We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. 2014”
Review of Pestana Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful hols to Funchal and stayed at Pestana Promenade , it was a birthday treat for my husband's 60th birthday . I had booked a superior sea view room and we got room 1317 .We were delighted with this lovely room that was almost an apartment . It was peaceful , not a sunny balcony but that suits us and the view was fantastic , the room was large and every thing you could wish for including dining area, kitchen and dish washer and a lovely bottle of bubbly was left in our room as a birthday treat. the only thing it could of had was more storage and a shelf in bathroom would of been handy . We were B&B , and really enjoyed breakfast , plenty of choice for all tastes ,big dining room and lovely terrace outside. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and Carol was so cheerful in the mornings at breakfast. The pool snack bar served lovely lunches too . We booked all our trips in the hotel , good prices and value for money and the sales girls were very helpful , east /west day trips great + 3 course lunch about 34 euro and no timeshare selling attached. Pool's were perfect with wonderful well kept gardens and great indoor pool with spa room . lots of restaurants near by and in the old town , bus stop outside hotel No 1&2 for town as were taxi's or a 30/40 min walk to town . Really didn't like the tropical garden with the parrots and other birds , kept in a disgusting state . But the Monte Palace gardens at the top of the cable car ride were fantastic 10 euro each, not to be missed . All in all we have had the best time in Madeira and the modern relaxing Pestana Promenade was the most wonderful hotel to stay . We would recommend to all ! Alan and Sue, Bordon Hants.

Room Tip: room 1317 superior sea view was perfect and great view , but not sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGautreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr. And Mrs. Hants

We cannot thank you enough for your visit and for submiting in this travel review your past travel experience.

We believe that such review will be of immense help to all those you are planning in travelling but are still undecided to visit the Madeira Island.
You may well have made a resolution to their halt.

As for the Tropical Gardens, we apologise for not being up to the best of state, therefore let us reassure you that we will convey such point to their management for improvements that may be fit to them in the future.

We would be delighted You may visit us in the near future so we may host you once again.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

After having spent a fabulous weeks holiday at this hotel my husband took seriously ill and had to spend time in Funchal hospital. The staff were brilliant and made every effort to help me at a very stressful time, they were able to accommodate both my sister and I for the extra stay and were all so kind ,caring and sympathetic to the situation.. We were made to feel special and everyone went just that bit extra to help - one evening having arrived back from the hospital after the restaurant had closed they were only too happy to open up to provide my sister and myself with a snack. All in all the staff went well beyond the call of duty in providing a top class service and all with a smile.
Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for your time posting this review.

It was a pleasure to be able to help you in such a jolt as surely was your husband illness on both your holidays. We sincerely hope that your husband may find himself out of harm's way and totaly recovered.

We hope that you may visit us again in the future, so both may relax in the peacefull and relaxed athmosphere that we offer in our resort and in Madeira Island.

If that happens, please be sure to contact us so we may do our best to help you in your booking, if you so require.

Conveying our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Positives
Spacious rooms very nicely decorated
Nice pool and gardens
No fighting for sunbeds
Very pleasant pool bar
Location good, lots of nice restaurants locally
Negatives
No double bed, two beds pushed together
Bathroom and pool Towels are worn and old
bar area is uninviting
breakfast is badly laid out so you have to fight through people to get your food

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr76e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit and for your support in providing us this short but straight to the point review.

All points provided in the reviews that we come upon are of the utmost importance for us, due to the fact it enables us to know in which points we are favored and in which we need to revise and change in the future.

With this said, please let us assure you that concerning the less positive points, this will be adressed to to proper channels for changes that may be seem nedded and fit for the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in a near future,

Sincerely yours,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just spent a week here with a friend - I can honestly say this is the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in. Upon arrival we given a very welcome glass of Madeiran wine! - and upgraded from a side sea view to full sea view which was a pleasant surprise. Huge room ( and I cannot agree with a previous reviewer about the uncomfortable beds - was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in...). We were on half board and found the food to be delicious every morning and evening - with super friendly staff who could not do enough for us. Bus stop right outside with buses running every 10 mins to the centre of Funchal - 1.90 euros for a one way journey - or a pleasant 35 min walk. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas - although I noticed that a few people bagged their bed early morning and then disappeared until late afternoon! Oh well - it happens everywhere I suppose! Fantastic cafes and restaurants nearby all reasonably priced. A lovely hotel which I would definitely return to given the opportunity!....

Room Tip: Definitely book a full sea view room - the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlovers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your latest visit to Madeira Island and to our resort.

It is always with great sense of pride and enormous rejoice to get such good comments from your part towards your latest visit.

Thank you for your great comments which are most appreciated by our management and staff.

We are to be sure that such testimony will be of a good help to future travelers in their decision to book our resort for their forthcoming holidays.

We sincerely hope you may visit us again, therefore we say “ Até à Proxima!!!”

Respectfully Yours,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

On arrival at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel we were met at the entrance and escorted into the hotel. We were made to feel special from the word go. The formalities at the Reception were quick and efficient. While we were being welcomed our cases were transported to our room. We were escorted to our room and were very pleased with the style and position of the room overlooking the ocean. This was the moment we were so pleased we upgraded to a superior room. On exploring the Hotel the style and space really relaxed us after a long journey.
The staff were very friendly and helpful during our 7 day stay and the food was superb. I am finding it difficult to find a fault with the Hotel, Staff or amenities but I cannot. We will definitely be returning in June 2015 for a longer stay. We have told our family and friends of our holiday and on our recommendation they will book a holiday too. This review may seem that I am too enthusiastic about the holiday but it was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean view as all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to present our sincere gratitude for your recent visit and for your support to this travel review site.

Guest’s satisfaction is our main aim therefore if we have managed to create a positive impact in your holidays, we are glad for it.

We hope you may always entrust in us with the endeavor of being your hosts in your holidays abroad.

With this in mind we will be looking forward to your next visit

Yours sincerely,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a fabulous holiday, hotel excellent, staff exceedingly polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, both on reception and waiting staff.

Good breakfast each morning with a good choice. Pool and Spa areas very good. Evening entertainment was satisfactory.

Look forward to a return visit.

April and Mick

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to present our thanks for your recent visit and time spent in providing us your review and thoughts of the resort.

All points were raised are to us of the utmost importance, therefore rest assured that as for the entertainment we will forward such comment to the proper person in charge so to see in what we may and can change in the future.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Front Desk

Best Regards,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had just spent the previous week at the Pestana Village Garden Resort. This is slightly further out from the center of Funchal but it is not a bad walk down worse on the way up though! However there are frequent buses there. The hotel is beautifully appointed and we were told is the latest hotel built by Pestana in Madeira and is only 4 years old. We had a very spacious room with sitting area TV and fridge with a balcony overlooking the pools and sea. We had booked a buffet breakfast which you could sit out looking out to sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a very good snack bar by the side of the pools. The only gripe we had was that although not asked to do so people reserved their loungers and then disappeared! Not sure if we got the hang of the air conditioning but it sounded as if it was on but the room didn't get very cool. Should have asked. There was an underground car park which you paid £4.50 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Customer

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for the choice in the Pestana Group.

Our sincere acknowledgement for the positive remarks given towards the resort and well-kept facilities.

We will be sure to convey to all staff so to keep up the good work.

As for the sun loungers being reserved, we present our apologies for this inconvenience.
We kindly ask to all resident guests not to reserve sun loungers so to avoid loungers from being used without the pool towel owner being present. We do our utmost to fortify a control on this policy by our pool attendant on the floor, however not always it is successfully.

If you encounter on your return visit any fault or if you require assistance with the air conditioning unit, let us know at the front desk so we may give the proper follow up.

With our utmost regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#17 of 88 in Funchal
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia No 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Promenade is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira and is one of the newest and most sophisticated contemporary hotels in Funchal. It is 2 minutes on foot from the beach and near Lido with direct access to the promenade that stretches all the way to Praia Formosa. Take a stroll through the vast garden area and discover one of the largest swimming pools of all of the hotels on Madeira. Visit the Spa with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, whirlpool bath, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. It offers two restaurants and a bar. Most rooms offer a relaxing view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Pestana Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing