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel left mixed feelings.
The general impression is undoubtedly positive.
The location is great, the hotel's architecture is very interesting and non-standard. Stunning ocean views from most rooms. Beautiful, well-kept grounds with a large swimming pool. Easy access to the waterfront. Near a lot of restaurants, cafes and a small shopping center. All this is just a 5-minute walk away.
It's a real seaside resort.
Rooms are clean and ours (1702) was very spacious. Different sized balconies in each room. Some with sun loungers, some, like ours, with a table and chairs.
However, all this splendor for some reason is not supported by basic and expected service in the room. You will not find a bottle of water or a wine glass. Not to mention the dining knife and corkscrew. We arrived late at night in Funchal and, of course, everything was closed. There is no bar in the room. I had to go at the middle of the night to reception and ask for water.
And very uncomfortable beds. Very. Their king size bed consists of two single beds. Just put together. Each one has separate set of clothes and nothing keeps the beds together. Mattresses are also very uncomfortable. Such a wonderful hotel should have better beds.
Nevertheless, I certainly would recommend Pestana Promenade for those looking for a nice hotel resort in Madeira.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rambler_Timca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for the time spent in providing us with your review.

We appreciate all the comments given which enables us to see the positive aspects so to keep and also the minor faults which must be looked upon and rectified on a long term.

Therefore we would like to show our gratitude and thank you for the laudation to our hotel’s architecture, location and well-kept facilities.

We would like to inform that as for the non-existence of a complete mini-bar in the room, such service may be requested to the main reception by an additional charge, in accordance with the items requested by the guests.
The cutlery, due to the fact your standard rooms in general are not equipped with a kitchenette, items as a knife or corkscrew may be requested to the main reception, so we may send to the room.

As for the discommodity of our beds and mattresses, please rest assured that such points have been forward to our Main Housekeeper to see in which points we may change in the future.

Also we would like to have the opportunity to inform you that in term of the mattresses, we can also upon the guests request inform our chamber maids so to change for a softer mattress.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future,

Respectfully,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great to return to our timeshare and as always, we felt instantly relaxed from the moment we arrived. Sitting on the balcony looking at the fantastic swimming pools, the sea, the rock, the palm trees and the landscaped gardens is something we never tire of.

Wifi signal has improved since last year and we had no problem picking up a signal anywhere, including our room. Wifi access is free for two users per room, just need to ask reception for the codes.

Since our last visit, the road in front of the hotel has been opened up to allow through traffic to and from town and we were dreading it because we like things quiet and peaceful. We were pleasantly surprised though as we could hear no road noise inside the hotel and it's very convenient now having a bus stop right outside and a shorter cut through to the Forum.

Drinks in the bar during happy hour are a real bargain. 50% off all drinks between 17.00 and 19.00 and we enjoyed some very nice cocktails in the evenings.

We love having the best of both worlds here.
- An apartment but with all the facilities of a hotel.
- Quiet and peaceful but with plenty of good restaurants and supermarkets close by
- a lovely area including the promenade but with easy access to town.

The staff all work very hard and are very friendly and helpful.

Can't wait until our next visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank queen_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to start by thanking you for your return visit and for support in writing us your review.

We are very glad that another stay in our resort has been to your entire satisfaction, enabling many other return visits.

As for the improvements made concerning both the Wifi Connection and our efforts in maintaining the peaceful of the resort with the new road which is now open near the resort, we thank you for the providing us recognition for our efforts.

We are overwhelmed that you have decided to take on our offer of the Happy Hour.

It is wonderful to get such positive feedback of the changes that we have made along the months for a better Guest Service and Satisfaction.

We will be sure to have this review always as a pilot to keep up with the good work and continue to provide to all our guests memorable moments while in our resort.

Until your next visit,

With our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a full week here mid- May 2014. We were very happy we picked this hotel, after much researching ( since there we so many to pick from .) The staff was every helpful and pleasant.The room was large, very comfortable, modern decorations , 2 couches ( great for relaxing ) besides a balcony with view of the sea. The bed was very comfortable, the bath room was roomy , & all very clean. The breakfast had endless choices from hot to cold and we esp. like having the choice of sitting inside or outside. It was a buffet. We also liked the location, easy bus ride to town or a easy 25 min. walk. you can also walk the beach walkway, which leads to grocery store, restaurants and more shops. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a high floor and a sea view is worth the money.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryjoe0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest

We present our sincere gratefulness for both your choice in our group and resort in Madeira Island.

We thank you for the polite words conveyed to the level of service and politeness of staff.

It is wonderful to be a part on such memorable moments that you have spent in our resort, therefore thank you for let us play a positive and successful role in your holidays.

We hope you may visit us again in the future,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews