We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best on the Prom,,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best on the Prom,,”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed in a number of Hotels along the Prom, Sorry we didn't stay here sooner , as this one is the best ! just short of a 5 star hotel , laid back relaxing , everything at hand , looking forward to return next May , a couple we met there have already rebooked again for this year , grand entrance ,heated infinity pool, gym, large rooms , list goes on same room as last time please ,

Room Tip: garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good4meLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your visit and your contribution in providing us your travel experience.

We are increasily overwhelmed to know that the staff and the resort facilities has been far beyond your expectations.

We are proud for having such a positive impact.

Looking forward to welcome you back once again in the near future,

With that in mind,

We send our highest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    468
    83
    17
    7
See reviews for
335
1,137
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st helens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from pestana promenade 10day holiday we went with jet2 holidays fantastic service from start to finish . Hotel was spotless pool and gardens very well kept, staff from reception were very helpful. The resteraunts were very well run . No complaints at all would defo return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glassback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Fist of all we would like to thank you both for your visit and for being able to provide us such testimony towards your stay in Madeira Island and in our resort Pestana Promenade.

Our aim and purpose of existance is to provide to all that visit us a relaxing time where the service and attention to detail is always worthwhile and far beyond what is expected of us.

We are truly happy for being able to have such a positive aspect in your travel!

We will be sure to disclose to all staff such great comments were raized.

We hope we may host you again in our resort.

With our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel's location is somewhat out of the way for those hoping to be immediately next to "things to do" and places to eat, by which I mean that you would need to walk for about 5-10 minutes to reach many nice restaurants or supermarkets. This means that the hotel is very peaceful and quiet, while suitably near restaurants and shopping.

Our suite of rooms was on the second floor, without an ocean view, but they were beautiful nonetheless. I can only imagine that my wife and I would never have left if we'd been able to sit on the balcony overlooking the Promenade's gorgeous view. The room came with a mini-fridge, dishwasher, utensils for eating and cooking, dishes and glasses, a coffeemaker, TVs and cable, and two bathrooms, each with shower and bath and toilet. The rooms were modern and beautiful. Our only complaint was that instead of a large bed, we had two twin size beds pushed together to make a "king" bed; this was uncomfortable, and led to us either sleeping on separate sides of the bed to avoid The Crack, or both of us being crammed onto one small bed.

The hotel is modern and professionally run. We didn't see the need to eat at the buffet or restaurant due to their high prices and the nearby excellent restaurants which were significantly cheaper, and so cannot comment on its quality.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful hotel within walking distance of the town but that is far enough removed to be relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room, and request a room with an actual king/queen size bed, instead of two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMsirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you greatly for your last stay in our resort and visit to Madeira Island.

It is with pleasure that we become aware that your stay has been enjoyable overall and with every bit of confort.

We present our sincere thanks towards the posting of this review.

Looking forward to your return visit we remain.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It has been almost a month since we got back from Funchal, and I keep wishing I was back there! Serious case of the holiday blues for sure!

We looked around for quite some time for a hotel to stay at and finally settled on a B&B package at the Pestana Promenade - I'm so glad we did! From the moment we checked in we felt like valued guests and absolutely welcomed to the hotel. We arrived early, before normal check in time, but were allowed to the room. The Front desk staff were multi-lingual - it was amazing to see them talking to German, Dutch, French and English guests infront of us!

We had 2 rooms during our stay, as the hotel was very busy. Our first room (we were only there for one night) was a studio apartment on floor 1 - the last room on the end overlooking the beauty studio and indoor wellness centre. I was very much impressed! The studio's are probably part of the time share scheme that runs from the hotel, but they are very well appointed - and have everything you could think of - apart from a wine bottle opener! Although, we didn't need it, but as an avid vino fan it was something I noticed. Very well stocked utensil draws and cooking facilities - good selection of pots and pans etc, fridge, dishwasher, electric hob. The bathroom was very spacious too, with a separate loo cubicle for added privacy. This room we were told was a side seaview, however as you can see from my photograph it looks like a full seaview to me! This room was very quiet, as it was away from the stairwells and lift areas, so very good location indeed.

For the second night we were moved to the 4th floor, more centrally - overlooking the deck bar.
Again a very well appointed room, although without the kitchenette facilities - however there was a fridge available. The only small problem we had, was the shower - even though the glass was in place with the rubber seal on the bath, it still leaked onto the floor, some days it was not a lot other days there was quite a lot of water on the floor, just meant new towels each day. (I meant to report this on checkout, but the boyfriend checked out while I sat with the suitcases) You have 2 beach towels in your room also, which is a nice touch.

Moving on to the hotel facilities - I can not think of anything to compain about at all - all of the areas were very clean, the wifi was fine in our room - even using things like Skype to VOIP worked quickly) You just have to get an individual code from reception to log on - you can have two people using the same connection at any time. The outdoor pool area was well maintained and there were lots of loungers available, and a few outside showers for before/after the pool. The infinity pools are amazing, with a jacuzzi setting - very nice to be in them as the sun sets watching the sea view!

You can access the Promenade itself from the hotel, from going down a few (steep) steps by the Deck bar. There is a security access point, that you use your room key to get back in.

Our deal included Breakfast - although if you pay for it, its about 12-13 euros - but just WOW! I dont know how people could think about complaining - I really think there must be something for even the fussiest of eaters. There are variations everyday - even one morning was a champage/fizz breakfast! Waffles or pancakes, omelettes, continental, fruits, yoghurts, cooked items - sausage, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, beans etc - cheeses, breads, cakes, pastries, cereal, toast, fruit juices, waffles, tea, coffee - basically anything at all you could want to have for breakfast! The breakfast team, were very friendly and many of them multi-lingual.

We hired a car (eventually (not through the hotel I must add) - long story - but dont use goldcar - they will rip you off - we went for Sixt in the end), and used the hotel parking facility - think its about 3-4 euros per night.

The Location of the hotel is excellent - its in the Promenade section - so the nicer part of town, and there is a lot of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance (please feel free to read my other restaurant reviews for the ones we tried! but I can also reccomend Casa des Espetadas which doesnt show on Trip Advisor for some reason?!) If you want to walk into main Funchal, by the Marina/Cruise Terminal, it takes about half an hour at a leisurely pace - or probably 20 minutes if you're power walking briskly!

Absolutely one of the nicest and friendliest hotels I've stayed in. We are in our late twenties (a lot of the other guests are mid 30's upwards) we didn't feel like a 'lesser' guest, which I have done in 'nice' hotels before - there were also not a great deal of children at the hotel either.

I really can't think of anything else to say, other than I've been reccomending this place to all my colleagues, friends, family, and would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Mz Laura Rose

We would like to start by thanking you for your visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for taking part in this Travel Review Site in order to submit your travel experience.

Let us express our gratituide for the immensily detailed description of our facilities and the positive impact which our service and Madeira Island had on your stay in overall.

We will be sure to keep up the good levels of service and commitment which we have accustomed
our guests to, which we must say: We do it with immense joy and pride!!!

With this said, let us extend our invitation in the future to host you once again, and do our very best to continue to excell in providing you memorable moments, known as your “holiday blues”.

Respectfully Yours,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful hols to Funchal and stayed at Pestana Promenade , it was a birthday treat for my husband's 60th birthday . I had booked a superior sea view room and we got room 1317 .We were delighted with this lovely room that was almost an apartment . It was peaceful , not a sunny balcony but that suits us and the view was fantastic , the room was large and every thing you could wish for including dining area, kitchen and dish washer and a lovely bottle of bubbly was left in our room as a birthday treat. the only thing it could of had was more storage and a shelf in bathroom would of been handy . We were B&B , and really enjoyed breakfast , plenty of choice for all tastes ,big dining room and lovely terrace outside. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and Carol was so cheerful in the mornings at breakfast. The pool snack bar served lovely lunches too . We booked all our trips in the hotel , good prices and value for money and the sales girls were very helpful , east /west day trips great + 3 course lunch about 34 euro and no timeshare selling attached. Pool's were perfect with wonderful well kept gardens and great indoor pool with spa room . lots of restaurants near by and in the old town , bus stop outside hotel No 1&2 for town as were taxi's or a 30/40 min walk to town . Really didn't like the tropical garden with the parrots and other birds , kept in a disgusting state . But the Monte Palace gardens at the top of the cable car ride were fantastic 10 euro each, not to be missed . All in all we have had the best time in Madeira and the modern relaxing Pestana Promenade was the most wonderful hotel to stay . We would recommend to all ! Alan and Sue, Bordon Hants.

Room Tip: room 1317 superior sea view was perfect and great view , but not sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGautreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Mr. And Mrs. Hants

We cannot thank you enough for your visit and for submiting in this travel review your past travel experience.

We believe that such review will be of immense help to all those you are planning in travelling but are still undecided to visit the Madeira Island.
You may well have made a resolution to their halt.

As for the Tropical Gardens, we apologise for not being up to the best of state, therefore let us reassure you that we will convey such point to their management for improvements that may be fit to them in the future.

We would be delighted You may visit us in the near future so we may host you once again.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After having spent a fabulous weeks holiday at this hotel my husband took seriously ill and had to spend time in Funchal hospital. The staff were brilliant and made every effort to help me at a very stressful time, they were able to accommodate both my sister and I for the extra stay and were all so kind ,caring and sympathetic to the situation.. We were made to feel special and everyone went just that bit extra to help - one evening having arrived back from the hospital after the restaurant had closed they were only too happy to open up to provide my sister and myself with a snack. All in all the staff went well beyond the call of duty in providing a top class service and all with a smile.
Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for your time posting this review.

It was a pleasure to be able to help you in such a jolt as surely was your husband illness on both your holidays. We sincerely hope that your husband may find himself out of harm's way and totaly recovered.

We hope that you may visit us again in the future, so both may relax in the peacefull and relaxed athmosphere that we offer in our resort and in Madeira Island.

If that happens, please be sure to contact us so we may do our best to help you in your booking, if you so require.

Conveying our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Positives
Spacious rooms very nicely decorated
Nice pool and gardens
No fighting for sunbeds
Very pleasant pool bar
Location good, lots of nice restaurants locally
Negatives
No double bed, two beds pushed together
Bathroom and pool Towels are worn and old
bar area is uninviting
breakfast is badly laid out so you have to fight through people to get your food

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fr76e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit and for your support in providing us this short but straight to the point review.

All points provided in the reviews that we come upon are of the utmost importance for us, due to the fact it enables us to know in which points we are favored and in which we need to revise and change in the future.

With this said, please let us assure you that concerning the less positive points, this will be adressed to to proper channels for changes that may be seem nedded and fit for the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in a near future,

Sincerely yours,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing