We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for coffee & cake or a bit of lunch”
Review of Cafe Do Museu - CLOSED

Cafe Do Museu
Price range: US$9 - US$35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Coffee Museum Genuine space in the heart of Funchal Relaxed environment with sound and Cabin Dinners Group any topic. Magnificent kitchen with Menu refinement Impossible not to pass by the Museum Cafe
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place for coffee & cake or a bit of lunch”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited Cafe do Museu a few times during our stay in Funchal.
They make the most amazing chocolate cake which goes really well with a coffee or a cheeky glass of wine!
The staff are really friendly and the we really enjoyed the lunches we had here too.
Great place for watching the world go by in the sunshine.
Excellent value for money too

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJackson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    52
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely place for lunch and people watching”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stopped for coffee after visiting the Museum of Sacred Arts and ended up staying for lunch. The restaurant is popular with locals as well as tourists, and has a very tempting menu covering everything from salads and sandwiches to more formal meals. I chose from the specials board - chicken stuffed with bacon and mushrooms with a side order of potato and mushroom salad - delicious! Lunch for 2 with a half bottle of wine but no desserts as we were full - came to a very reasonable €20 and the service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Trendy, Friendly, Tasty”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice museum caffe in downtown Funchal. This nice all-in-glass caffe has its own entrance into of one of the most pleasant and central squares in Funchal (praca do municipio/ city hall square).
The food is food, as it is the service and prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luis o mago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We've been here several times and it is a popular venue for locals and tourists alike. We visited for lunch and it was packed with locals on lunch hour. The service was efficient and the food good although I did not enjoy my tuna one bit. I suspect I just made the wrong choice when I ordered and I suspected my fish was off but could not to bothered to complain as the staff were rushed off their feet. Besides, I enjoyed every other meal I've had here so agreed not to complain this time. Hubby's meal was excellent. We would ask you not to let it put you off, their salads are to die for and it's such a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Relaxing and a pleasure to visit, have a wonder around the museum too. Very good indeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommendation”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went based on the good reports herein and were not disappointed. The food and service was excellent and very good value. We went twice for dinner in the week. If I lived in Funchal I'd be a regular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Do Museu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing